Café Rouge - Bournemouth

(172 Reviews)
67-71a Seamoor Road Westbourne, Bournemouth, Dorset, BH4 9AE
French
A la carte menu

Top offer

Cheese Afternoon Tea £30 per person

£35 with wine, £30 without. Not valid with any other offer or promotion;can be used in conjunction with “£8.95 finish the bottle” of wine. Not valid at London Euston on any day. Not valid at 02, Cardiff or Edinburgh on event days.

Average

Main course: £10
Food spend: £25

Opening hours

Open from 09:00 to 23:00, Monday to Saturday. Open from 09:00 to 22:30 on Sunday.

Restaurant description

Café Rouge Bournemouth serves French brasserie-style cuisine in a picturesque and vibrant setting. Branksome Rail Station is within easy walking distance of Café Rouge.

As part of the nationwide group of Café Rouge restaurants, this branch offers their range of classic French dishes such as confit duck, beef bourguignon, steak frites and mussels. Smaller dishes are also on offer for a lighter bite. Particularly good value for money are the set menus for lunch and dinner (available most days). To accompany the food there is also a good range of French wines, many from less well known producers.

In true French style, breakfast is also an important meal at Café Rouge. With croissants, pain au chocolat, omelettes and croques, as well as hot chocolate, tea and all types of coffees, it makes a great start to the day.

Café Rouge in Bournemouth has a spacious yet inviting dining area, where the classic flavours of French cuisine can be enjoyed.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Café Rouge - Bournemouth
4.2
(based on 172 reviews)

91%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (17)
  • al fresco (16)
  • breakfast (49)
  • business (30)
  • child friendly (43)
  • dinner (126)
  • entertainment (25)
  • large parties (44)
  • lunch (99)
  • luxury (15)
  • private dining (20)
  • romantic (66)
  • trendy (26)
  • value (32)
  • views (5)
  • By Maggie K from Bournemouth
    13 November 2019

    Lovely meal, good waitress & especially welcoming John, the Maitre’D

  • By Valerie J from Cranborne
    23 October 2019

    Undecided the food was fine But you could order from one menu but not another there were supplements on some dishes the dishes were small nowhere on their site or living social was this mentioned having said this it was a good deal but I would only go there if there was !!!

  • By Grace W from Westbourne
    22 October 2019

    Extremely good food, a bargain as I had a voucher ,would strongly recommend this Cafe Rouge in Westbourne Ihad mussels they were fantastic and plenty of them

  • By John L from SWANAGE
    20 October 2019

    We got to the restaurant at the time we said we would and were shown to a table very quickly. Staff were ok not that friendly but ok but they did not explain that we would have to pay for the a l carte meals we were told we would have to pay the extra. When we finish the meal and got the bill we found that we had been charged for everything with the exception of two meals and deserts. So what should have been a low key quite birthday experience turned out to be quite an expensive evening the bill coming to £140.00 with a small tip plus the wowcher £29.99 . We still have one one wowcher left as they would not even accept that as part payment .What a con as we were not told or explained when we were looking at the menus. The food however was A1 so I cannot fault that

  • By David P from Bournemouth
    17 February 2019

    Friendly staff good food

  • By Amber D D from Bournemouth
    24 January 2019

    The food was nice and there was a good selection on the menu but the wait to be served and between courses (40+ minutes) was absolutely ridiculous - I was so hungry by the time my starter arrived I wolfed it down and didn't really enjoy it. Then, most heart breaking of all - I didn't have time for dessert because they'd taken so long with the other courses! So if you're going for a long leisurely meal then yes this would be OK but if you have plans for afterwards then no, I'd give this place a miss.

  • By Anne M from Oxford
    31 December 2018

    We had excellent service with good basic food.

  • By Beverley P from bournemouth
    20 December 2018

    waitress was lovely, and food was nice, we had a very nice evening.

  • By Mark H from Poole
    4 November 2018

    Good food and pleasant service.

  • By Mike P from Bournemouth
    2 October 2018

    Good food great vine

Restaurant Location Map
Café Rouge - Bournemouth
67-71a Seamoor Road Westbourne, Bournemouth, Dorset, BH4 9AE

Available offers

  • Cheese Afternoon Tea £30 per person

Similar Restaurants

  1. The Libertine

    The Libertine

    British
    (27 Reviews)
    71m
    The Libertine
  2. LEVEL8IGHT The Sky Bar

    LEVEL8IGHT The Sky Bar

    British
    (88 Reviews)
    1.5km
    LEVEL8IGHT The Sky Bar
  3. Frankie & Benny's - Bournemouth West
    1.9km
    Frankie & Benny's - Bournemouth West
  4. Grosvenor Bournemouth

    Grosvenor Bournemouth

    Modern European
    (11 Reviews)
    2.1km
    Grosvenor Bournemouth
  5. Loch Fyne Restaurant Poole

    Loch Fyne Restaurant Poole

    Fish & Seafood
    (11 Reviews)
    2.5km
    Loch Fyne Restaurant Poole