Reviews of Bistro du Vin at Hotel du Vin Wimbledon

3.4
(based on 17 reviews)
Cannizaro House West Side Wimbledon Common, London, London, SW19 4UE
17 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Michael A from london
    29 February 2020

    Excellent

  • By Alexis E from London
    21 January 2020

    Thoroughly enjoyed our lunch experience fantastic views of Wimbledon Common ambiance fantastic & delicious food. We will return excellent value.

  • By Isaac N from Wimbledon
    14 January 2020

    We receive a nice and wonderful welcoming by the waitresses when give us the seating with smile and polite. Dinner was amazing high quality of food we had fish soup to start then sea bass and apple crumble with a good price. The restaurant is amazing wide space we were comfortable in our chairs. I would like to add free parking facilities Which makes our journey even comfort

  • By Marie-laure B from London
    7 September 2019

    We chose at the booking, the tasting menu but we have been very disappointed by its meals. The offer is great: 99£ per couple including the matching wines. We chose the smoked salmon, which was uninteresting and a little dry, then the chicken liver pâté which was a generous portion but tasteless and covered with a butter too rich crust? The sole was the best plate, but served with potatoes only. We would have preferred with some green vegetables for example, as there hasn’t had any vegetables during the whole menu. And finally we chose the Crème Brûlée which was good but too liquid. The wines were just ok, apart from the The best part was the excellent service, and a very nice dining room with a nice view on Wimbledon common.. so in my opinion, we shouldn’t have chosen the tasting menu as it was tasteless but perhaps one or two courses from the ‘à la carte’ menu. We will not come back for the dinner.

  • By Lynne O from Surbiton
    21 May 2019

    My colleague (who is disabled and in a wheel chair) and I arrived on time for our booking and were given wonderful service from the people at Reception. They helped me with the wheelchair and also later helped me put the chair back into my car. Different service I’m afraid in the restaurant! There was nobody around to seat us, after 5 minutes I had to go and ask for assistance. When somebody finally came they showed us to a table and gave us menus. They never asked if we wanted a drink. After a good while waiting, we had to catch the eye of a server to give our order both for food and wine. The tomato and cheese starter was a disappointment, dry and tasteless with meagre amounts of cheese; the main course of chicken was also rather dry but had a sauce to moisten it. My dessert of chocolate sponge was very tasty. However, my friends cheesecake was like rubber and had obviously been left out of the fridge for some considerable time. She called the waiter over and complained. They took it away and agreed with her description! They asked her if she would like something else. She declined. As usual, in any restaurant, if food is sent back to the kitchen there is something, for example, a glass of wine given to compensate for the poor food. Nothing was offered, apart from the fact they said we would not be charged for the dessert! We were also slightly surprised by the dress code for the restaurant which appeared very lax- jeans and tea shirts? Obviously, the new management have different codes of accepted dress. The whole evening was a disappointment and we will certainly not be going back.

  • By Carol C from Wimbledon
    9 May 2019

    Everyone really enjoyed the set lunch And good service Thank you

  • By Keith B from london
    21 April 2019

    very good service from start to finnish

  • By Susan B from London
    30 November 2018

    The restaurant is superbly located in the conservatory on the edge of Wimbledon Common, the vistas were fantastic. We enjoyed the tasty and well presented meal, however service was extremely poor. Our orders were not taken for 30 minutes, and starters and mains each took over 30 minutes to be served - this was very disappointing and unacceptable. Recommendation is for the meal only.

  • By Stephen M from Wimbledon
    18 November 2018

    Lovely venue with views over Cannizzaro Park. Slightly disorganised. Took a while before we were seated and booking wasn’t checked but waiting staff were helpful and efficient, a good range of food for breakfast nicely presented. A good overall experience and one we will certainly repeat.

  • By Jennie A from London
    28 July 2018

    Not great. Booked the 3 course offer and the menu was different from the website when we got there. The waiters seemed confused as well.

2 Next page