map placeholder

Ametsa

COMO The Halkin, Halkin Street, London, SW1X 7DJ

(((() Spanish
  • Ametsa - London
  • Ametsa - London
  • Ametsa - London
  • Ametsa - London
  • Ametsa - London
  • Ametsa - London
  • Ametsa - London
  • Ametsa - London
  • Ametsa - London
  • Ametsa - London
  • Ametsa - London
  • Ametsa - London
  • Ametsa - London
Average
Main course: £16
Food spend: £50
Opening hours
Monday: 18:30 - 22:00
Tuesday to Friday: 12:00 - 14:00 & 18:30 - 22:00
Saturday: 12:30 - 14:00 & 18:30 - 22:00

Amazing array of dishes and the best service. My wife and I’s favourite Spanish restaurant.

Alex 26 September 2019
from London

View all 502 reviews

Ametsa offers a unique and exquisite take on Basque cuisine within the 5-star COMO The Halkin hotel.

From head chef Ruben Briones, the Ametsa menu combines traditional Basque Country cooking techniques with the flavours of Britain’s boldest seasonal ingredients. The result is a menu of tapas-style dishes designed for sharing, including saffron and garlic Cornish monkfish, and British green asparagus gratin.

Ametsa is home to a striking dining room filled with brilliant white surfaces and golden tubular ceiling coverings, the work of acclaimed designer, Ab Rogers.

Glamorous and elegant, Ametsa restaurant in London is a 5-minute walk from Hyde Park Corner Tube station and 10 minutes from Victoria.

Ametsa

COMO The Halkin, Halkin Street, London, SW1X 7DJ

Contact +44 2073331234
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South West London

Customer reviews for Ametsa

4.6 (((() (based on 502 reviews)
94% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (411)
  • luxury (237)
  • romantic (236)
  • lunch (188)
  • business (146)
  • private dining (125)
  • trendy (121)
  • value (61)
  • entertainment (33)
  • large parties (16)
  • afternoon tea (12)
  • views (10)
  • child friendly (5)
  • al fresco (3)
  • breakfast (3)
  • ((*** 19 March 2018 by Patricia from London

    Service was slow, but pleasant. Some of the aperitifs were very good and others were not to my liking at all. The lamb I ordered was very flavourful but not very tender. I did not like the "ash chocolate" dessert. I felt that some of the dishes were trying just a bit too hard and sometimes the elaborate plating and presentation detracted from the simplicity of well cooked food.The atmosphere was a little to pretentious and not very effective. For example, it was a big ceremony to find our way to the table and the hostess was all smiles and lovely, but then we waited 15 minutes for menus. Little things like that.

  • ((((* 28 February 2018 by Steen from Spain

    Very nice experience

  • ((*** 26 February 2018 by Surajit from London

    We came here for my wife's birthday via an offer from bookatable. My wife is Spanish and the reviews were fantastic but we were very disappointed. The menu was different to what we paid for. I was looking forward to scallops and pork secreto. When we arrived these were replaced by prawns and beef which I don't eat. I didn't complain as I assumed that this was something that was unavoidable so I was quite surprised to see the table next to us being served scallops. The scorpion fishcakes were elaborately displayed but tasted very ordinary like something from tesco finest range except tiny. The morcilla was unpleasant. The prawns were overcooked. The hake was ok but again nothing special. The risotto was not unpleasant but not did it surpass the one served in my staff canteen last week. The egg dish was the only one that impressed and worthy of the apparent calibre of the restaurant. Desert was bland. My wife had to have a snack at home. It seems that spanish food is done best when is not trying to be posh. I do not wish to criticise the waiting staff who were always polite and helpful. But we were double charged and then told or cards at being declined when it was a problem with the network. Perhaps just bad luck to cap a disappointing evening.

  • ((((* 23 February 2018 by Pat from London

    We had a lovely meal. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food was very good.

  • ((((* 19 February 2018 by Alastair from Heysham

    The overall experience was amazing, the staff were very attentive, pleasent and informative. The Tapas to start were the best course and the ambience in the restaraunt was friendly and welcoming. The only little down side (which at the time my wife did not want me to mention, but thought you might want to know) was that she found a small hair on her plate for the main course

  • ((((( 16 February 2018 by Susan from London

    We had an excellent lunch with attentive, charming and informed service. I have eaten at Ametsa many times and never been disappointex

  • ((((( 13 February 2018 by Eirik from London

    Superb food all around and amazing service.

  • ((((( 9 February 2018 by Richard from london

    excellent food & matching wine,friendly & helpful staff a great place to eat.

  • ((((( 7 February 2018 by Lisa from London

    We arrived a little early and were delighted our table was already available. The restaurant felt bright but warmer than expected from other reviews. Service was lovely and friendly. Wine was delicious (I could've drunk the cava all night tho it soon adds up!). Bread was lovely. Aperitif/starters/desserts/petit fours were all spectacular- with meticulous detail and served with a flourish, and full of unexpected flavours. We were mistakenly brought something that wasn't the 'parsley gel' which was also delicious - when I pointed it out we were *also* presented with that too! Main courses were good, with interesting accompaniments although we both felt they weren't AS good as the other courses (which were another level amazing).

    Would definitely recommend- we did the 4 course + wine offer at £43 a head. We ended up doubling that with other wine and service but was a really lovely evening and I'm going back!

  • ((((( 1 February 2018 by Tatiana from London

    Absolutely wonderful place. We had a small menu, which was delicious and beautifully presented.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant