Bettys York

(1595 Reviews)
Belmont Room Bettys York 6-8 St Helen's Square, York, YO1 8QP
Afternoon Tea, British
View main menu

Top offer

NEW Bookable Afternoon Tea £34.95 per person

This offer is available from , subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Offer excludes service and includes VAT. Not available in conjunction with other offers. This promotion has additional information available. Click on the link(s) to view.

Opening hours

Sunday to Friday: 09:00 - 21:00
Saturday: 08:30 - 21:00.

Restaurant description

On the picturesque St Helen’s Square, Bettys York is an elegant café serving lunch, dinner and afternoon teas. Inspired by the founder’s experience on the maiden voyage of the Queen Mary, the café is decked out in wood panelling, with large curved windows and ornate mirrors.

Afternoon tea at Bettys York involves a vast selection of teas, served with sweet and savoury delights. Classic blends join exotic black, green and white teas, as well as herbal blends on the lengthy tea menu. Traditional fresh sandwiches are followed by freshly baked sultana scones with strawberry preserve and Yorkshire clotted cream, as well as a selection of handmade cakes.

Add a touch of indulgence to afternoon tea with a glass of champagne, or sample the wide choice of specialty coffees, world wines, and local ales. Bettys also hosts regular events and live music, making it a lively venue day and night.

Bettys York is a 9-minute walk from York Train Station.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Bettys York
4.7
(based on 1595 reviews)

97%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (1510)
  • al fresco (14)
  • breakfast (137)
  • child friendly (110)
  • dinner (105)
  • large parties (140)
  • business (57)
  • entertainment (122)
  • lunch (362)
  • private dining (240)
  • trendy (62)
  • luxury (699)
  • romantic (475)
  • value (147)
  • views (73)
  • By Deborah O from York
    24 February 2020

    We celebrated our daughters 21st Birthday having afternoon tea.The service was perfect and beautiful settings with piano music playing.Will be a special day we all remember.Giving our daughter a cake from Betty's for her birthday made her happy .Will come again .

  • By Jane C from Whitby
    23 February 2020

    The restaurant was very well presented. The mini cakes and sandwiches were excellent as was the tea. The waitress service was perfect.

  • By Johanna B from Edinburgh
    22 February 2020

    I went to university in York so I knew I wanted to book afternoon tea as part of a hen do I was organising. I cannot fault the service or food. We had Sophia who was very attentive and kind. I managed to lose my phone and the staff helped me find it. The food was excellent (as ever!) We had a few bags and the staff kindly stored them in a lockable room for an hour before our reservation which was really above and beyond.

  • By Wendy T from Warminster
    22 February 2020

    We were expecting the little sandwiches, scones and cakes and tea, the extra dishes brought out first were a delicious surprise. There was a range of teas to choose from too, our waitress was happy to recommend her favourites which we enjoyed. We had extra sandwiches brought out to us and more tea. Everything was delicious, beautiful presented and the pianist added to the experience. My husband was even presented with a box containing a cake as we’d gone there for his birthday. Would highly recommend the afternoon tea.

  • By Karl O from Derby
    21 February 2020

    The usual high standards with cookery and service

  • By Jane P from York
    20 February 2020

    It was an excellent setting, amazing food and fantastic service.

  • By Jane F from York
    20 February 2020

    Fabulous champagne afternoon tea as a birthday surprise. Service, ambience and food was impeccable. Really lovely setting which took you back in time.

  • By Betty B from North Ferriby
    20 February 2020

    Excellent all round. Service Food Piano attention to detail.

  • By Jenny F from Newark
    19 February 2020

    Fantastic ambiance, the food was amazing as ever. Our waitress was attentive and very knowledgeable about the tea etc. Had a lovely time and will definitely be back next year.

  • By Helen N from York
    17 February 2020

    Whole experience was just as good as the high standards were has anticipated.

Restaurant Location Map
Bettys York
Belmont Room Bettys York 6-8 St Helen's Square, York, YO1 8QP

Available offers

  • NEW Bookable Afternoon Tea £34.95 per person
  • NEW Bookable Champagne Afternoon Tea £42.95 per person

Similar Restaurants

  1. Rose Within the Walls

    Rose Within the Walls

    British
    (0 Reviews)
    477m
    Rose Within the Walls
  2. Old White Swan

    Old White Swan

    British
    (3 Reviews)
    256m
    Old White Swan
  3. The Punch Bowl

    The Punch Bowl

    British
    (5 Reviews)
    131m
    The Punch Bowl
  4. Cross Keys - York

    Cross Keys - York

    British
    (3 Reviews)
    244m
    Cross Keys - York
  5. The Piano Restaurant at The Churchill Hotel
    743m
    The Piano Restaurant at The Churchill Hotel