Reviews of Browns Brasserie & Bar - Birmingham

4.1
(based on 99 reviews)
Spiceal Street Unit R1 Bullring, Birmingham, West Midlands, B5 4BH
99 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Judith V from Coventry
    31 January 2020

    Very nice restaurant, nice atmosphere. Staff were welcoming and friendly. We liked the choices on the menu, especially as there was plenty of choice for vegetarians. The set price menu had limited choices especially for vegetarians, so in the end we chose off the main menu. We both chose the mushroom wellington, which was brought out quickly and was delicious. There was not enough gravy, so we both asked for more, but when we got the bill we found we were charged £4.50 each for the additional gravy! I felt this was too much and changed how I felt about going back there. The desserts were quite pricy too, so it was a good job we were quite full after the main course. Service charge is already added to the bill. I always prefer it when I can choose how much I want to give according to the service offered.

  • By Philip R from Hereford
    7 October 2019

    Very nice reception and good service throughout. Tasty food. Overall very nice experience.

  • By Adrian Y from Birmingham
    14 September 2019

    One of brums better eateries but the service could be upped a notch. Some things not available at 5pm. Great food and atmosphere....toilets need sorting too tho. Also could do with a door host at the door

  • By Lyn C from Stone
    6 September 2019

    We were a party of 9 visiting for a pre-Theatre meal and were attended by Lynne who made us very welcome, delivered great dishes quickly and was super friendly as well as being super efficient. We were all highly satisfied with the food and service and will certainly be coming along again.

  • By Neil V from Birmingham
    26 July 2019

    Very good

  • By Samantha S from Birmingham
    26 July 2019

    Great food, friendly staff

  • By Jane D from Birmingham
    19 July 2019

    The meal was delicious and our waitress Maria was fab, she really looked after us

  • By Lesley C from Wolverhampton
    17 July 2019

    Excellent service, despite our being a group of chatty, hard to pin down women. The lunch menu had something for everyone. The food was good quality and tasty, although portions were small. The setting, outside on a lovely afternoon With St Martin's in the Bullring as the backdrop, is lovely. Relatively peaceful for city centre dining.

  • By Susie H from Birmingham
    30 May 2019

    I raved about Browns to my friend but I have to say I was extremely disappointed when we visited. We chose olives and bread to start. Believe it or not the bread was sent back. It was really hard as though it were stale. The waitress apologised and it was replaced, still not the nicest bread though! For my main I had mussels and frites, a dish I have had twice before. This time the sauce was very bland, thin and not much of it. The bread was toasted and cold! My friend had fish and chips which for £14.25 I could of cooked better at home! The fish was shaped like a piece that came frozen from birds eye!! And a small portion at that! We mentioned it to the waitress and she didn't seem too interested. I then spotted a waitress who has served me in the past. We told her our complaints and she offered us free desserts which we did have. All in all though it was not a patch on what it has been in the past.

  • By Gordon H from Birmingham
    7 September 2018

    The friendly welcome, speedy and attentive service, presentation and quality of food.