Reviews of Bistro du Vin at Hotel du Vin Winchester

4.1
(based on 135 reviews)
Southgate Street, Winchester, South East England, SO23 9EF
135 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Maxine T from Southampton
    4 July 2020

    A great dinning experience after lockdown. We very much enjoyed.

  • By Michelle K from Poole
    30 November 2019

    We received an email to remind us of our booking and a phone call an hour before to double check we were on schedule. The attention to detail was excellent, the food was delicious and the service wonderful. There was an error on the bill and it was sorted out straight away, professionally. I would go back again and the Christmas festive menu was so filling that I was pleased that we only had 2 courses. The turkey and cod options were both so tasty and the cheese board had a super variety of cheeses. The view of the garden was enhanced by a wedding party's photograph's being taken although that was just timing! Thank you to all the staff for a memorable, delicious and enjoyable afternoon.

  • By Corinne F from Southampton
    17 August 2019

    Gorgeous venue, very easy to fine, very polite staff, however the service wasn’t quite what I was expecting. My husband ordered a drink to have with his main. which the waitress said had been put to chill, half an hour later I asked where the drink was, to be advised it still wasn’t cold enough and would be another 20 minutes, so we ordered another drink while we waited, this second drink also didn’t arrive. The staff were very apologetic and deducted the service charge from the bill. During the whole 3 course meal my husband only had the one glass of champagne which came with the meal, while I had wine throughout my meal. I really enjoyed my food, I thought it had been cooked very well, and nicely presented. My husband had the same meal and felt his meal was ok. I think his meal was spoilt due to the drink issue, and as it was his birthday meal.

  • By Lucy G from Twyford
    17 August 2019

    Set menu was hard to choose from and exceptional value for money food beautifully presented and very tasty wine good and not stupidly priced would definitely go again

  • By Barbara B from Winchester
    1 August 2019

    Charming surroundings and pleasant relaxing atmosphere The set menu didn't have very much choice and unfortunately the lamb dish was more like a rissole . the first course and desert were good. Because we chose the set menu the cost was reasonable. Wine chosen was good.

  • By Ian M from Winchester
    20 July 2019

    Great food but disappointing service. Very slow for a 3 choice prix fixe menu.

  • By Ann C from winchester
    10 June 2019

    Excellent welcome and help from the lady at the desk. Sorry did not catch her name Young slim wearing waistcoat Less good in restaurant After deciding on our choices from the fixed menu both items were not available Should have been told this right at the start Alternative finally offered which was not very good Expensive

  • By Maxine T from Southampton
    17 May 2019

    Food amazing . But front of house from the waiting staff to bar staff very manic. ( right hand not knowing what the left had doing.

  • By James S from Winchester
    18 April 2019

    All as I would want it to be Lovely experience

  • By Julie D from Winchestrr
    13 April 2019

    Relaxed evening Ben behind the bar was very helpful and friendly . Very pleasant time