Reviews of Bettys York

4.7
(based on 1609 reviews)
Belmont Room Bettys York 6-8 St Helen's Square, York, Yorkshire, YO1 8QP
1609 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Stephen H from redcar
    14 March 2020

    Fantastic staff and delicious afternoon tea. What a treat!

  • By Evan S from Leeds
    14 March 2020

    Staff were very polite and friendly, great atmosphere and food was faultless. Made my mother’s birthday very special.

  • By Elaine K from York
    14 March 2020

    The champagne afternoon tea was superb. The ambience the pianist and the care and attention given to us by waitress Aimee was second to non. The quality of the food was first class with lots of it.

  • By Janet N from Washington
    13 March 2020

    Lovely afternoon tea

  • By Faisal R from London
    13 March 2020

    Really enjoyed our time, I booked the Tea for my wife, lovely place, Laura assisted us and she was amazing, sandwiches were all nice, scones with cream and jam were great and deserts were excellent. Piano was delightful.

  • By Susan S from canada
    10 March 2020

    met up with friends i’d not seen for decades. Betty’s service was wonderful, accommodating an extra place, refilling the sandwiches and letting us stay on chattering without appearing to want us gone. The tea choice was extensive and flowing. Live piano music was fun.

  • By Julie H from York
    8 March 2020

    Fabulous

  • By Maria W from Barnsley
    7 March 2020

    This was the first part of a Christmas present for my 93 year old Auntie as her second part was a show at the Barbican later that night. We went for 5pm and was shown to our table prompt the pianist was playing the ambience was very inviting. Kate was our waitress for the whole time we were there explaining the food we were going to receive and the various tea selections that we could choose from. Both my Auntie and I couldn’t finish the cakes off so Kate offered to box them up for us which was very kind of her, they were packaged lovely. Kate’s customer service was impeccable which can be a very rare occasion these days. Thank you Kate ?? Will definitely be back.

  • By Hannah W from Chester
    6 March 2020

    We were recommended Bettys by a friend and it certainly exceeded our expectations! The food was incredible, and deceivingly filling. The service was outstanding, however when we initially arrived we felt a little bit awkward and ignored as we wasn’t sure where the hostess stand was and just waited by the main door and staff saw us waiting but didn’t really acknowledge us at first. However we do appreciate it was quite busy. It was my birthday and they had the pianist play happy birthday and presented me with a cake, which I thought was a really lovely touch! Aside from the initial welcome, my partner and I were really impressed and loved our afternoon tea experience! Would definitely recommend

  • By Ian S from York
    6 March 2020

    It was nice but I thought very expensive for what it was and didn’t provide value for money - I personally think the price should be more around circa £25 each- we were told that it was a refillable supply of sandwiches but i let we were made to feel awkward when we requested more sandwiches- also my wife didn’t like the Lemon scones and when we requested more of the normal scones we were told it will see if I can find one - and the waiter came back with just one as though he had done us a favor ? Overall service was friendly and good actually - but left a big gap regard value for money and I certainly wouldn’t recommend it or revisit it again I also thought the deserts were stale and not very inviting, would have been better with cream eclairs or Victoria sponge or some other options - overall the servings seemed ‘tight’ and not plentiful