map placeholder

Café Rouge - Canterbury

Unit 3-5, Longmarket, Canterbury, CT1 2JS

((((* French
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Open from 09:00 to 23:00 Monday to Saturday, and 10:00 to 22:30 on Sunday.

Had a great lunch in a very relaxed atmosphere, staff all very nice and helpful.

Chris 20 February 2019
from Canterbury

View all 66 reviews

In the centre of the city and a 2-minute walk from Canterbury Cathedral, Café Rouge serves traditional French cuisine. Café Rouge also boasts a large al fresco dining area, just set back from the high street.

As part of the nationwide group of Café Rouge restaurants, this branch offers their range of classic French dishes such as confit duck, beef bourguignon, steak frites and mussels. Smaller dishes are also on offer for a lighter bite. Particularly good value for money are the set menus for lunch and dinner (available most days). To accompany the food there is also a good range of French wines, many from less well known producers.

In true French style, breakfast is also an important meal at Café Rouge. With croissants, pain au chocolat, omelettes and croques, as well as hot chocolate, tea and all types of coffees, it makes a great start to the day.

Surrounded by popular shops, Café Rouge Canterbury offers an authentic French dining experience.

Café Rouge - Canterbury

Unit 3-5, Longmarket, Canterbury, CT1 2JS

Contact +44 1227784984
Website

Make a booking

See all Café Rouge Restaurants

See all restaurants in Kent

See all restaurants in Canterbury

Customer reviews for Café Rouge - Canterbury

3.8 ((((* (based on 66 reviews)
75% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (35)
  • lunch (30)
  • romantic (22)
  • child friendly (18)
  • al fresco (17)
  • large parties (15)
  • value (13)
  • entertainment (12)
  • breakfast (9)
  • business (9)
  • views (8)
  • afternoon tea (7)
  • private dining (6)
  • trendy (4)
  • luxury (3)
  • ((((* 11 March 2015 by Lynn from Canterbury

    A very warm welcoming venue. The waiter courteous welcoming and at tentative. We both had a very enjoyable meal in convivial surroundings.

  • ((((( 19 July 2014 by Leigh-anne from canter

    Very pleasant atmosphere. wonderful food, great relaxed service. great wine list and a candle on our table was a nice touch. I would certainly recommend your and return myself.

  • ((((( 8 June 2014 by Penny from Canterbury

    VERY ENJOYABLE FRIENDLY SERVICE

  • ((((( 17 December 2013 by Tracey from Canterbury

    Despite making a very short notice booking, Café Rouge managed to accommodate us, with no hassle; we received a very warm welcome on our arrival, and we were brought our food as soon as the last member of our party arrived. The service was excellent and very friendly throughout our meal, and the food was fantastic! We had the Christmas 3-course menu, and everyone loved what they ate. Thank you very much, Café Rouge, we'll definitely be back!

  • (**** 3 January 2013 by Colin from Gravesend

    Single lunch starter took 40 minutes to arrive and main courses had not appeared after one hour,in spite of complaining, so gave up and went elsewhere. It seems if you have a "two mains for the price of one" voucher, as we did, you are treated as a second class citizen. Will not be back !

  • ((((( 29 February 2012 by Suzy from Sandwich

    I always enjoy Cafe Rouge, no matter what time of day I've been. It's great for just a quiet meal with your partner or group celebrations. I love it.

  • ((((* 28 December 2011 by SH from Canterbury

    Evening dining just bbefore Christmas. Very busy but the service didn't suffer for that. Something for everyone on the menu.

  • ((((* 15 December 2011 by sandra[@] from Lyminge, Kent

    My husband's duck was not quite cooked so it had to be taken back. When it came back - a few minutes later is was all right. The lamb was superb.

  • ((((* 9 November 2011 by mb from Rainham Kent

    I was disappointed that a little salad was not served with the steak which would have added colour to the plate

  • (((** 17 October 2011 by Disappointed from Maidstone

    Maitre d seated us next to the waiter's booth and under the WC sign, even though there were lots of decent tables free, the wrong wine came, we waited an unusually long time to pay and were served by at least 4 different people. Nice food, not impressed with the service.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant