Reviews of Belton Woods

3.0
(based on 49 reviews)
Belton, Nr Grantham, East Midlands, NG32 2LN
49 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Caroline H from Lingfield
    24 October 2020

    The menu is fairly limited but what good there is was was good although the menu descriptions are a little misleading. We ordered sourdough shards and what arrived was breadsticks and crackers. The restaurant was very busy as not enough staff so the waiting time was long. However, the staff were lovely - really friendly and apologetic about the wait. Very male oriented clientele - I think we were one of only a small number of families. Every other table were men only - some were quite loud. There were quite a lot of groups of dads and sons with children running around the hotel. I would say these groups exceeded 6 when you included the children. Overall I don’t think we will be rushing back.

  • By Pam R from Bristol
    10 October 2020

    Whilst staying in Lodges, we ate in restaurant on two evenings. Very friendly service and excellent precautions in place due to Covid restrictions. Menu choice was good, particularly as I'm not a meat eater, there were still enough options available. Both times I had the moroccan parcel with vegetables which was very tasty and nicely presented. Purely because I enjoyed it on the first evening. Didn't have room for a dessert, so not able to comment.

  • By Christine S from Peterborough
    6 October 2020

    We enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea to celebrate by sister's birthday. The scones were particularly good and the whole thing was well presented. We liked the novelty of the teas coming with their own egg timers. The staff were very friendly and attentive and we would have no hesitation in repeating the experience.

  • By Mandy B from Horsham
    28 September 2020

    The staff were lovely, but due to the restaurant being extremely busy they were really struggling to keep up. We waited over an hour for our wine. We asked twice for it. It didn’t come until after our starters had been eaten and our main meal arrived, and only became because I asked.

  • By James P P from Sleaford
    20 September 2020

    The room itself was divided into two parts - one lounge area with nice comfortable chairs and a ‘dining area’ which looked it had been furnished using old uninspiring military furniture castoffs. We were seated in the dreary dining area. Would’ve been a better experience to have afternoon tea in the nicer part of the room with comfortable seating. The tea itself, fabulous, I tried the white pear and ginger and it was extremely refreshing and delicate in flavour. The scones, another sticking point, whilst the actual scone itself was fine it was served with aerosol cream. When you’re paying above average price for afternoon tea for the area I expect clotted cream. Sandwich selection was good, however, you could tell they’ve been prepped well in advance as the bread was a little firm at the edges indicating they’d been sat out a while. This view was further solidified by the cakes being room temperature. The selection however was good. All in all, an average experience, easily room for improvement and if the above comments are taken on board and issues rectified then I would say it would be value for money. As it stands, sadly it’s not.

  • By Caron C from Grantham
    19 September 2020

    Afternoon tea was nice but in terms of quantity I felt it was poor for the price. The cake slices were tiny and only 1 scone. Great that they could offer gluten free and tea was plentiful though.

  • By David C from Kirkcaldy
    2 September 2020

    Daveaudcouser@gmail.com

  • By Ben C from Belton Woods Hotel
    31 August 2020

    Staff were exceptional! Food was overpriced and terrible!

  • By T B from Sheffield
    31 August 2020

    Unfortunately it was a very disappointing restaurant experience , prices are what you would expect but the quality of food and portion size was poor. We would not return or recommend .

  • By Cheryl T from Lincolnshire
    16 August 2020

    Food was quite nice although service very slow. Very Limited options for vegans and staff had to ask chef what was available. Vegan risotto then came out with parmesan on it so had to be returned. Menu very limited on Monday evening and most options same as previous evening. It would improve vastly by dietary requirements being listed on the menu and staff trained in this. Lack of variety on dessert menu, 3 choices: two tarts and a cake! One of our party ordered a burger and got steak. Very noisy on top tier of restaurant on the Sunday evening. Most of our steaks were cooked well although the rare one was overcooked.