Auberge - Waterloo

(236 Reviews)
1 Sandell Street, London, SE1 8UH
French, Mediterranean
View main menu

Top offer

2 for 1 across all courses

Two for one on any starter, main and dessert when dining in. Customer must be present for the free meal.

Average

Main course: £10
Food spend: £17

Opening hours

Monday - Saturday: 11:30 -23:00
Sunday: 11:30 - 22:30.

Restaurant description

A stone’s throw from the stunning South Bank, Auberge – Waterloo presents delicious French-inspired dishes. In sleek and sophisticated surroundings, Auberge restaurant boasts authentic Parisian features that complement the sensational meals.

Auberge’s ground floor is reminiscent of a Belgian beer hall, with its array of dark wood furnishings and twisted iron features. Lit predominantly by candle light, the upstairs area exudes a romantic ambience which is continued seamlessly through the mezzanine and outside onto the vibrant and lively terrace.

Freshly prepared with local market produce, Auberge – Waterloo presents a menu of mouth-watering French inspired dishes. Favourites at Auberge include the classic steak frites with a choice of sauces, and moules marinières with shallots, white wine, garlic and parsley.

Directly opposite Waterloo Tube Station, Auberge - Waterloo is within easy reach of the London Eye.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Auberge - Waterloo
3.8
(based on 236 reviews)

84%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (1)
  • al fresco (9)
  • breakfast (4)
  • business (38)
  • child friendly (10)
  • dinner (158)
  • entertainment (4)
  • large parties (32)
  • lunch (85)
  • luxury (1)
  • private dining (15)
  • romantic (20)
  • trendy (14)
  • value (55)
  • By Eileen S from Surrey
    15 November 2019

    Very friendly efficient staff, food was sufficiently good but main meal could have been hotter. Location very good for station

  • By Peter M from Gillingham, Dorset
    12 November 2019

    Convenient to Waterloo - but disappointing. The soup was inedible, the burger was overcooked and did not arrive with cheese as ordered. The table service was good and the bill was reduced accordingly.

  • By Sue M from London
    7 November 2019

    Thoroughly enjoyable evening. I had the duck which was lovely.

  • By SUSAN CARDY C from Walton-on-Thames
    7 November 2019

    Lively bar with restaurant above, opposite Waterloo so handy for Old Vic, reasonable prices and good service

  • By Murray J from New Galloway
    6 November 2019

    Although the menu is a little limited, the food quality was excellent, as was the service. This was a great dining expereince overall.

  • By Paul P from Edinburgh
    25 October 2019

    Busy is always a good sign though I suspect it was mostly people on for a drink but that’s fine as it helped the atmosphere. Good choice of seating and broad homely menu.

  • By Martin M from Godalming
    17 October 2019

    Good

  • By Ian W from Bournemouth
    17 October 2019

    Great place, good location next to Waterloo station. Good value

  • By Marcella S from London
    16 October 2019

    We went fir the 241 food offer. Excellent deal and the choice was amazing across the menu. Good service too. Really handy for the Old Vic. Will definitely recommend and return.

  • By Ellie D from London
    5 September 2019

    I booked a table for 6 at this restaurant for a family gathering. We all enjoyed the food, which was bought all together without any one person having to wait longer. The lamb fillet was very nicely cooked, with a generours portion of potato Gratin on the side, however the temperature was too cold. My son enjoyed the Moules and others enjoyed their food too, apart from the king prawn starter which were supposed to be pan fried in garlic and chilli, but had no chilli/garlic flavour to them. This was mentioned to the waitress and she removed them from the bill. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful. What sadly spoilt the meal at the end, was when the bill arrived and an extra bottle of wine had been added to the bill. We were only 6 people and 3 people only drank 1 small glass of wine. 1 person left early. A total of 3 bottles of wine were ordered, spaced throughout the meal, however an extra bottle had been written down at the end of the bill, like an after-thought. When we pointed out that we only had 3 bottles, and pointed out that there was only 1 empty bottle on the table, the lady who came over (? Manageress) was not friendly at all and was arguing quite aggressively with my guests, when I returned from the washroom. In the end, she agreed to remove the added bottle, but she seemed to do this grudgingly, as though she thought we were lying. This created a very unpleasant end to the meal and so we would not recommend this restaurant to others. Or if you do eat here, keep a close check on how many bottles you consume and how many are added to your bill at the end.

Restaurant Location Map
Auberge - Waterloo
1 Sandell Street, London, SE1 8UH

Available offers

  • 2 for 1 across all courses

Similar Restaurants

  1. Brasserie Joël

    Brasserie Joël

    French
    (20 Reviews)
    490m
    Brasserie Joël
  2. Brasserie Blanc - Southbank

    Brasserie Blanc - Southbank

    French
    (23 Reviews)
    376m
    Brasserie Blanc - Southbank
  3. Radio Rooftop

    Radio Rooftop

    Mediterranean
    (17 Reviews)
    1.1km
    Radio Rooftop
  4. Eneko - Basque Kitchen & Bar

    Eneko - Basque Kitchen & Bar

    Basque
    (162 Reviews)
    1.1km
    Eneko - Basque Kitchen & Bar
  5. The Real Greek - Strand

    The Real Greek - Strand

    European
    (16 Reviews)
    1.1km
    The Real Greek - Strand