Guide MICHELIN 2020

Reviews of Arbor Restaurant

4.5
(based on 363 reviews)
4 Grove Road East Cliff, Bournemouth, BH1 3AX
363 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Barbara D from Bournemouth
    7 January 2020

    The Arbor was a lovely experience and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it for the excellent cooking and great service. We were greeted and looked after with unobtrusive attention and real warmth. The menu was excellent - the best ingredients inventively prepared, but unpretentious and delicious. Excellent value for a very special lunch in Bournemouth. This place is a gem.

  • By Stephanie B from Bournemouth
    27 December 2019

    Lovely tasty food at a very good price for 3 course lunch in a lovely restaurant

  • By Andy P from Poole
    28 November 2019

    Excellent food and service very enjoyable evening we will return and have no hesitation recommending the Arbor

  • By Karen W from Verwood
    22 November 2019

    Fantastic service, food and ambience.

  • By Gary B from Normandy France
    7 November 2019

    Very pleasant surroundings, 3 of us had fish special very tasty but the lamb shank very disappointing, would be better if lamb cooked in a sauce. As was tasteless gave a very small jug of sauce but not very good and the accompanying pasty was very salty so couldn't eat it, also the potatoes were hard not cooked enough.

  • By Helen G from Welwyn
    5 November 2019

    Nice decor and friendly staff but food was over priced and disappointing. The menu wasn’t as advertised on the website and had been replaced with a special but limited graduation menu as the university graduation days were going on.

  • By Steve D from Northamptonshire
    31 October 2019

    We opted for the 5 course tasting menu which was excellent, we particularly enjoyed the Mushroom Veloute intense flavour. To be honest we enjoyed all the dishes. If I am being picky then a fish course would have been nice. Value for money

  • By Graham R from Berkhamsted
    27 October 2019

    The whole experience was very good. The ambiance is light and airy without being stuffy. The service was attentive without being over bearing. We arrived a bit early (about 20 minutes) and we were directed to the bar and it was here that I have any grumbles about the evening. I had pre-ordered two glasses of champagne to celebrate our anniversary but I had to say that we had pre-ordered which did spoil the surprise a bit, also no one took our coats until we were taken to the restaurant, just felt this should/could have been done before we sat down in the bar. The food was excellent if not a bit experimental. I had the duck main and watermelon dessert. Both of which had elements that were a bit different. The duck dumpling was a bit isolated as part of the dish, the warm watermelon was different and not that nice on its own but with all the other elements was a nice dish. Overall very good dining experience. My wife is Gluten Free and there was enough on the menu for her to eat, including the request for the squid to be made into a starter portion. They also provided polenta crackers for her cheese course but may be a bread or cracker offer would have been good.

  • By Anne P from Bournemouth
    26 October 2019

    Excellent food and service

  • By Karen W from Verwood
    25 October 2019

    Great restaurant, excellent service and very lovely food.