map placeholder

Amber Restaurant at The Scotch Whisky Experience

354-358 Castlehill, Edinburgh, EH1 2NE

(((() Scottish
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £20
Opening hours
Sunday to Thursday: 12:00 - 19:30
Friday & Saturday: 12:00 - 21:30

Wonderful tasting food. Excellent service due to friendly staff. Attention to detail. Overall a great place.

Donnie 10 September 2019
from San francicso

View all 287 reviews

Showcasing a cellar of over 400 malt whiskies alongside gourmet Scottish cuisine, Amber Restaurant is the pride of Edinburgh’s renowned Scotch Whisky Experience. Spectacular glowing glass cabinets contain the array of blends, offering a superb experience for both whisky connoisseurs and novices.

An eclectic range of dishes are served on the Amber menu, with Scottish tapas served alongside boldly flavoured main courses. Enjoy comforting pots of smoked seafood chowder, haggis, neeps & tatties and traditional lamb stovies, or griddled beef sirloin with whisky & shallot butter.

Whisky tasting menus offer a journey through Scotland’s most famous export, or seek a recommendation from the lengthy list from the learned staff at Amber Restaurant in Edinburgh. Paying homage to Scotland’s whisky heritage, bold dessert flavours include panna cotta with raspberry and whisky soup, or marmalade pudding with caramel sauce.

A truly revelatory experience, Amber teams an unrivalled cellar and supreme fine dining dishes. Edinburgh Waverley Station is an 8-minute walk away.

Amber Restaurant at The Scotch Whisky Experience

354-358 Castlehill, Edinburgh, EH1 2NE

Contact +44 1314778477
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Edinburgh

See all restaurants in Edinburgh City Centre

Customer reviews for Amber Restaurant at The Scotch Whisky Experience

4.7 (((() (based on 287 reviews)
96% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((((

Recommended for

  • dinner (229)
  • lunch (124)
  • value (93)
  • romantic (84)
  • private dining (64)
  • large parties (54)
  • trendy (53)
  • business (52)
  • luxury (52)
  • entertainment (26)
  • child friendly (21)
  • afternoon tea (18)
  • views (17)
  • al fresco (1)
  • breakfast (1)
  • ((((( 22 February 2019 by Béatrice from Edinburgh

    Birthday cake as a surprise for my husband and a candle to blow. So nice attention. Very good food. Awesome evening !!!

  • ((((( 16 February 2019 by Pauline from Auchterarder

    Relaxed surroundings and excellent food. Very friendly staff.

  • ((((( 16 February 2019 by julie from northumberland

    one word fabulous

  • ((((( 15 February 2019 by Henrik from Copenhagen

    Nice and quietly place. Very god service.
    Super dinner, we choise the menu “Tast of Scotland” and that was GREAT.
    And of course and fantastisk selektion of whisky.
    Thank you.

  • ((((( 13 February 2019 by Alan from Aberdeen

    Dined here as a party of eight after the Scotland / Ireland Rugby with 6 Irish guests. Had a wonderful evening. Food was excellent and the service was friendly and attentive. Great whisky bar for after dinner with knowledgeable and friendly staff.

  • ((((( 12 February 2019 by Gert from Peize

    I ordered the Scottish Tapas. The other members of my company had a delicious two course lunch

  • ((((( 8 February 2019 by Peter from Aylesbury

    Good food
    Excellent suggestions for the whiskeys
    All told very pleasant

  • (((** 7 February 2019 by gerard from Warsaw

    every thing was fine except the two risottos we ordered : too much fat inside.We ate only partly them.

  • ((((( 7 February 2019 by Jacqueline from Haslemere

    Brilliant, second time we’ve eaten here when visiting Scotland. We love the modern decor and atmosphere. The staff are so nice and the manager even remembered us from a visit two years ago! We love the food, my starter (mussels) were fantastic and we love the little casserole/stovie pots. My sons Vension was delicious. We like to order ‘a flight’ of whiskeys with our meal and the staff are so knowledgeable. Just a superb place! We’ll be going back again in a year or so.

  • ((((( 24 January 2019 by Colin from Darwin

    A lovely meal with great service. My favorite part was tasting a few drams of whisky in the bar. The barman was very knowledgeable and helpful. Highly recommended.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant