map placeholder

Café Rouge - Brighton

24 Prince Albert Street, Brighton, BN1 1HF

((((* French
  • Café Rouge - Brighton - East Sussex
  • Café Rouge - Brighton - East Sussex
  • Café Rouge - Brighton - East Sussex
  • Café Rouge - Brighton - East Sussex
  • Café Rouge - Brighton - East Sussex
  • Café Rouge - Brighton - East Sussex
  • Café Rouge - Brighton - East Sussex
  • Café Rouge - Brighton - East Sussex
  • Café Rouge - Brighton - East Sussex
  • Café Rouge - Brighton - East Sussex
  • Café Rouge - Brighton - East Sussex
  • Café Rouge - Brighton - East Sussex
  • Café Rouge - Brighton - East Sussex
  • Café Rouge - Brighton - East Sussex
  • Café Rouge - Brighton - East Sussex
  • Café Rouge - Brighton - East Sussex
  • Café Rouge - Brighton - East Sussex
  • Café Rouge - Brighton - East Sussex
  • Café Rouge - Brighton - East Sussex
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Open from 09:00 to 23:00 Monday to Saturday, and until 22:30 on Sunday.

Food and service very good as usual, staff extremely helpful

lynn 25 October 2018
from Brighton

View all 72 reviews

In the quaint Lanes shopping area of Brighton, Café Rouge serves a fantastic range of French dishes. The cosy interior adds to the French atmosphere, whilst there is an al fresco dining area.

As part of the nationwide group of Café Rouge restaurants, this branch offers their range of classic French dishes such as confit duck, beef bourguignon, steak frites and mussels. Smaller dishes are also on offer for a lighter bite. Particularly good value for money are the set menus for lunch and dinner (available most days). To accompany the food there is also a good range of French wines, many from less well known producers.

In true French style, breakfast is also an important meal at Café Rouge. With croissants, pain au chocolat, omelettes and croques, as well as hot chocolate, tea and all types of coffees, it makes a great start to the day.

Offering a relaxing venue away from the lively buzz of the area, Café Rouge Brighton is within walking distance of Brighton Train Station as well as many local theatres.

Café Rouge - Brighton

24 Prince Albert Street, Brighton, BN1 1HF

Contact +44 1273774422
Website

Make a booking

See all Café Rouge Restaurants

See all restaurants in East Sussex

See all restaurants in Brighton

Customer reviews for Café Rouge - Brighton

4.2 ((((* (based on 72 reviews)
90% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (50)
  • lunch (43)
  • romantic (30)
  • child friendly (23)
  • large parties (22)
  • breakfast (18)
  • al fresco (15)
  • entertainment (15)
  • value (15)
  • business (12)
  • views (12)
  • afternoon tea (6)
  • private dining (6)
  • trendy (6)
  • luxury (3)
  • ((((* 3 January 2016 by Colin from Bedford

    Cosy restaurant with the standard Cafe Rouge menu. Not too many tables so book early

  • (((** 22 December 2015 by Tom from Brighton

    Everything enjoyable apart from waitress being unfriendly, but her service was good.

  • ((((* 21 December 2015 by Peter from Brighton

    Friendly greeting on arrival, we were seated by a window on the ground floor which was much to our liking. The waitress gave us just the right amount of attention throughout, whilst the service for drinks & food was prompt.

    Unfortunately my wife's sirloin steak was much below the standard we expect from Cafe Rouge, at least a third of the steak was gristle, very unpleasant & uneatable. Fortunately the rest of our food was up to standard & whilst the waitress was very apologetic about the steak when we mentioned it to her, no reduction was made to the bill. I feel that the duty management should have been informed & have taken the trouble to speak to us at least.

  • ((((( 21 December 2015 by Alison from Brighton

    Went to cafe rouge for a christmas meal with work friends and had such nice evening that i returned with my husband and my mum, Again the whole evening was lovely,the food was very good...as was the service and the festive menu was excellent value.I phoned ahead of time to request the same table i had on my previous visit and it was ready and waiting for us upon arrival.
    A lovely evening with good food and excellent service.

  • ((((* 20 December 2015 by Helen from Brighton

    I chose Tempura Moules for first course which were very tasty, as the flavour of the mussels was not spoilt by the garlic and herbs. The batter was lovely and light.
    For main course I had Jarret d'agneau, beautifully tender, nice mashed potato and delicious gravy. I would have liked some vegetables, perhaps cabbage, which would have complimented the richness of the meat. The white house wine from Languedoc seemed quite tart at first but suited the flavourful food very well.

  • ((((* 7 December 2015 by Kim from Brighton

    Been here a few times and always find it good. This time was no exception, good food and staff very friendly and served quickly as we were in a hurry.

  • ((((( 6 December 2015 by Clare from Brighton

    Very welcoming. Beautiful decorations. Attentive staff.

  • ((((( 1 December 2015 by Kim from Rochester

    The food was great, especially the moules, the steak, the pate and the desserts.

  • ((((( 20 November 2015 by Tim from Worthing

    Quick meal before theatre, so just main course - steal and frites all round. Restaurant atmosphere good - even at 6.00pm - and waitress (Marie) friendly and efficient. Sister in law is very plain eater but even so, she cleared her plate completely and steaks were as good as ever.
    I treated myself to a (large) glass of Merlot - very smooth and drinkable!

  • ((*** 19 November 2015 by Ken from Brighton

    Good service adequate foods starter pâté too sweet, steak rather dry!

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant