map placeholder

Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh

131-133 George Street, Edinburgh, EH2 4JS

((((* British
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
  • Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh - Edinburgh
Average
Main course: £13
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Wednesday: 09:00 - 23:00
Thursday: 09:00 - 24:00
Friday & Saturday: 09:00 - 24:30

I had the lunch / early evening meal. Good value and good food. Early evening was rather quiet but very enjoyable all the same

Maureen 23 May 2019
from Edinburgh

View all 93 reviews

Situated on George Street, a UNESCO World Heritage Site in the centre of the 18th-century town, Browns Brasserie & Bar – Edinburgh is a lively venue offering seasonal Scottish dishes, European cuisine, and a variety of colourful cocktails. With pavement dining during the warm months, and contemporary interiors, the building fits right in among neo-classical houses and pretty Georgian squares.

Spanning from breakfast through to lunch and dinner, the Browns menu offers all-day brasserie dining. Indulgent plats du jour and Sunday roasts are staple favourites, while sumptuous flavours include roasted lamb with potatoes & minted peas, Browns’ signature fish pie, and decadent salted caramel profiteroles. A sophisticated children’s menu at Browns offers tempting favourites with a grown-up twist.

Showcasing a penchant for cocktails, the Browns bar offers an array of classic mixes, signature concoctions and thirst-quenching mocktails, as well as fine world wines, and smoothies. Enjoy Browns’ afternoon tea and cake accompanied freshly-roasted coffee from an independent supplier, or a warming pot of loose leaf tea.

Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh is a 15-minute walk from Haymarket Rail Station.

Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh

131-133 George Street, Edinburgh, EH2 4JS

Contact +44 1312254442
Website

Make a booking

See all Browns Restaurants

See all restaurants in Edinburgh

See all restaurants in Edinburgh City Centre

Customer reviews for Browns Brasserie & Bar - Edinburgh

3.9 ((((* (based on 93 reviews)
82% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (48)
  • lunch (44)
  • afternoon tea (25)
  • value (18)
  • breakfast (14)
  • large parties (12)
  • trendy (12)
  • business (11)
  • romantic (11)
  • private dining (10)
  • child friendly (7)
  • al fresco (6)
  • luxury (4)
  • entertainment (2)
  • views (1)
  • ((((* 7 June 2017 by Jane from Edinburgh

    Good service. One dish was over cooked but was soon rectified with a fresh plate of food.

  • ((((* 29 May 2017 by Siobhan from Loughborough

    Booked quite late on so didn't mind too much having the table on the end right near the kitchen! Service was good. Camembert starter was a little disappointing as the relish was just a smear on top of the cheese and the bread was average and no celery. Main courses of steak and slow roast pork with crackling were fab!! Nice busy restaurant and would visit again but book earlier to avoid the 'add on' table!

  • ((((( 28 May 2017 by Iain from Edinburgh

    Lovely . Fish pie was brilliant !

  • (((** 22 May 2017 by Garnor from Edinburgh

    We usually like Browns. Good atmosphere but our food was disappointing last night. We had a very nice table for four people but one of our friends ordered well done lamb which was a lot more than well done and she couldn't eat it. It was very chewy and seemed like a cheaper cut of meat because there was quite a lot of fat. We did complain and they did not charge us for her main dish which was good but it has put us off eating there again. Not happy with their service charge. This seems to be creeping in at some restaurants but you should be able to tip what you want not what they are demanding.

  • (((** 2 May 2017 by Billy from Edinburgh

    Disappointed as I was going to order a starter but they no longer do it yet it is still on there menu I questioned the waiter to find out why it's still on the menu and he said he didn't know not great customer service I'm afraid.

  • ((((* 30 April 2017 by Colin from Redcar

    Very quiet when we arrived 20 minutes earlier than booked. Attentive staff soon processed our order and the food duly arrived. My wife's portion of rissotto was "substantial" to say the very least. My steak appeared OK but when I tried to cut it with the steak knife provided, I was met with pretty serious resistance. A passing member of staff happened to notice what was going on before I could raise the issue. He informed the manager (without my knowledge) who promptly apologised, gave a possible explanation,and removed the cost of the offending steak from the bill and offered a replacement as well. I politely refused the offer and decided to have dessert instead. This turned out to be a very good decision.
    Like the decor and layout. Light and spacious as compared to so many other restaurants I have visited recently. Also good selection of drinks.
    A1 staff; really on the ball.

  • ((((* 29 April 2017 by William from Grantown-on-Spey

    Efficient booking and check-in
    Large menu choice
    Not run of the mill cooking / menu
    Main course mussels was small more like a starter portion; no bread to mop up juice

  • (((** 29 April 2017 by Jess from Edinburgh

    Very nice service. Unfortunate the portions were meagre

  • ((((* 24 April 2017 by Maud from Edinburgh

    Excellent service. Nice and spacious rooms. The Afternoon tea was really worth its price.

  • (((** 2 April 2017 by Rebecca from Edinburgh

    Went to browns on the 2 courses and a glass of wine offer for 19.95. Little did we know that, that offer wasnt available anymore. We waited over an hour to be told we couldnt have the menu and where given a thursday menu which had 6 items on it from starters to deserts. After not wanting this menu we spoke to the supervisor as we didnt understand why we couldnt have the menu she stated that some items were not available. We then checked and every item on the book a table menu was the same as the al la carte menu just a reduced version. Again this took another 15 minutes it was then sorted and suddenly we were allowed this menu. We got our starters and one starter came wrong so then had to wait another 5 minutes before we received it. The same happened with the mains it went to the wrong table. Was not impressed with the service at all in terms of management and the way they dealt with a complaint. Although our waiter was lovely and was always checking if we where ok. The food was amazing especially the steak. Was disappointed no discount or complimentary drinks where given considering non of this was of fault of our party.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant