map placeholder

Café Rouge - Canterbury

Unit 3-5, Longmarket, Canterbury, CT1 2JS

((((* French
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
  • Café Rouge - Canterbury - Kent
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Open from 09:00 to 23:00 Monday to Saturday, and 10:00 to 22:30 on Sunday.

Had a great lunch in a very relaxed atmosphere, staff all very nice and helpful.

Chris 20 February 2019
from Canterbury

View all 65 reviews

In the centre of the city and a 2-minute walk from Canterbury Cathedral, Café Rouge serves traditional French cuisine. Café Rouge also boasts a large al fresco dining area, just set back from the high street.

As part of the nationwide group of Café Rouge restaurants, this branch offers their range of classic French dishes such as confit duck, beef bourguignon, steak frites and mussels. Smaller dishes are also on offer for a lighter bite. Particularly good value for money are the set menus for lunch and dinner (available most days). To accompany the food there is also a good range of French wines, many from less well known producers.

In true French style, breakfast is also an important meal at Café Rouge. With croissants, pain au chocolat, omelettes and croques, as well as hot chocolate, tea and all types of coffees, it makes a great start to the day.

Surrounded by popular shops, Café Rouge Canterbury offers an authentic French dining experience.

Café Rouge - Canterbury

Unit 3-5, Longmarket, Canterbury, CT1 2JS

Contact +44 1227784984
Website

Make a booking

See all Café Rouge Restaurants

See all restaurants in Kent

See all restaurants in Canterbury

Customer reviews for Café Rouge - Canterbury

3.9 ((((* (based on 65 reviews)
76% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (35)
  • lunch (30)
  • romantic (22)
  • child friendly (18)
  • al fresco (17)
  • large parties (15)
  • value (13)
  • entertainment (12)
  • breakfast (9)
  • business (9)
  • views (8)
  • afternoon tea (7)
  • private dining (6)
  • luxury (3)
  • trendy (3)
  • ((((( 15 January 2016 by Paul from hythe

    Always made to feel welcome in a cosy surround. The food and drink is always good and priced well, served by very efficient staff. Our favourite restaurant in Canterbury.

  • ((((* 14 January 2016 by Alison from Canterbury

    The food was excellent and good value with 2 courses for £12.95. We thought the waitress was attentive and looked after us well checking every now and then we had all we needed. Our table was near the door which could have been a bit cold as people were arriving but actually we were in an alcove so had privacy and were not uncomfortable. We enjoyed the Moules especially.

  • (**** 22 December 2015 by Anita from City of Canterbury

    Unfortunately not a great experience.on being shown to eat.i requested drinks to be told to "wait".on requesting a childs salmon fishcake from kids menu we were told they didnt do it.i myself asked for medium rare steak to be told.pink or welldone.the waitress was jus so unfriendly.the waut fir food was long.no appologies.on paying bill same waitress just took payment no thankyou etc.we have eaten at many cafe rouge.and never experienced such rude service.

  • ((((* 20 December 2015 by A from Canterbury

    Great food but took 40mins from sitting down to getting food. It wasn't busy. We regularly go here and it's not usually quite that long. It was frustrating at 5 pm with 2 children to wait this long!

  • ((*** 1 December 2015 by Neil from Herne Bay

    your haddock and salmon fish cake is super dry. Would be better to make two thin ones instead of a fat dry one, and maybe some nice lemon and dill Mayo/sauce or something like that to help it go down.

  • ((((* 26 November 2015 by David from City of Canterbury

    Efficient and friendly service.......good menu options........I do wish that you would cook your vegetables more.....not to a pulp but not verging on raw!

  • ((((* 25 November 2015 by Michael from Canterbury

    The waiting was a little slow but as it was lunch time, and there appeared a small shortage of the number of staff needed, we accepted the delays. THe booking was made in the morning for lunchtime and it was easy to complete. The food was excellent and good value.

  • (((** 20 November 2015 by Theresa from Canterbury

    It was a good experience but not exceptional. The service was good and the waiter was very polite and friendly. However, the food was not particularly warm. One of my friends and I ordered the fish cakes, and neither of the dishes were very hot. We didn't complain because we didn't want to spoil the evening but I have had to send food back for the same reason on other visits so this is obviously not a one off incident. Also, I had downloaded a voucher for use at Cafe Rouge and forgot to use it - my fault, I know. But it would have been nice to have been prompted by the waiter to ask if we had any vouchers to use - especially as Cafe Rouge are constantly sending me offers to use at the restaurants. Would have saved us 25% off of the food bill and encouraged us to use the place again.

  • (((** 17 November 2015 by Keith from Canterbury

    The food was very good but the service was very slow. The restaurant was also noisy with screaming young children.

  • ((((( 17 November 2015 by Norma from Canterbury

    Very good experience, nice food, prompt service.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant