map placeholder

Bettys York

Belmont Room , Bettys York , 6-8 St Helen's Square, York, YO1 8QP

(((() British
  • Bettys York - York
  • Bettys York - York
  • Bettys York - York
  • Bettys York - York
  • Bettys York - York
  •  - York
  • Bettys York - York
Average
Main course: £0
Food spend: £30

very enjoyable afternoon tea. lovely food and excellent service. Apple tarts superb

Pat 04 June 2019
from York

View all 1422 reviews

On the picturesque St Helen’s Square, Bettys York is an elegant café serving lunch, dinner and afternoon teas. Inspired by the founder’s experience on the maiden voyage of the Queen Mary, the café is decked out in wood panelling, with large curved windows and ornate mirrors.

Afternoon tea at Bettys York involves a vast selection of teas, served with sweet and savoury delights. Classic blends join exotic black, green and white teas, as well as herbal blends on the lengthy tea menu. Traditional fresh sandwiches are followed by freshly baked sultana scones with strawberry preserve and Yorkshire clotted cream, as well as a selection of handmade cakes.

Add a touch of indulgence to afternoon tea with a glass of champagne, or sample the wide choice of specialty coffees, world wines, and local ales. Bettys also hosts regular events and live music, making it a lively venue day and night.

Bettys York is a 9-minute walk from York Train Station.

Bettys York

Belmont Room , Bettys York , 6-8 St Helen's Square, York, YO1 8QP

Contact +44 1904659142
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in York

Customer reviews for Bettys York

4.7 (((() (based on 1422 reviews)
96% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((((
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((((

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (1334)
  • luxury (622)
  • romantic (429)
  • lunch (323)
  • private dining (217)
  • large parties (130)
  • value (130)
  • breakfast (120)
  • entertainment (101)
  • dinner (98)
  • child friendly (97)
  • views (64)
  • trendy (55)
  • business (49)
  • al fresco (13)
  • ((((( 2 September 2019 by Christie from Denver

    Excellent experience! We were seated right away and served. The food was excellent and the tea was wonderful! I only wish that the tea I loved would have been available for purchase!

  • ((((( 2 September 2019 by Adam from Sheffield

    It was my girlfriend's birthday so I wanted to take her somewhere special. Betty's certainly did not disappoint. Walking up the stairs we were greeted by very welcoming staff, and it was wonderful to see a pianist playing whilst we had afternoon tea. We were very surprised to see the vast range of tea available to choose from, and the decor was lovely to look at. Our server (Anna) always had a smile on her face, not just with us but with other customers too. Her service was impeccable and her knowledge of the menu, including the tea's, was excellent (she helped me decide which tea to choose!) Anna was always happy to help us, especially as this was our first time in Betty's. My favourite dish was the sandwiches, and we were encouraged to have more than one serving if we wished! The salmon sandwiches were my personal favourite, although the others were delightful.

    I couldn't fault the whole service. Everything from the room to the service was faultless, and I couldn't have asked for a better birthday present for my girlfriend. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the food was incredible. I would recommend the Belmont Room to anyone.

  • ((((( 1 September 2019 by Gary from North HykehamLincoln

    Absolutely amazing, the setting the pianist and of course the food. Small is beautiful, the different tastes the textures. A special experience for a special occasion.

  • ((((( 1 September 2019 by Joan from Newark

    Needed to ask for new plate and clean knife after eating starters, everything else was perfect.

  • ((((( 1 September 2019 by Sonya from London London

    Afternoon tea, planned as a treat for 9 friends visiting York for the weekend. This was definitely a highlight of our trip. The food was outstanding, enjoyed by us all. The individual advise from the waitress about tea choices was fantastic. The pianist set the right mood for the afternoon and was an unexpected bonus. My husband and I have been to Betty’s a number of times previously but for the other members of our group it was their first time. Thank you for making our visit so memorable.

  • (((** 30 August 2019 by Avril from York

    Excellent experience, from moment greeted at the entrance and throughout afternoon tea. Presentation perfect and our waiter attentive at all times. The piano playing in the background added to the lovely ambiance.

  • ((((( 29 August 2019 by David from Liverpool

    Lovely day spent at Bettys York.

  • ((((* 29 August 2019 by M from Lincoln

    Food and service lovely. Pianist was fantastic. Afternoon tea option for children was just right. Was difficult to access restaurant with a pushchair (no lift, lots of stairs) but thankfully a passer by helped us. Overall an enjoyable afternoon.

  • ((((( 29 August 2019 by Polly from York

    Lovely afternoon tea .The service was lovely and not rushed at all .
    Met the assistant manager .very smart and lovely lady .

  • ((((( 28 August 2019 by Steve from Swindon

    As vegetarians we were thrilled to be able to have the amazing Bettys afternoon tea. We were also able to mix and match between the vegetarian and vegan choices, so tailoring our perfect afternoon teas. Our server, Sadie was very attentive and recommended the appropriate teas to accompany our food - they were so good that we bought some to take home. The meal felt very special and completely unhurried. The piano music throughout, courtesy of talented pianist Helen, definitely added to the atmosphere and brought a touch of real decadence to the occasion.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant