map placeholder

Amber Restaurant at The Scotch Whisky Experience

354-358 Castlehill, Edinburgh, EH1 2NE

(((() Scottish
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £20
Opening hours
Sunday to Thursday: 12:00 - 19:30
Friday & Saturday: 12:00 - 21:30

Wonderful tasting food. Excellent service due to friendly staff. Attention to detail. Overall a great place.

Donnie 10 September 2019
from San francicso

View all 288 reviews

Showcasing a cellar of over 400 malt whiskies alongside gourmet Scottish cuisine, Amber Restaurant is the pride of Edinburgh’s renowned Scotch Whisky Experience. Spectacular glowing glass cabinets contain the array of blends, offering a superb experience for both whisky connoisseurs and novices.

An eclectic range of dishes are served on the Amber menu, with Scottish tapas served alongside boldly flavoured main courses. Enjoy comforting pots of smoked seafood chowder, haggis, neeps & tatties and traditional lamb stovies, or griddled beef sirloin with whisky & shallot butter.

Whisky tasting menus offer a journey through Scotland’s most famous export, or seek a recommendation from the lengthy list from the learned staff at Amber Restaurant in Edinburgh. Paying homage to Scotland’s whisky heritage, bold dessert flavours include panna cotta with raspberry and whisky soup, or marmalade pudding with caramel sauce.

A truly revelatory experience, Amber teams an unrivalled cellar and supreme fine dining dishes. Edinburgh Waverley Station is an 8-minute walk away.

Amber Restaurant at The Scotch Whisky Experience

354-358 Castlehill, Edinburgh, EH1 2NE

Contact +44 1314778477
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Edinburgh

See all restaurants in Edinburgh City Centre

Customer reviews for Amber Restaurant at The Scotch Whisky Experience

4.7 (((() (based on 288 reviews)
96% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((((

Recommended for

  • dinner (230)
  • lunch (124)
  • value (93)
  • romantic (84)
  • private dining (64)
  • large parties (55)
  • business (53)
  • trendy (53)
  • luxury (52)
  • entertainment (26)
  • child friendly (21)
  • afternoon tea (18)
  • views (17)
  • al fresco (1)
  • breakfast (1)
  • ((((* 20 May 2018 by Darren from Edinburgh

    It was ok, service was good. Menu was quite limited, the choice of whiskies tastings was not very large considering other establishments we did go in the past in Scotland

  • ((((( 15 May 2018 by Jakub from Plzen

    Lovely Sauvignon Blanc from new Zealand:)

  • ((((* 12 May 2018 by Cayley from Canada

    The one waiter we had was very knowledgeable about there scotch menu. The food was good but I find you go for the scotch experience .

  • ((((( 6 May 2018 by Joana from Porto

    Food was great, the service was attentive, all in all an amazing experience!

  • ((((( 1 May 2018 by Patrick from Perry

    Excellent food and service. Nice to see vegetarian options. Lamb stories were terrific!

  • ((((( 27 April 2018 by Jenny from Edinburgh

    We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch at the Amber Restaurant last Tuesday. The service was first class and we were impressed with both the amount of menu choice and the quality of the food, all for what was quite a reasonable price. My husband particularly enjoyed the 2 course special. The meal followed on nicely from a tour of the 'Whisky Experience' which I had arranged as part of my husband's birthday celebration. Many thanks.

  • ((((* 16 April 2018 by Elsa from Gardabaer

    The food was very good, presentation on plate clean. Service was good, very smooth, staff knew who ordered what, very good.

  • ((((( 14 April 2018 by Wolf-Hinrich from Reußenköge, Germany

    We had a great time at the Amber. The food was exellent especially the Tapas.
    Everything went perfect.

  • ((((( 26 February 2018 by Alan from Stroud

    The staff at Amber restaurant were fantastic, very attentive but not too intrusive and very friendly. The food was excellent just what was needed after the whiskey tour, we had a variety of dishes from steak to Vegetarian all were cooked well and tasted lovely.

  • ((((( 19 February 2018 by Philip from Preston

    My party of four thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our dinner at the Amber. The food was as good as we have ever eaten, the service attentive but never in our faces. The Scottish tapas, with wine/whiskey, were delicious, the cured salmon, my starter, exquisite. We had 4 different main courses and all were commented on as being to a very high standard. The wine menu, whilst not extensive offered some good wines; the whiskey menu was very extensive and the recommendations made very good.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant