Auberge - Waterloo

(248 Reviews)
1 Sandell Street, London, London, SE1 8UH
French, Mediterranean
View main menu

Top offer

2 for 1 across all courses

Two for one on any starter, main and dessert when dining in. Customer must be present for the free meal.

Average

Main course: £10
Food spend: £17

Opening hours

Monday - Saturday: 11:30 -23:00
Sunday: 11:30 - 22:30.

Restaurant description

A stone’s throw from the stunning South Bank, Auberge – Waterloo presents delicious French-inspired dishes. In sleek and sophisticated surroundings, Auberge restaurant boasts authentic Parisian features that complement the sensational meals.

Auberge’s ground floor is reminiscent of a Belgian beer hall, with its array of dark wood furnishings and twisted iron features. Lit predominantly by candle light, the upstairs area exudes a romantic ambience which is continued seamlessly through the mezzanine and outside onto the vibrant and lively terrace.

Freshly prepared with local market produce, Auberge – Waterloo presents a menu of mouth-watering French inspired dishes. Favourites at Auberge include the classic steak frites with a choice of sauces, and moules marinières with shallots, white wine, garlic and parsley.

Directly opposite Waterloo Tube Station, Auberge - Waterloo is within easy reach of the London Eye.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Auberge - Waterloo
3.8
(based on 248 reviews)

84%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (1)
  • al fresco (9)
  • breakfast (4)
  • business (38)
  • child friendly (10)
  • dinner (164)
  • entertainment (4)
  • large parties (33)
  • lunch (87)
  • luxury (1)
  • private dining (17)
  • romantic (22)
  • trendy (15)
  • value (58)
  • views (1)
  • By Rachel H from London
    28 February 2020

    Slightly disappointed with the restaurant to be honest. We had to leave the table to ask staff for drinks and get the bill. It was a Friday night but they were stood around chatting. We had steak which arrived so cold the garlic butter it came with wouldn’t melt and the meat itself was ver poor. It was expensive for what it was. Drinks downstairs in the bar were good and there was a good atmosphere.

  • By Chris W from London
    11 February 2020

    Nice feel. Upmarket. Great location.

  • By Davide M from London
    8 February 2020

    Really not what we were expecting. The quality of the food was quite low and more of pub-food level than restaurant one; my steak was totally flavourless and super tiny (I've never seen a steak that small); the cheese board was for at least 50% composed of Cheddar cheese (what you would expect from a French restaurant, right?) and in the overall not worth the price we paid for it. The dining area was on top of the pub area and super noisy (there was no real separation from the pub, so all the noise from the pub was present also in the dining area). There are basically no windows, so it's a bit claustrophobic and, icing on the cake, every now and then you can hear and "feel" the trains passing by (probably over the pub, since it's basically connected to the train station); Definitely not the type of atmosphere you would expect from a French restaurant (or from any type of restaurant in general). I guess it's fine and good if you're looking to grab a bite in a pub; but if you're looking to spend a nice evening (and a good chunk of your money) in a cosy restaurant just forget about this place.

  • By D B from Dorset
    1 February 2020

    We visited on a Saturday evening at about 5pm. The downstairs bar was lively, but the restaurant was quiet. The staff and food were great, and we would come back. The Crepes Suzette was very tasty, far better than some I have had.

  • By Chris D from London
    29 January 2020

    The service was great andfriendly. Food was very tasty and a good selection of drinks was available, including beer on tap. Definitely will go again when meeting near Waterloo.

  • By Theressa W from GRAYS
    28 January 2020

    This is my 3rd visit to this restaurant, the food is excellent and on the 2 for 1 deal makes it even better !! The staff are very attentive and it is in my opinion a hidden gem.

  • By Wendy H from Salisbury
    27 January 2020

    We chose Auberge, rather than a chain, for a reunion of friends and it fitted the bill perfectly - being cosy, quiet, and a stone's throw from Waterloo station! The menu was varied, with lots of choice food and price-wise. The main courses which we ordered were generous and delicious, as were the desserts! The service was amazing and nothing was too much trouble for our lovely waitress! We would all thoroughly recommend.

  • By Maureen K from London
    25 January 2020

    The very friendly waitress was lovely but the meal was poor and the restaurant had little ambiance. As it was called Auberge, I had hoped for a much more Gallic atmosphere - intimate, cosy, warm, candlelit etc. It had none of that. Very ordinary starter of the camembert which could have been much better presented. The Poisson Parmentier was a good portion but was dry and needed a good wine/cream sauce to pep it up. I had a dessert of Crepes Suzette which normally has a bit of theatre to it (burning off the alcohol) but there was none of that. My friend had a coffee with brandy which was cold. It was a birthday celebration which was marked on the booking. Normally restaurants make a bit of extra effort with a few chocolates or an offer of a drink on the house but there was none of that. As said, the waitress was a sweetheart but the rest of it was poor.

  • By Mitchell W from London
    22 January 2020

    ??

  • By Rosalind S from London
    14 January 2020

    The quiet upstairs dining room and very helpful waitress made it a perfect venue, right by Waterloo station, for a long lazy lunch

Restaurant Location Map
Auberge - Waterloo
1 Sandell Street, London, London, SE1 8UH

Available offers

  • 2 for 1 across all courses

Similar Restaurants

  1. Brasserie Joël

    Brasserie Joël

    French
    (21 Reviews)
    490m
    Brasserie Joël
  2. Brasserie Blanc - Southbank

    Brasserie Blanc - Southbank

    French
    (32 Reviews)
    376m
    Brasserie Blanc - Southbank
  3. Eneko - Basque Kitchen & Bar

    Eneko - Basque Kitchen & Bar

    Basque
    (168 Reviews)
    1.1km
    Eneko - Basque Kitchen & Bar
  4. The Real Greek - Strand

    The Real Greek - Strand

    European
    (37 Reviews)
    1.1km
    The Real Greek - Strand
  5. Champagne + Fromage - Covent Garden
    1.1km
    Champagne + Fromage - Covent Garden