Reviews of Aria

4.1
(based on 79 reviews)
Hyatt Regency Birmingham 2 Bridge Street, Birmingham, West Midlands, B1 2JZ
79 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Emma W from Holmes chapel
    14 March 2020

    The venue was lovely and we were looking forward to great food and service. Third time lucky we got fresh sandwiches but it wasn’t easy and I ended up with some strange concoction of hummus and cheese!! It was a shame as it was a special occasion and the staff didn’t offer any recompense. On the positive, the scones were perfect and the children’s afternoon tea was great for my 4 year old.

  • By Joanne T from Cheltenham
    21 February 2020

    We enjoyed a lovely anniversary treat. Staff had decorated the table for us with heart shaped balloons, rose petals, a rose and a sparkling centrepiece ?? We had been held up in traffic on the M5, but rang ahead to forewarn we'd be late, and they could not have been more accommodating. The venue is lovely under a glass covered canopy of trees and twinkling lights. Cocktails and our specially prepared afternoon tea were both delicious. Highly recommended.

  • By Saskia B from Birmingham
    16 February 2020

    Delightful Sunday brunch. Champagne was constantly topped up. Inventive starters, Excellent choice of mains and desserts . Wonderful service.

  • By Sarah M from Wolverhampton
    12 January 2020

    Really varied and tasty Sunday brunch with different drinks packages. Lovely atmosphere with live music. Well done for bringing the Sunday brunch back!

  • By John S from Birmingham
    22 November 2019

    East to book, excellent service,food very good.

  • By Ian J from Hatton Park, Warwick
    9 November 2019

    Probably the most appalling attempted dining experience we have ever had, After nearly 2 hours tackling the traffic we were late and hungry. Arrived at 6pm but still in plenty of time to eat and go to the Symphony Hall. The service was non existent. The room was cold. There were only 2 waiters on duty. Our orders were not taken for over 15 minutes. We did not get a drink, not even water, until 6.25. Our paltry starters arrived at 6.40 - 3 of us ordered the smoked salmon which was the smallest, least enjoyable starter we have ever had anywhere (including the Aria). By 7.05 no mains had arrived and we had to abandon ship fed up and hungry. The last time we ever use the Aria. Supposed to be five star! The only consolation was that on returning after the show to settle up, the bill had been cancelled. NB: The waitress was not at fault. She kept chasing the kitchen but to no avail.

  • By Rosemary E from Worcester
    9 November 2019

    We have dined with friends at the Aria for several years now as part of our annual concert trip to Birmingham. However, this year we were very disappointed with our meal. As usual we ordered the 3 course pre concert meal and all enjoyed the starters which were salmon and soup. We all ordered the same main dish of chicken and morels which itself was well cooked but the vegetables served with with it spoilt the dish. I prefer vegetables not to be over cooked but the carrots served were virtually raw and the fennel stringy and difficult to cut and eat. Two of my party ordered the panna cotta for desert and there was so little on the plate they actually thought that the main desert was missing! They were so disappointed that I felt it only fair to share my cheese board with them. For the overall cost of £194, we were all quite dissatisfied and sadly will now find a different venue for next year.

  • By Pat T from Birmingham
    7 November 2019

    Afternoon tea. Extremely disappointed. Shortage of staff meant we waited over one and a half hours before being served. Having experienced quite a lot of afternoon teas, this was nowhere near good value at £50 for 2 people.

  • By Lorraine C from Birmingham
    10 September 2019

    Had afternoon tea with my partner Food was good and Ambience but service was poor we had to ask for cutlery, milk and our tea....... when we could find someone. Not impressed.

  • By Julia C from paris
    31 August 2019

    Amazing afternoon tea with a wide choice of teas (complementary refill). Finger sandwiches, custard cream and blackberries desserts were delicious. Our waiter (Kabir) was welcoming and kind. We unfortunately waited a long time despite our booking. Scones could be lighter. We regret not to enjoy a view on canals