Reviews of Bistro du Vin at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

4.0
(based on 65 reviews)
Parabola Road, Cheltenham, GL50 3AQ
65 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Belinda P from Cheltenham
    12 January 2019

    The starters were both good but the beef main course was extremely sweet !! not what we would expect. The apple crumble was a bitter sour apple puree toped by a teaspoon of soft flavourless crumb, a disgrace.

  • By Carol C from Forest of Dean
    21 December 2018

    First time eating here, booked last minute and were not disappointed. We chose the 3 course seasonal menu and it was delicious. Could not fault the staff as they were very attentive especially one waiter who had only been working there for 2 weeks, he couldn’t do enough for us. A very pleasurable evening, we will go back soon

  • By Olga K from Cheltenham
    30 November 2018

    Excellent!

  • By Pamela S from Cheltenham
    25 November 2018

    Unfortunately it was a very poor experience, which is a shame as the food was fine. We stood waiting to be seated, however we were totally ignored by staff who didn't even have the courtesy to acknowledge us. When we were seated the Server did not smile or show any manners at all to us ( and other tables). Twice we were brought food for other tables. We were in the restaurant for nearly 3 hours. If it had not been for a birthday I would have refused the 12.5% Service charge, they had the cheek to add.

  • By Anne H from Evesham
    23 February 2018

    Pleasant ambiance, good service and food but a little more variety in the menu prix fixe would have fern welcome

  • By Hilary T from Liverpool
    30 September 2017

    Meeting friends from all over the country and found that everything was no trouble just what we required as we needed plenty of talk time to start with to catch up

  • By Neil R from Cheltenham
    27 July 2017

    3rd time at Hotel du Vin. Very good again. Food & service excellent. Unfortunately it was very quiet. Very few tables in use.

  • By Anne H from cheltenham
    6 July 2017

    Until book a table I was unaware that there was a Hotel du Vin in Cheltenham. The hotel is a few minutes walk away from the hurly burly of the shopping areas and is situated in a very pleasant and wide street with the added distinction of a blue plaque confirming the Norman Wisdom connection. Expecting a traditional interior reflecting the exterior I was intrigued by the décor mixing old and very new. The restaurant is down a wide winding staircase and looks very chic but we ate in the garden area and it was charming sitting in the sun outside. I don't recommend the smoke wafting in from the cigar shed but I do recommend the special lunch menu. The food was excellent, the service good, the ambiance calm and relaxed

  • By Nancy M from Exeter
    12 June 2017

    Very pleasant environment and a good dinner

  • By Necia J from Hotel Du Vin
    11 June 2017

    Lovely atmosphere Great decour Excellent service Excellent Sunday menu 4 courses for £24.95, and one course is an all you can eat Buffett!! Excellent wine list