Guide MICHELIN 2020

Arbor Restaurant

(365 Reviews)
4 Grove Road East Cliff, Bournemouth, BH1 3AX
Modern British, Afternoon Tea, Gourmet

Top offer

Classic Afternoon Tea £18.50pp

This offer is available from January 1, 2020 until December 31, 2020, subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Not available in conjunction with other offers. Offer excludes service.

Average

Main course: £15
Food spend: £28

Opening hours

Monday to Sunday: 07:30 - 10:00, 12:30 - 14:00 & 17:30 - 21:00

Restaurant description

Set in an exclusive 4-star retreat, Arbor Restaurant serves refined British delicacies while staying true to eco principles and sustainable roots. Boasting 2 AA Rosettes and 2 Gold Awards from Dorset Tourism for Eating Out and Sustainability, the expansive gardens offer an ideal spot for al fresco dining.

Blending classic and contemporary cooking techniques, the Arbor menu makes use of daily deliveries of organic farm-assured produce and artisan specialities, as well as some of the UK’s finest fish and shellfish, fresh from trawlers. Serving uncomplicated, imaginative and honest food, the Arbor chefs mix the classic with the contemporary, with dishes like Lyme Bay scallops with creamed peas and bacon, or chorizo-stuffed chicken with red onion tart tatin.

Nestled in picturesque the Dorset countryside, Arbor is passionate about offering truly local flavours. The organic and biodynamic wine list restaurant has been extensively researched, with bottles painstakingly matched to the menu dishes.

Offering a chic setting that champions environmental responsibility, The Green House Hotel restaurant in Bournemouth offers a lush, natural hideaway. The Pavillion Theatre is 9 minutes’ walk away.

Customer reviews for Arbor Restaurant
4.5
(based on 365 reviews)

95%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (99)
  • al fresco (12)
  • breakfast (33)
  • business (41)
  • child friendly (20)
  • dinner (259)
  • entertainment (9)
  • large parties (31)
  • lunch (129)
  • luxury (95)
  • private dining (80)
  • romantic (127)
  • trendy (50)
  • value (92)
  • views (3)
  • By Peter D from Bournemouth/Poole
    24 January 2020

    I booked in advance for a small group booking and had to contact again, twice, to fine-tune the arrangements. At every step, I received excellent service and communications and it was a nice touch to be personally welcomed on arrival, thank you. My guests and I are a 'dinner club' type of party of 6 former work colleagues who, for some ten years, now, have taken turns to make the next choice and we meet up at about six weekly intervals for a Friday dinner. We were all very impressed with the meals we ordered which were a good feast in very comfortable surroundings. Personally, I thoroughly enjoyed the day's fish special Hake dish, which was both very tasty and filling. Well done to the chef! Elsewhere, we have sometimes tolerated noisy restaurants and even one where the lighting was so dim that we had to use the light of mobile phones to read their menu! At Arbor, the environmental balance was just perfect and steps were quickly taken to stop a cold draught being caused by another customer who was standing, talking in the entrance hall while holding the front door wide open. This detailed attention to our needs was very much appreciated. We used the pre-18:30 fixed price menu and considered the meal was good value for money. A 100% good choice was agreed by all, thank you.

  • By Johanne C from poole
    18 January 2020

    Absolutely wonderful. the staff were delightful, bar staff recommended local gins, which we tried are were delicious, and the food out of this world. nice atmosphere, and fantastic service. well done everyone

  • By Barbara D from Bournemouth
    7 January 2020

    The Arbor was a lovely experience and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it for the excellent cooking and great service. We were greeted and looked after with unobtrusive attention and real warmth. The menu was excellent - the best ingredients inventively prepared, but unpretentious and delicious. Excellent value for a very special lunch in Bournemouth. This place is a gem.

  • By Stephanie B from Bournemouth
    27 December 2019

    Lovely tasty food at a very good price for 3 course lunch in a lovely restaurant

  • By Andy P from Poole
    28 November 2019

    Excellent food and service very enjoyable evening we will return and have no hesitation recommending the Arbor

  • By Karen W from Verwood
    22 November 2019

    Fantastic service, food and ambience.

  • By Gary B from Normandy France
    7 November 2019

    Very pleasant surroundings, 3 of us had fish special very tasty but the lamb shank very disappointing, would be better if lamb cooked in a sauce. As was tasteless gave a very small jug of sauce but not very good and the accompanying pasty was very salty so couldn't eat it, also the potatoes were hard not cooked enough.

  • By Helen G from Welwyn
    5 November 2019

    Nice decor and friendly staff but food was over priced and disappointing. The menu wasn’t as advertised on the website and had been replaced with a special but limited graduation menu as the university graduation days were going on.

  • By Steve D from Northamptonshire
    31 October 2019

    We opted for the 5 course tasting menu which was excellent, we particularly enjoyed the Mushroom Veloute intense flavour. To be honest we enjoyed all the dishes. If I am being picky then a fish course would have been nice. Value for money

  • By Graham R from Berkhamsted
    27 October 2019

    The whole experience was very good. The ambiance is light and airy without being stuffy. The service was attentive without being over bearing. We arrived a bit early (about 20 minutes) and we were directed to the bar and it was here that I have any grumbles about the evening. I had pre-ordered two glasses of champagne to celebrate our anniversary but I had to say that we had pre-ordered which did spoil the surprise a bit, also no one took our coats until we were taken to the restaurant, just felt this should/could have been done before we sat down in the bar. The food was excellent if not a bit experimental. I had the duck main and watermelon dessert. Both of which had elements that were a bit different. The duck dumpling was a bit isolated as part of the dish, the warm watermelon was different and not that nice on its own but with all the other elements was a nice dish. Overall very good dining experience. My wife is Gluten Free and there was enough on the menu for her to eat, including the request for the squid to be made into a starter portion. They also provided polenta crackers for her cheese course but may be a bread or cracker offer would have been good.

Restaurant Location Map
Arbor Restaurant
4 Grove Road East Cliff, Bournemouth, BH1 3AX

Available offers

  • Classic Afternoon Tea £18.50pp
  • 3 courses for £25 per person
  • Champagne afternoon tea £28 per person
  • 5-course tasting menu "menu preview evening"£35 per person
  • Valentine's fixed price lunch including glass of sparkling wine or beer
  • Valentine's Sparkling Afternoon Tea £28pp
  • Chinese New Year themed 5 course Tasting Menu £35pp

Similar Restaurants

  1. LEVEL8IGHT The Sky Bar

    LEVEL8IGHT The Sky Bar

    British
    (89 Reviews)
    1.5km
    LEVEL8IGHT The Sky Bar
  2. The Norfolk Hotel

    The Norfolk Hotel

    Afternoon Tea
    (10 Reviews)
    1.1km
    The Norfolk Hotel
  3. Prezzo - Bournemouth Westover Road
    833m
    Prezzo - Bournemouth Westover Road
  4. Harry Ramsden's - Bournemouth

    Harry Ramsden's - Bournemouth

    British
    (185 Reviews)
    307m
    Harry Ramsden's - Bournemouth
  5. Fahrenheit Grill - Genting Casino Bournemouth
    1km
    Fahrenheit Grill - Genting Casino Bournemouth