Reviews of Amber Restaurant at The Scotch Whisky Experience

4.7
(based on 291 reviews)
354-358 Castlehill, Edinburgh, Midlothian, EH1 2NE
291 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Carol P from Edinburgh
    23 November 2019

    My friend and I were celebrating our 50th birthdays. I've been to Amber many times, but this was her first time. Although it was a damp and grey day outside, we enjoyed a lovely lunch. The great food and fantastic service really brightened up our afternoon. The relaxed atmosphere and warm welcome added to the experience. I was delighted that my friend thoroughly enjoyed the lunch as much as I did. Thank you, Amber, you did not disappoint!

  • By Ruth H from Edinburgh
    19 November 2019

    The staff were amazing and had a good knowledge of the whiskies on offer. The rump steak in whisky sauce was delicious.

  • By Alan T from Ayr
    15 November 2019

    Nice venue, great menu, skilled cooking, fair price and very efficient, friendly staff. A good night out!

  • By Claudia D from Edinburgh
    26 September 2019

    Good food, excellent service. We very enjoyed the traditional dishes in a mir modern interpretation. They found out that it was my birthday, only being with my husband. And I got a little speech and a creamy shortbread!

  • By Joe N from Nottingham
    16 September 2019

    My partner and I have visited Edinburgh twice in the last year and both times we have booked into the Amber restaurant chiefly in order to eat their vegetarian haggis which we love. However, as we now try to follow a vegan diet, we would have preferred a vegan haggis option. We also felt that the menu could be expanded to incorporate a wider selection vegetarian and vegan options.

  • By Donnie L from San francicso
    9 September 2019

    Wonderful tasting food. Excellent service due to friendly staff. Attention to detail. Overall a great place.

  • By Henrik S from Arboga
    4 September 2019

    Me and my girlfriend dined here after taking the Scotch Whisky Experience tour. My girlfriend had a vegetarian meal for which both presentation and taste were excellent. I had a salmon dish, it looked a bit bland but tasted very good. Desert was delicious. Courteous and professional staff.

  • By Kay D from Jersey
    2 September 2019

    Lovely food, staff and location.

  • By Walter L from Hong Kong
    11 August 2019

    Good food. Good whisky pairing for the dessert.

  • By David G from Belfast
    31 July 2019

    Great food and service