Reviews of Bistro du Vin at Hotel du Vin Bristol

4.4
(based on 155 reviews)
The Sugar House Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol, BS1 2NU
155 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Julie-ann R from Bristol
    26 January 2020

    The hotel bar is really comfortable and the bar tender Dwayne was very personable and friendly. I had a fruit cup mock tail as I was driving and it was delicious. The offer was a little disappointing as the menu offered on book a table was not available, there was a set menu and another set option with the main menu, this made it all a bit confusing. One of the options in the set menu wasn’t available which meant the choice was very limited unless choosing from the main menu (which we did) but this was obviously more expensive. That said the food that we did pick was absolutely delicious.

  • By Neil R from Bristol
    14 December 2019

    Fabulous evening, good service, great food, lovely atmosphere,

  • By Michael Breare B from Bristol
    22 November 2019

    A wonderful evening out made special by excellent service, sumptuously tasty food and a welcoming ambiance!

  • By Richard L from Bristol
    14 November 2019

    Very disappointed with the quality of two out of the three courses. Meat in stew was very grisly. Crumble was just stewed apple with a very light sprinkle of a topping, which we could not make out. It was no better than what a child would make! We will not be going back.

  • By Catherine S from Bristol
    27 August 2019

    We went on a special menu offer. Three items were unavailable (one of three starters, plus two of the three mains) and they agreed to substitute as this greatly limited choice. One dessert was served without the signature accompaniment - when pointed out an alternative (but not so complementary in flavour) was provided. Very disappointing. Service and ambience were fine but would not dine here again. It was mid week, a quiet evening and we had booked months in advance. Had they thought to forewarn us we might have changed our date to be able to enjoy properly what Hotel du Vin could offer.

  • By Alison S from Bristol
    20 August 2019

    Superb waitress. Ambience lovely. Bread Amazing

  • By Malcolm R from Dursley
    9 March 2019

    good food, lovely atmosphere, excellent, friendly service

  • By Sharon S from Bristol
    2 February 2019

    Beautiful setting with great food.

  • By Cassie T from Bristol
    19 January 2019

    Rather uninspiring. The staff didn’t realised we booked with the fixed price menu and then made us feel awkward about it. Food was average, 3* at best. Really wanted to try this place but won’t be returning.

  • By Alison S from bristol
    17 January 2019

    the ambience was excellent the waiters attentive and helpful the food was truly amazing-good portions/ weel presented and tasty