Reviews of Belton Woods

2.9
(based on 43 reviews)
Belton, Nr Grantham, East Midlands, NG32 2LN
43 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By David C from Kirkcaldy
    2 September 2020

    Daveaudcouser@gmail.com

  • By Ben C from Belton Woods Hotel
    31 August 2020

    Staff were exceptional! Food was overpriced and terrible!

  • By T B from Sheffield
    31 August 2020

    Unfortunately it was a very disappointing restaurant experience , prices are what you would expect but the quality of food and portion size was poor. We would not return or recommend .

  • By Cheryl T from Lincolnshire
    16 August 2020

    Food was quite nice although service very slow. Very Limited options for vegans and staff had to ask chef what was available. Vegan risotto then came out with parmesan on it so had to be returned. Menu very limited on Monday evening and most options same as previous evening. It would improve vastly by dietary requirements being listed on the menu and staff trained in this. Lack of variety on dessert menu, 3 choices: two tarts and a cake! One of our party ordered a burger and got steak. Very noisy on top tier of restaurant on the Sunday evening. Most of our steaks were cooked well although the rare one was overcooked.

  • By Andrew T from Marlborough
    11 August 2020

    My wife and I were disappointed with the restaurant. There was very little choice but we accept that was probably due to coronavirus restrictions. What we were given was what we would call basic pub food but were still charged restaurant prices (£23 for a pate starter and fish and chips). We did of course benefit from the 'eat out to help out' scheme but even with that we felt we were still paying over the odds. The room we had in the hotel was excellent but the restaurant was a complete let down.

  • By Lynne L from Reading
    4 August 2020

    This was one of worst dining experiences we have ever had. The waitress didn't think the eat out to help out was available in the evenings. She forgot our order but came back to check. Drinks were slow and we are still waiting for our water! The food was appalling- fish and chips were cremated and were sent back. Steak requested was medium rare- It arrived medium well done. Pizzas were just adequate, the chicken breast was over cooked and dry. We didn't attempt dessert or coffee. Even with the offer it was not value for money. A real shame as it's a great location. I sent the manager an email before writing this report and have had no acknowledgement.

  • By Phil S from Grantham
    3 August 2020

    The afternoon tea we received was not as the description advised, for example whipped cream instead of clotted cream and tuna sandwiches instead of smoked salmon. No explanation!

  • By Gill C from Lincoln
    31 July 2020

    We had a really lovely lunch of burger and chips, the set menu evening meal was very well cooked and presented but the menu choice was very limited. We also had afternoon tea which again was well presented. Michael was an absolute star, very pleasant and attentive.

  • By Zoe P from Newark
    31 July 2020

    It was was a proper let down. Went for our annirversary and booked the restaurant thinking it was an a la carte meal and we got a set menu taking half na hour for a drink, finished stater by time we got drinks and ordered as soon as we sat down, then ordered again to revive after pudding. Couldn’t get their attention, just lacked any niceness. Then went to sit outside and tables were not cleared for several hours - 100 plus glasses on tables. Just was really disappointed.

  • By Chris W from Mansfield
    16 July 2020

    Was really disappointed with the restaurant & menu options. If you are going to charge full price for a stay at Belton Woods then you really need to try harder on the menu. Just one restaurant open is not a acceptable if the menu is so small.