map placeholder

Bonfire

Level 1, Barbican Centre, Silk Street, London, EC2Y 8DS

(((** American
  • Bonfire - London
  • Bonfire - London
  • Bonfire - London
  • Bonfire - London
  • Bonfire - London
  • Bonfire - London
  • Bonfire - London
  • Bonfire - London
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25

I liked it. It was friendly fast and good service. Nice food too. No cutlery or napkins but the waiting staff sorted this out.
I enjoy a meal there before the concert. It's chilled and nice.

Alice 06 May 2019
from London

View all 289 reviews

Bonfire is an industrial-chic eatery located on the first floor of the Barbican, London’s multi-purpose art centre. With a focus on seasonal, great quality ingredients, Bonfire’s menus offer the food everyone craves. Wholesome burgers, fiery chicken wings and indulgent milkshakes can be enjoyed in a relaxed, rustic setting overlooking the Barbican’s lakeside.

The Bonfire menu really packs in a great selection of flame-grilled treats. On the burger side, there is the classic cheese, bacon and BBQ sauce option, or diners can choose patties packed with truffle mayo, BBQ pulled pork and green chillies, or even a vegetarian choice of portobello mushroom, grilled halloumi and smoked paprika. There is spit-roast chicken from the rotisserie, and sides like fries topped with blue cheese.

Desserts at Bonfire restaurant at the Barbican are just as indulgent – there is salted caramel brownie with vanilla bean ice cream, and even gluten-free options like white chocolate cheesecake. On the drink menu, there are rich milkshakes, a choice of craft beers, and cocktails like classic mojitos and negronis.

Bonfire in London is 5 minutes' walk from Barbican Tube Station.

Bonfire

Level 1, Barbican Centre, Silk Street, London, EC2Y 8DS

Contact +44 2073826180
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in City of London

Customer reviews for Bonfire

3.1 (((** (based on 289 reviews)
61% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((()*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((()*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((()*
  • Drinks ((()*

Recommended for

  • dinner (119)
  • lunch (82)
  • value (64)
  • views (59)
  • al fresco (43)
  • child friendly (38)
  • trendy (37)
  • large parties (30)
  • entertainment (19)
  • business (13)
  • private dining (9)
  • afternoon tea (7)
  • romantic (4)
  • breakfast (2)
  • ((*** 7 February 2018 by Tom from London

    Not really our kind of food or ambience but on a Sunday at the Barbican there's little choice.

  • ((((* 29 January 2018 by Martin from Luton

    The meal was very good. The chicken was cooked nicely. The staff were very helpful. We found the location of our table to be a little draughty at times, but otherwise very good.

  • (((** 28 January 2018 by Jack from London

    Really good burgers. Pretty good value spot in the Barbican. Service turnaround was quick so ideal for a pre-show feed. Nice selection of local beers too.

  • ((((* 24 January 2018 by Amanda from Bridgend

    Easy to book table online. Simple menu but all good good, vegetarian options good plus good portions. Cost reasonable. Quick service, always good when pre Theatre.

  • ((*** 22 January 2018 by Caroline from London

    The restaurant building / interior was lovely. Food was good but nothing special. Service was well meaning terrible - took 3 hours and several reminders to get starters, main and 2 rounds of drinks.

  • ((((* 22 January 2018 by Matt from London

    Great for a quick pre-theatre dinner. And very good value.

  • (((** 15 January 2018 by E from London

    As below

  • ((((* 15 January 2018 by Andrew from Tonbridge

    Good value meal before Titus Andronicus. The Nachos are particularly good.

  • ((((* 12 January 2018 by Richard from barbican

    very nice. service good.

  • ((((* 9 January 2018 by Deborah from Brighton

    Bonfire is a relaxing place to have a meal before going to a concert, play or film. I like the atmosphere and that fact that the tables aren't all packed together. The menu is simple and the food is good and well-presented.

    However, the service side of the restaurant does let it down.

    When I arrived with my guest arrived, we were finishing drinks we'd bought in the Barbican bar. However, we were told in no uncertain terms that we couldn't take our drinks into the restaurant so we were forced to finish them quickly. We were made to feel like naughty school children. I thought as we'd bought the drinks in the Barbican we could have taken the drinks into the restaurant but clearly that isn't the case. I understand the reasons for this, but it could be conveyed in a slightly more friendly way - maybe we could have been allowed to take our table and finish our drinks. We only had two half-pints of beer and they were mostly finished. I didn't see why it was such a big deal.

    The meal itself was fine and the food came quite fast, but the service was patchy. We had three lots of waiters come and ask us if our meal was okay, which was annoying, but we had to ask twice for our bill. We also had to pay at the cash desk because it was clear that nobody was going to come to take our money. In fact, we could easily have walked out without paying. Maybe having a designated waiter for a set of tables would solve this problem?

    One of the waitresses had to take our mayonnaise because they had run out and needed it for other tables. That was a bit annoying as we hadn't finished our meal at that point. The last time I was I was at Bonfire, I ordered a coffee, but it never came.

    The whole operation seems to fall apart when it gets to around 7pm and everyone needs to leave to go to a concert / theatre. Maybe they need a new strategy for dealing with this?

    Despite this, I would definitely go to Bonfire again. It's good value for money and relaxing.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant