map placeholder

Café Rouge - Canterbury

Unit 3-5, Longmarket, Canterbury, CT1 2JS

((((* French
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Open from 09:00 to 23:00 Monday to Saturday, and 10:00 to 22:30 on Sunday.

Had a great lunch in a very relaxed atmosphere, staff all very nice and helpful.

Chris 20 February 2019
from Canterbury

View all 66 reviews

In the centre of the city and a 2-minute walk from Canterbury Cathedral, Café Rouge serves traditional French cuisine. Café Rouge also boasts a large al fresco dining area, just set back from the high street.

As part of the nationwide group of Café Rouge restaurants, this branch offers their range of classic French dishes such as confit duck, beef bourguignon, steak frites and mussels. Smaller dishes are also on offer for a lighter bite. Particularly good value for money are the set menus for lunch and dinner (available most days). To accompany the food there is also a good range of French wines, many from less well known producers.

In true French style, breakfast is also an important meal at Café Rouge. With croissants, pain au chocolat, omelettes and croques, as well as hot chocolate, tea and all types of coffees, it makes a great start to the day.

Surrounded by popular shops, Café Rouge Canterbury offers an authentic French dining experience.

Café Rouge - Canterbury

Unit 3-5, Longmarket, Canterbury, CT1 2JS

Contact +44 1227784984
Website

Make a booking

See all Café Rouge Restaurants

See all restaurants in Kent

See all restaurants in Canterbury

Customer reviews for Café Rouge - Canterbury

3.8 ((((* (based on 66 reviews)
75% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (35)
  • lunch (30)
  • romantic (22)
  • child friendly (18)
  • al fresco (17)
  • large parties (15)
  • value (13)
  • entertainment (12)
  • breakfast (9)
  • business (9)
  • views (8)
  • afternoon tea (7)
  • private dining (6)
  • trendy (4)
  • luxury (3)
  • ((((( 17 November 2015 by Norma from Canterbury

    Very good experience, nice food, prompt service.

  • ((((* 17 November 2015 by Rebecca from City of Canterbury

    I was impressed with the food. Very delicious. Atmosphere was appropriate for a quiet dinner .Good value for money

  • ((((( 17 November 2015 by Alison from Ramsgate

    We had a lovely lunch at Cafe Rouge in Canterbury. The mussels tempura starter was delicious and they were happy to adapt the salad to suit my dietary needs.The waitress was very friendly and service was good. I would go back here

  • ((((* 11 November 2015 by dpimperium from London

    Very good - Food was excellent value for money, one thing I would request is that you get free bread with the mussels as fries didn't really go with it, swap?
    Good - Service was very good thank you as what you would expect from CR.
    Bad - Its was 27c inside the air con had been turned up ridiculous and thankfully above waiter service turned it down.

  • ((((( 1 November 2015 by Louise from Canterbury

    Tasty food, friendly atmosphere and good service!

  • (**** 30 October 2015 by David from Northampton

    Reminded me of Fawlty Towers but unfortunately as the victim it wasn't very amusing

  • ((((* 27 October 2015 by Tim from Canterbury

    Lovely food, good service and marvellous atmosphere just right for our table to chat and enjoy the meal

  • (((** 22 September 2015 by Jacqui from Canterbury, United Kingdom

    Lovely food, but the service was incredibly slow
    Crème brulé which we ordered had run out, but the kitchen did not tell the waitress so when we asked after waiting 20 mins the manager gave us a free desert for n embarrassment

  • ((((( 17 September 2015 by Sally from Canterbury

    Fabulous food. Great service. Used a 30% off voucher, so very reasonable.

  • (**** 21 August 2015 by Patricia from Ashford

    I was taking my family out to lunch as a treat. We reserved a table as we didn't want to be disappointed. We arrived on time and was shown to our table. We ordered our food and drinks. The drinks arrived with our starters. We were sitting next to a family who were complaining about the service. I think the little girl had eaten her food before her parents meal had arrived. So we thought our service would be good as a complaint had already gone to the person in charge. That didn't happen. We waited about 40 minutes for our main meal. We wanted a dessert so I asked the waitress if the dessert would take as long as the main meal, she said she would check. She came back and said that they were not busy so the desserts would be served quickly. We then waited about 20 minutes for her to come back to take our order. We all got fed with waiting so decided to ask for the bill and leave. I told the person that we were fed up with waiting but had no response. What was meant to be a nice family meal was spoilt by the terrible service. By the way the food was excellent.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant