Reviews of ASK Italian - Sheffield

4.2
(based on 136 reviews)
8-10 Cambridge Street, Sheffield, S Yorkshire, S1 4HP
136 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By John P from Dronfield
    2 January 2020

    The food was good and the staff excellent. They were attentive and helpful

  • By Andy L from Sheffield
    20 December 2019

    Good food, great service, and a food alternative vegan menu. The waiters were particularly helpful and knowledgeable of what to recommend.

  • By June T from Sheffield
    9 December 2019

    Annual outing for group of friends then onto a ‘show’. We all like this restaurant and is convenient. Service, friendliness of staff, food and atmosphere good.

  • By Kath C from Sheffield
    20 November 2019

    Excellent. Good atmosphere. Friendly efficient staff. Great food at great price.

  • By Melanie S from Sheffield
    12 October 2019

    Have been here many times, so it feels very friendly. It is ideally located for meeting friends, shopping or going to the theatre/cinema. Its a fairly large open space, so not particularly cosy, but it feels good and there are just enough pictures of Italy to differentiate it. The food is good, whether you're going for a pizza or pasta, or one of the more 'a la carte' dishes - and ours was no exception and was piping hot when it arrived. Service was prompt and attentive but not overwhelming. The wine which we chose had sold out - which is exceptionally unusual - but we were very happy with our second (cheaper!) choice. There are quite a few desserts to choose from, although a number are ice cream based. Currently, ASK are very please with their rhubarb and custard pasta. Have been twice recently and my companions have chosen this as their dessert. One loved it and one didn't think that pasta should ever be served with custard again! Minor niggles - our main dish included a king prawn complete with shell, so a finger bowl or a 'wipe' would have been helpful. (We just licked our fingers - not very sophisticated, but it saved getting sauce transference from the serviette!). The biggest disappointment of the evening was the peppermint infusion, which was disgusting, frankly. There is a peppermint tea bag alternative, which I strongly recommend that you choose if you're after a minty drink. Although I didn't have time to partake of the proffered free replacement, I was happy to see that the cost of the offending drink had ben taken off the bill.

  • By Pe ter S from Chesterfield
    12 July 2019

    The linguini with seafood was excellent. We had a superb waiter ( From Hungary ) who looked after us brilliantly.

  • By Karen S from Rotherham
    15 June 2019

    I had the risotto but didn’t fancy chicken so the chef used mussels instead (my request) it was lovely

  • By Patricia P from Sheffield
    14 May 2019

    Ok, waitress a bit curt, food ok

  • By Julie E from Sheffield
    16 April 2019

    Lovely food and very friendly staff

  • By Janet B from SHEFFIELD
    5 February 2019

    I usually really rate ASK and have eaten there several times - often before an event at City Hall. That's why we were there on Tuesday (5th Feb) but something went very wrong with the setvice this time. We can only assume there was a serious staff shortage as, having arrived at just after 5.45 it took a ridiculous amount of time to get our starters (3 of our party had them - I didn't) and by the time it got to 7.10pm (show starting at 7.30pm) we told our waitress to just bring the bill without ever receiving our main courses. She was good enough to tell us there was no charge and she was very apologetic (getting lots of hassle from several tables for the same reason) but it meant I left the restaurant having eaten no more than a couple of mouthfuls of my husband's starter. Very disappointing. I would still use ASK again but would be very wary of going pre-show - or would leave a lot longer to ensure we got our meal.