map placeholder

Amber Restaurant at The Scotch Whisky Experience

354-358 Castlehill, Edinburgh, EH1 2NE

(((() Scottish
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £20
Opening hours
Sunday to Thursday: 12:00 - 19:30
Friday & Saturday: 12:00 - 21:30

Wonderful tasting food. Excellent service due to friendly staff. Attention to detail. Overall a great place.

Donnie 10 September 2019
from San francicso

View all 288 reviews

Showcasing a cellar of over 400 malt whiskies alongside gourmet Scottish cuisine, Amber Restaurant is the pride of Edinburgh’s renowned Scotch Whisky Experience. Spectacular glowing glass cabinets contain the array of blends, offering a superb experience for both whisky connoisseurs and novices.

An eclectic range of dishes are served on the Amber menu, with Scottish tapas served alongside boldly flavoured main courses. Enjoy comforting pots of smoked seafood chowder, haggis, neeps & tatties and traditional lamb stovies, or griddled beef sirloin with whisky & shallot butter.

Whisky tasting menus offer a journey through Scotland’s most famous export, or seek a recommendation from the lengthy list from the learned staff at Amber Restaurant in Edinburgh. Paying homage to Scotland’s whisky heritage, bold dessert flavours include panna cotta with raspberry and whisky soup, or marmalade pudding with caramel sauce.

A truly revelatory experience, Amber teams an unrivalled cellar and supreme fine dining dishes. Edinburgh Waverley Station is an 8-minute walk away.

Amber Restaurant at The Scotch Whisky Experience

354-358 Castlehill, Edinburgh, EH1 2NE

Contact +44 1314778477
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Edinburgh

See all restaurants in Edinburgh City Centre

Customer reviews for Amber Restaurant at The Scotch Whisky Experience

4.7 (((() (based on 288 reviews)
96% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((((

Recommended for

  • dinner (230)
  • lunch (124)
  • value (93)
  • romantic (84)
  • private dining (64)
  • large parties (55)
  • business (53)
  • trendy (53)
  • luxury (52)
  • entertainment (26)
  • child friendly (21)
  • afternoon tea (18)
  • views (17)
  • al fresco (1)
  • breakfast (1)
  • ((((( 16 July 2018 by Stephen from Kilmarnock

    Service was very good and attentive. Food was very well presented. Excellent meal

  • ((((( 15 July 2018 by Aina from Seoul korea

    We loved it. Everything we eat it was delicious. The waitress was very kind and she recommended me very well what to choose since it was my first day in Scotland.

  • (((** 12 July 2018 by James from Edinburgh

    The main thing for me is the quality of the food, all other categories are secondary. The food wasnt that great, especially my starter which was quite poor. Hence the low overall rating.

  • ((((( 10 July 2018 by Irene from Zaragoza

    Fuimos a comer después del Silver tour de la Whisky Experience, todo genial, buena atención, muy buena la comida. Merece la pena darse el capricho. Allí probamos el Haggis, todo un acierto. Los platos, muy bien presentados.

  • ((((( 17 June 2018 by Devida from Bristol

    We had booked to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary on Thursday 14th June. You had a private party that day so our booking was made for Wednesday 13th June. Completely my fault I was confused with the dates and missed the appointment on the 13th. You were so understanding and helpful and managed to find a table at lunchtime on the Thursday 14th. We had a great meal of mussels and haggis and cranachan and could not fault the service and ambience. And the complimentary whisky to celebrate was much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you next time we are in Edinburgh.

  • ((*** 8 June 2018 by Pamela from Edinburgh

    Very disappointed with the restaurant. No complaints about the service, but the quality of the food was a big let down. The lamb was tough and bland. It was obvious it had been overcooked. Certainly not worth £19. My friend complained her wellington tasted more like a bridie, and complained to the restaurant manager who didn't charge her and took her complaint to the chef. The restaurant manager was very nice, and tried to rectify the situation by taking a further 10% off the bill. Expected so much more, but the standard of food was poor and I won't be hurrying back.

  • ((((( 6 June 2018 by Lara from Hanover

    Very friendly, helpful staff
    Nice location
    Really great food
    Delicious
    Any time again

  • ((((( 25 May 2018 by Alexandra from Yverdon

    The restaurant is very elegant, right near the exit of the scotch whisky experience. The stuff is very nice and helpful. For choosing whiskeys, we got very good advice and we really enjoyed the taste.
    Food is amazing, and if you try the whisky sauce, it's just great!
    Must absolutely try the tapas, there are 2 sorts of haggis (normal and vegetarian) that are absolutely delicious.
    Everything is cooked perfectly.

  • ((((( 24 May 2018 by Louise from Edinburgh

    I requested a quiet table and was very pleased with the table we were given, in a corner of the main dining room. The staff were friendly, the food was well presented and tasted good, and the whisky selection was amazing, covering a wide range of styles and prices. The beef salad was very good, as was the smoked salmon starter. The restaurant was busy, and we had to chase up ice for the whisky once, but overall we were well looked after.

  • ((((* 22 May 2018 by Hattie from Virginia Beach

    Delicious food, extensive whisky and beer selection. Comfortable seating. Service was a bit slow, having to wave for our server more than once.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant