Guide MICHELIN 2020

Arbor Restaurant

(359 Reviews)
4 Grove Road East Cliff, Bournemouth, BH1 3AX
Modern British, Afternoon Tea, Gourmet

Top offer

5-course tasting menu "menu preview evening"£35 per person

This offer is available from March 19, 2020 until March 19, 2020, subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Not available in conjunction with other offers. Offer includes service.

Average

Main course: £15
Food spend: £28

Opening hours

Monday to Sunday: 07:30 - 10:00, 12:30 - 14:00 & 17:30 - 21:00

Restaurant description

Set in an exclusive 4-star retreat, Arbor Restaurant serves refined British delicacies while staying true to eco principles and sustainable roots. Boasting 2 AA Rosettes and 2 Gold Awards from Dorset Tourism for Eating Out and Sustainability, the expansive gardens offer an ideal spot for al fresco dining.

Blending classic and contemporary cooking techniques, the Arbor menu makes use of daily deliveries of organic farm-assured produce and artisan specialities, as well as some of the UK’s finest fish and shellfish, fresh from trawlers. Serving uncomplicated, imaginative and honest food, the Arbor chefs mix the classic with the contemporary, with dishes like Lyme Bay scallops with creamed peas and bacon, or chorizo-stuffed chicken with red onion tart tatin.

Nestled in picturesque the Dorset countryside, Arbor is passionate about offering truly local flavours. The organic and biodynamic wine list restaurant has been extensively researched, with bottles painstakingly matched to the menu dishes.

Offering a chic setting that champions environmental responsibility, The Green House Hotel restaurant in Bournemouth offers a lush, natural hideaway. The Pavillion Theatre is 9 minutes’ walk away.

Customer reviews for Arbor Restaurant
4.5
(based on 359 reviews)

94%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (98)
  • al fresco (12)
  • breakfast (32)
  • business (40)
  • child friendly (19)
  • dinner (254)
  • entertainment (8)
  • large parties (30)
  • lunch (124)
  • luxury (94)
  • private dining (79)
  • romantic (125)
  • trendy (49)
  • value (90)
  • views (3)
  • By Gary B from Normandy France
    7 November 2019

    Very pleasant surroundings, 3 of us had fish special very tasty but the lamb shank very disappointing, would be better if lamb cooked in a sauce. As was tasteless gave a very small jug of sauce but not very good and the accompanying pasty was very salty so couldn't eat it, also the potatoes were hard not cooked enough.

  • By Helen G from Welwyn
    5 November 2019

    Nice decor and friendly staff but food was over priced and disappointing. The menu wasn’t as advertised on the website and had been replaced with a special but limited graduation menu as the university graduation days were going on.

  • By Steve D from Northamptonshire
    31 October 2019

    We opted for the 5 course tasting menu which was excellent, we particularly enjoyed the Mushroom Veloute intense flavour. To be honest we enjoyed all the dishes. If I am being picky then a fish course would have been nice. Value for money

  • By Graham R from Berkhamsted
    27 October 2019

    The whole experience was very good. The ambiance is light and airy without being stuffy. The service was attentive without being over bearing. We arrived a bit early (about 20 minutes) and we were directed to the bar and it was here that I have any grumbles about the evening. I had pre-ordered two glasses of champagne to celebrate our anniversary but I had to say that we had pre-ordered which did spoil the surprise a bit, also no one took our coats until we were taken to the restaurant, just felt this should/could have been done before we sat down in the bar. The food was excellent if not a bit experimental. I had the duck main and watermelon dessert. Both of which had elements that were a bit different. The duck dumpling was a bit isolated as part of the dish, the warm watermelon was different and not that nice on its own but with all the other elements was a nice dish. Overall very good dining experience. My wife is Gluten Free and there was enough on the menu for her to eat, including the request for the squid to be made into a starter portion. They also provided polenta crackers for her cheese course but may be a bread or cracker offer would have been good.

  • By Anne P from Bournemouth
    26 October 2019

    Excellent food and service

  • By Karen W from Verwood
    25 October 2019

    Great restaurant, excellent service and very lovely food.

  • By Nick S from Bournemouth
    17 October 2019

    An enjoyable and tasty experience. Nice building tastefully decorated, attentive polite staff, well thought out dishes with good flavours.

  • By Adrian L from SOUTHAMPTON
    16 October 2019

    Have a Timeshare Apartment nearby and always visit the Arbor when there. The restaurant's proximity is not the only reason we go - it is just one of the most pleasant of dining experiences and we look forward to going there always. During our week we ate in the restaurant twice and had a bar meal one lunch time. The Sunday lunch (pork) was excellent and the vegetables were slightly different to your 'run of the mill' offering - celeriac and (separately!) braised red cabbage. As a qualified chef I can only applaud the offering of something a bit different. The daily sustainable fish offering is also great - so fresh. The staff are also personable - special mention of Maddie who coped with an extended family group of 7 with aplaomb and wit!.

  • By Howard B from Weston-super-Mare
    13 October 2019

    Exclusively small restaurant with a relaxed but friendly atmosphere and lovely décor. Lovely food and good service. We had breakfast and Sunday Lunch and both meals were very good and not expensive for the standard of cooking

  • By Nicholas Philip P from Bournemouth
    13 October 2019

    Excellent afternoon tea for my partner and i very good thank you.

Restaurant Location Map
Arbor Restaurant
4 Grove Road East Cliff, Bournemouth, BH1 3AX

Available offers

  • 5-course tasting menu "menu preview evening"£35 per person
  • Chinese New Year themed 5 course Tasting Menu £35pp
  • Festive Afternoon Tea £18.50pp
  • New Year's Eve 5 Course Menu £72pp
  • Christmas Day 7 course Tasting Menu Lunch £80pp
  • Festive Lunch £25pp
  • Festive themed 5 course Tasting Menu £35pp
  • Classic Afternoon Tea £18.50pp
  • Classic Afternoon Tea £18.50pp Sundays
  • 3 course fixed price lunch £25pp
  • British Game Week - 5 course Tasting menu £35pp

Similar Restaurants

  1. LEVEL8IGHT The Sky Bar

    LEVEL8IGHT The Sky Bar

    British
    (88 Reviews)
    1.5km
    LEVEL8IGHT The Sky Bar
  2. The Norfolk Hotel

    The Norfolk Hotel

    Afternoon Tea
    (10 Reviews)
    1.1km
    The Norfolk Hotel
  3. Prezzo - Bournemouth Westover Road
    833m
    Prezzo - Bournemouth Westover Road
  4. Harry Ramsden's - Bournemouth

    Harry Ramsden's - Bournemouth

    British
    (184 Reviews)
    307m
    Harry Ramsden's - Bournemouth
  5. Fahrenheit Grill - Genting Casino Bournemouth
    1km
    Fahrenheit Grill - Genting Casino Bournemouth