map placeholder

Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh

131-133 George Street, Edinburgh, EH2 4JS

((((* British
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
Average
Main course: £13
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Wednesday: 09:00 - 23:00
Thursday: 09:00 - 24:00
Friday & Saturday: 09:00 - 24:30

welcoming staff, beautiful, airy setting, wonderful menu choice & all time we required to enjoy our meal and catch up. I had not visited this restaurant before, but it is certainly somewhere I would dine again.

Kath 23 August 2019
from edinburgh

View all 96 reviews

Situated on George Street, a UNESCO World Heritage Site in the centre of the 18th-century town, Browns Brasserie & Bar – Edinburgh is a lively venue offering seasonal Scottish dishes, European cuisine, and a variety of colourful cocktails. With pavement dining during the warm months, and contemporary interiors, the building fits right in among neo-classical houses and pretty Georgian squares.

Spanning from breakfast through to lunch and dinner, the Browns menu offers all-day brasserie dining. Indulgent plats du jour and Sunday roasts are staple favourites, while sumptuous flavours include roasted lamb with potatoes & minted peas, Browns’ signature fish pie, and decadent salted caramel profiteroles. A sophisticated children’s menu at Browns offers tempting favourites with a grown-up twist.

Showcasing a penchant for cocktails, the Browns bar offers an array of classic mixes, signature concoctions and thirst-quenching mocktails, as well as fine world wines, and smoothies. Enjoy Browns’ afternoon tea and cake accompanied freshly-roasted coffee from an independent supplier, or a warming pot of loose leaf tea.

Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh is a 15-minute walk from Haymarket Rail Station.

Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh

131-133 George Street, Edinburgh, EH2 4JS

Contact +44 1312254442
Website

Make a booking

See all Browns Restaurants

See all restaurants in Edinburgh

See all restaurants in Edinburgh City Centre

Customer reviews for Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh

3.9 ((((* (based on 96 reviews)
83% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (49)
  • lunch (46)
  • afternoon tea (26)
  • value (18)
  • breakfast (15)
  • large parties (12)
  • romantic (12)
  • trendy (12)
  • business (11)
  • private dining (11)
  • child friendly (7)
  • al fresco (6)
  • luxury (6)
  • entertainment (2)
  • views (1)
  • (((** 29 April 2017 by Jess from Edinburgh

    Very nice service. Unfortunate the portions were meagre

  • ((((* 24 April 2017 by Maud from Edinburgh

    Excellent service. Nice and spacious rooms. The Afternoon tea was really worth its price.

  • (((** 2 April 2017 by Rebecca from Edinburgh

    Went to browns on the 2 courses and a glass of wine offer for 19.95. Little did we know that, that offer wasnt available anymore. We waited over an hour to be told we couldnt have the menu and where given a thursday menu which had 6 items on it from starters to deserts. After not wanting this menu we spoke to the supervisor as we didnt understand why we couldnt have the menu she stated that some items were not available. We then checked and every item on the book a table menu was the same as the al la carte menu just a reduced version. Again this took another 15 minutes it was then sorted and suddenly we were allowed this menu. We got our starters and one starter came wrong so then had to wait another 5 minutes before we received it. The same happened with the mains it went to the wrong table. Was not impressed with the service at all in terms of management and the way they dealt with a complaint. Although our waiter was lovely and was always checking if we where ok. The food was amazing especially the steak. Was disappointed no discount or complimentary drinks where given considering non of this was of fault of our party.

  • ((((* 19 March 2017 by Jamie from Edinburgh

    Good service, delicious food & reasonably priced!

  • ((((( 19 March 2017 by Hazel from Edinburgh

    Great food

  • (**** 17 March 2017 by Antonio from Edinburgh

    Horrible, Service was really bad and food inconsistent.

  • (((** 4 March 2017 by Stephen from Edinburgh

    Starters were good, fish pie and lobster risotto were exellent, rib eye steak a bit dry, service and staff very good then the bill came with a 10% service charge already added but it did state on the till receipt that this was optional although it had already been added, spoke to the waiter who was rather embarrased by this and stated it was new and he didn't agree with it as it applied to everthing even a cup of coffee, then spoke with another member of staff who stated it was on the menu she was right at the very bottom in the smallest of small print, I did suggest that staff make patrons aware of this when they ask for the bill she stated that they should, then my husband stated that she was the one that prepared the bill and did not mention it. I would always leave a tip for staff for good food and service but feel the way that this was done would make me think twice about returning.

  • (((** 27 February 2017 by Ross from .

    .

  • ((((( 19 February 2017 by Fiona from Edinburgh

    Food well presented and good.

  • ((((* 18 February 2017 by Elaine from Glenrothes

    The decor is looking a little tired.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant