map placeholder

Amber Restaurant at The Scotch Whisky Experience

354-358 Castlehill, Edinburgh, EH1 2NE

(((() Scottish
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £20
Opening hours
Sunday to Thursday: 12:00 - 19:30
Friday & Saturday: 12:00 - 21:30

The food was amazing. Quite a find. The chef is very talented and the staff made some fantastic drink recommendations that paired well with the food. We ordered both the regular and the vegan tasting and all the food was a 10/10. This is the best meal we had on our trip to the UK.

Noreen 14 April 2019
from Miami, FL

View all 280 reviews

Showcasing a cellar of over 400 malt whiskies alongside gourmet Scottish cuisine, Amber Restaurant is the pride of Edinburgh’s renowned Scotch Whisky Experience. Spectacular glowing glass cabinets contain the array of blends, offering a superb experience for both whisky connoisseurs and novices.

An eclectic range of dishes are served on the Amber menu, with Scottish tapas served alongside boldly flavoured main courses. Enjoy comforting pots of smoked seafood chowder, haggis, neeps & tatties and traditional lamb stovies, or griddled beef sirloin with whisky & shallot butter.

Whisky tasting menus offer a journey through Scotland’s most famous export, or seek a recommendation from the lengthy list from the learned staff at Amber Restaurant in Edinburgh. Paying homage to Scotland’s whisky heritage, bold dessert flavours include panna cotta with raspberry and whisky soup, or marmalade pudding with caramel sauce.

A truly revelatory experience, Amber teams an unrivalled cellar and supreme fine dining dishes. Edinburgh Waverley Station is an 8-minute walk away.

Amber Restaurant at The Scotch Whisky Experience

354-358 Castlehill, Edinburgh, EH1 2NE

Contact +44 1314778477
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Edinburgh

See all restaurants in Edinburgh City Centre

Customer reviews for Amber Restaurant at The Scotch Whisky Experience

4.7 (((() (based on 280 reviews)
97% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((((

Recommended for

  • dinner (225)
  • lunch (123)
  • value (93)
  • romantic (84)
  • private dining (63)
  • large parties (54)
  • trendy (53)
  • business (52)
  • luxury (52)
  • entertainment (26)
  • child friendly (21)
  • afternoon tea (18)
  • views (17)
  • al fresco (1)
  • breakfast (1)
  • (((** 7 February 2019 by gerard from Warsaw

    every thing was fine except the two risottos we ordered : too much fat inside.We ate only partly them.

  • ((((( 7 February 2019 by Jacqueline from Haslemere

    Brilliant, second time we’ve eaten here when visiting Scotland. We love the modern decor and atmosphere. The staff are so nice and the manager even remembered us from a visit two years ago! We love the food, my starter (mussels) were fantastic and we love the little casserole/stovie pots. My sons Vension was delicious. We like to order ‘a flight’ of whiskeys with our meal and the staff are so knowledgeable. Just a superb place! We’ll be going back again in a year or so.

  • ((((( 24 January 2019 by Colin from Darwin

    A lovely meal with great service. My favorite part was tasting a few drams of whisky in the bar. The barman was very knowledgeable and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • ((((* 6 January 2019 by Headgirl from Edinburgh

    Really great Scottish dining experience. Well priced for lunch with good options for all.
    Only negative was that the 2 course special did not offer a vegetarian option and there was no offering an alternative for the price. Therefore ended up paying £5 more than a meat eater.

  • ((((( 4 January 2019 by Maria from Ireland

    Excellent attentive staff, varied menu with good choice for vegetarians. All the dishes we were served were flavoursome and good sized portions.

  • ((((( 1 January 2019 by Christoph from Mülheim

    Schöne Auswahl an lokalen Speisen, die scottish Tappas waren wirklich gut, die Bedienung äußerst freundlich.
    Über die Whiskyauswahl muss man nicht viel schreiben, die ist mehr als ausreichend, auch wenn es Wünsche gibt, die nicht erfüllt werden können, wie sollte das auch gehen?

  • ((((( 26 November 2018 by Py from Brh

    Got the vernison, lots of fantastic tender meat ( eat at an other restaurant an other day, got 2 tiny slices...), and a fantastic dessert, parfait..Kind service, and an ambience nice, not too posh..
    We will come back!

  • ((((( 23 November 2018 by Margaret from Edinburgh

    The staff were friendly and efficient, the ambience was good and the seafood and meat platters, which we had, were excellent and good value for money.

  • ((((* 16 November 2018 by Niva from Coventry

    The restaurant staff were amazing. No fault in the service provided. We had a table booked for 7:30pm but they were able to accommodate us early when we requested it. The tapas was really tasty. The fish ordered for the main course was very bland and could have had a sauce to accompany it. The parfait for dessert was just like it's name, perfect.

  • ((((( 3 November 2018 by RM from Edinburgh

    Fabulous from start to finish. Exquisite food, friendly staff and beautiful surroundings. A complete winner.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant