map placeholder

Bettys Harrogate

Imperial Room , Bettys Harrogate , 1 Parliament Street, Harrogate, HG1 2QU +44 8439597863

(((() British
  • Bettys Harrogate - North Yorkshire
  •  - North Yorkshire
  • Bettys Harrogate - North Yorkshire
  • Bettys Harrogate - North Yorkshire
  • Bettys Harrogate - North Yorkshire
  • Bettys Harrogate - North Yorkshire

We visited Betty's on the occasion of my 50th birthday and the whole experience from
Start to finish was fantastic having been rounded off with the pianist playing happy birthday and receiving a cake ... truly wonderful memories

Paula 18 September 2018
from Harrogate

View all 891 reviews

Bettys Harrogate has been offering afternoon teas, and a blend of British and Swiss cuisine since 1919. The original Bettys Café, the restaurant overlooks the floral landscapes of The Stray outside.

Afternoon teas at Betty Harrogate include a luxurious selection of sandwiches, cakes, patisseries and teas. Indulge in a traditional cream tea with scones and Yorkshire clotted cream, treat yourself to a champagne afternoon tea, or choose from the lavish cake trolley.

Combining the hearty influences of Swiss and Yorkshire cuisines, the Bettys menu places bacon and raclette rosti and swiss alpine macaroni alongside classics like fish and chips and slow-cooked steak pie. More Mediterranean influences also feature, including butternut squash tortelloni in sage butter with chestnut mushrooms, fresh spinach and toasted hazelnuts. For a lighter dish, try one of the speciality sandwiches, salads and omelettes.

In the centre of the picturesque North Yorkshire spa town, Bettys Harrogate is a 10-minute walk from Harrogate Train Station.

Bettys Harrogate

Imperial Room , Bettys Harrogate , 1 Parliament Street, Harrogate, HG1 2QU

Contact +44 1423814043
Reservations +44 8439597863
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in North Yorkshire

See all restaurants in Harrogate

Customer reviews for Bettys Harrogate

4.7 (((() (based on 891 reviews)
96% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((((
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((((

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (844)
  • luxury (384)
  • romantic (271)
  • lunch (214)
  • views (128)
  • private dining (116)
  • value (101)
  • large parties (89)
  • breakfast (88)
  • dinner (73)
  • entertainment (62)
  • child friendly (56)
  • trendy (47)
  • business (35)
  • al fresco (15)
  • ((((( 20 August 2018 by Gemma from Harrogate

    Amazing

  • ((((( 20 August 2018 by Pauline from Bishops Stortford

    We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience from the decor, the attentive friendly staff and of course the amazing food.

  • ((((( 19 August 2018 by Sue from Billericay

    This was my second visit to Betty's, the first occasion was to York and Harrogate for this visit.. Both visits were superb!! The decor and ambience set the scene and the first act the Pea, Cucumber and Tomato cocktail was pure delight, I also love the idea of the savoury selection especially the pork pie which left such an impression from my first visit and was delighted to see it on the menu again! These two courses make Betty's afternoon tea stand out from the rest of the Afternoon Tea crowd!! Act 2 delivers, thankfully small but, perfectly formed sandwiches with well flavoured fillings - I particularly liked the chicken with Tarragon Mayo and had a second one! The delicately flavoured scones, again small but more than enough to give Act 3 the main staple of an Afternoon tea. On a personal note I did prefer the Lavender scones from my first visit. The finale was an array of beautifully finished cakes and all different, the attention to detail was first class. Again on a personal note there were two chocolate cakes and I struggled (only a little bit though) with the chocolate and passion fruit cube finding it a little rich but then maybe I should not have had the extra sandwich!!
    This is a standout experience and will certainly return for Take 3!

  • ((((( 18 August 2018 by Stephanie from Harrogate

    Excellent service and lovely food

  • ((((* 14 August 2018 by Jack from LEEDS

    1. We arrived ten minutes early and stood waiting for a member of staff to approach, when Staff did finally attend to us, they said we would have to wait in the upper stair foyer (there is no designated "Seated Waiting" area) standing amongst the coat racks located there.
    2. When we were called forward, a rush of individuals burst past us to be attended to first..
    3. However the window seat offered was ideal, with a cooling breeze from an open window and a view over the park area enhancing the feel good factor.
    4. Although once again we had to wait for an unseemly period until a waitress appeared to take our order, followed by a further wait till the course arrived, we enjoyed the decor and ambience of the dining area which was further enhanced by the pianists' carefully selected ensemble of familiar tunes.
    5. We would recommend Bettys as a worthwhile One-Off Experience adding to the memories of that special occasion.

  • ((((( 14 August 2018 by Sharon from Manchester

    Lovely experience, stepping back in time in the Imperial Room with champagne afternoon tea and serenaded by a pianist.
    The staff were attentive and informative.
    I can recommend the Rose champagne and Golden tipped Assam tea.

  • ((((* 12 August 2018 by Terry from Southport

    Generally good. I would prefer a little more savoury and less sweet, but my wife was happy and it was an afternoon tea after all. Service again generally good; not too cloying. Could perhaps have been more observant of our need for clean plates after the savoury courses.

  • (**** 9 August 2018 by John from Telford

    5 O’clock Saturday 4th August 2018. Lady Betty’s Premier room. Loved the setting. The polite staff and the piano music. Happy to receive extra sandwiches. Soon ran out of tea. I did expect to be offered more tea. It would have been nice to have tea with the cakes. We were eventually offered more tea. But this never arrived. I was interested in trying one of the special teas. But never got the chance. We were the last to leave. By this time I was gasping for a lovely cup of tea. I bought a bottle of water from Sainsbury’s.

  • ((((( 7 August 2018 by David from Manchester

    Superb service given by all staff. Lovely food and drinks. Champagne glass to start and then glorious tea to follow. Excellent surroundings. A very pleasant way to spend an afternoon. Highly recommended.

  • ((((( 7 August 2018 by Gina from Harrogate

    Excellent, exceeded expectations.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant