map placeholder

Bettys Harrogate

Imperial Room , Bettys Harrogate , 1 Parliament Street, Harrogate, HG1 2QU

(((() British
  • Bettys Harrogate - North Yorkshire
  •  - North Yorkshire
  • Bettys Harrogate - North Yorkshire
  • Bettys Harrogate - North Yorkshire
  • Bettys Harrogate - North Yorkshire
  • Bettys Harrogate - North Yorkshire

High tea in their Imperial room felt like we had walked into a film set with the piano playing and happy groups of people enjoying a well deserved Betty’s tea. We loved everything including our lovely waiter!

Nadeema 29 May 2019
from Leeds

View all 1114 reviews

Bettys Harrogate has been offering afternoon teas, and a blend of British and Swiss cuisine since 1919. The original Bettys Café, the restaurant overlooks the floral landscapes of The Stray outside.

Afternoon teas at Betty Harrogate include a luxurious selection of sandwiches, cakes, patisseries and teas. Indulge in a traditional cream tea with scones and Yorkshire clotted cream, treat yourself to a champagne afternoon tea, or choose from the lavish cake trolley.

Combining the hearty influences of Swiss and Yorkshire cuisines, the Bettys menu places bacon and raclette rosti and swiss alpine macaroni alongside classics like fish and chips and slow-cooked steak pie. More Mediterranean influences also feature, including butternut squash tortelloni in sage butter with chestnut mushrooms, fresh spinach and toasted hazelnuts. For a lighter dish, try one of the speciality sandwiches, salads and omelettes.

In the centre of the picturesque North Yorkshire spa town, Bettys Harrogate is a 10-minute walk from Harrogate Train Station.

Bettys Harrogate

Imperial Room , Bettys Harrogate , 1 Parliament Street, Harrogate, HG1 2QU

Contact +44 1423814043
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in North Yorkshire

See all restaurants in Harrogate

Customer reviews for Bettys Harrogate

4.7 (((() (based on 1114 reviews)
96% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((((
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((((
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((((

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (1056)
  • luxury (484)
  • romantic (340)
  • lunch (265)
  • views (155)
  • private dining (149)
  • value (126)
  • breakfast (117)
  • large parties (112)
  • dinner (87)
  • child friendly (70)
  • entertainment (70)
  • trendy (57)
  • business (41)
  • al fresco (20)
  • ((((( 22 May 2019 by Alan from Stratford upon Avon

    Betty’s at Harrogate Booked for my wife’s birthday. Imperial room very pleasent with lady playing piano. Staff who served us were very friendly and professional. Food very good and the added gift of a small birthday cake to take home was a nice surprise. Overall a little expensive but a very good experience. These people provide exceptional customer service which made my wife’s birthday special. Well done.

  • ((((( 22 May 2019 by Charles from Chesterfield

    Excellent experience from the moment we arrived. Very attentive staff and a great afternoon.

  • ((((( 22 May 2019 by Irene from Manchester

    We just had the afternoon tea , it was lovely

  • ((((( 22 May 2019 by Karen from Boston

    Delicious and memorable

  • ((((( 17 May 2019 by Mark from Tadcaster

    The welcome on arrival was warm and friendly. We were shown to our table, the waitress attending our table introduced herself and offered to explain the 100th anniversary afternoon tea experience.The presentation of the afternoon tea was excellent. The quality and selection of savouries, sandwiches and pastries was varied with attention to detail being appealing to the eye. Throughout the visit we were attended to in a friendly, courteous and very professional manner by all the staff. It is rare to be able to experience such high levels of service. The only minor observation to point out was that some of the food service was not from the left of the guest. The art deco setting is very sympathetic to the day and relaxing throughout. There are some lovely art deco pieces of furniture and the setting of The Imperial Rooms are very sympathetic to the period. This goes a long way to create a tranquil setting in an ever frenetic world. The tables are sufficiently well spaced to be unintrusive on other clients and the pianist added to the ambient setting and much appreciated. The flavours of the various pastries, sandwiches and savouries were intense and fitting for the season and event. The various assortment of teas we enjoyed were accompanied by clean cups and saucers each time, which was commented upon by my guest. Throughout the visit the various members of staff were able to provide thorough descriptions of the teas, savouries and pastries which added to tge experience. Despite remaining for a while after the penultimate guests departed, we were invited to remain as long as we wished and experience as many of the winderful different teas as we liked. In addition, the staff engagrd in a most friendly manner discussing various topics which added to the experience. It is a rarity to fund a venue where traditional, professional service is offered and n summary our visit to Bettys in Harrogate will remain a memorable one for all the right reasons. Thank you.

  • ((((( 15 May 2019 by Helen from Edgworth

    Elegant surroundings, attentative staff. Loved savoury options - though mentioned dislike of red peppers but sandwich had them in. Savoury options abdcsandwicges very good. Is there an option to have more savoury tests and choose less sweets ones? Perhaps pick and mix afternoon tea selections would be great.

  • ((((* 13 May 2019 by Paul from Harrogate

    We visited to celebrate our 21st Wedding anniversary as my wife has always wanted to go Betty's. She absolutely loved the experience from start to finish.

  • ((((( 13 May 2019 by Michelle from Sheffield

    I booked prebookable afternoon tea for 4 and it was absolutely lovely. The food was amazing and the staff couldn’t do enough for you. They provide an excellent service and the atmosphere was so relaxing with a gentleman playing the piano. We came back after a few hours shopping for anther drink in the downstairs cafe as we enjoyed it so much . I definitely recommend this fir a special occasion

  • ((((( 13 May 2019 by Stephen from Chesterfield

    Excellent experience with attentive staff

  • ((((( 13 May 2019 by Karen from Nottingham

    Absolutely lovely and enchanting experience from start to finish - service food cleanliness ambiance and they wished my cousin a happy birthday and sang to her and gave us a cake each “delightful”. Thank you to you all and we will be back ??

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant