Alvaro's Restaurant

(75 Reviews)
32-34 Saint Helens, Westcliff-on-Sea, Essex, SS0 7LB
Portuguese, European
View main menu

Top offer

2 courses for £17.50 per person or 3 courses 23.50 per person

This offer is available from May 22, 2018 until August 23, 2018, subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Not available in conjunction with other offers. Offer excludes service.

Average

Main course: £25
Food spend: £41

Opening hours

Tuesday to Thursday: 17:30 - 21:30
Friday & Saturday: 17:30 - 22:00
Sunday: 13:00 - 20:30.

Restaurant description

Established back in 1977, Alvaro's Restaurant is a long-running favourite in Southend-on-Sea. Offering diners a warm welcome and a comfortable setting, a signature menu of Portuguese specialities is served along with other international additions.

The Alvaro's Restaurant menu features a wonderfully authentic collection of traditional Portuguese delicacies, all made to closely guarded family recipes. Start off with traditional soups made with lobster and brandy, or fresh grilled Portuguese sardines, before moving on to hearty mains like the medallions of wild boar marinated in white wine, port, garlic and herbs.

Some dishes at Alvaro's Restaurant in Southend-on-Sea are also prepared right at the table for that added bit of theatre, including Steak Madeirense, while the vast wine list includes bottles from across Europe, including premium sparking options.

A true taste of traditional Portuguese dining, Alvaro's Restaurant is just 10 minutes' walk from Westcliff-on-Sea Rail Station.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Alvaro's Restaurant
4.8
(based on 75 reviews)

97%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • business (12)
  • child friendly (3)
  • dinner (66)
  • entertainment (4)
  • large parties (10)
  • lunch (18)
  • luxury (18)
  • private dining (18)
  • romantic (36)
  • trendy (1)
  • value (10)
  • By Patrick R from Southend On Sea
    9 November 2019

    Excellent food and exceptional service.The restaurant is very intimate and welcoming.

  • By Wendy L from WESTCLIFF-ON-SEA
    9 November 2019

    It was all wonderful still the best restaurant. Service cant fault . Food cooked at table and delicious. Good old fashioned silver service

  • By Guillermo F from Westcliff on sea
    9 November 2019

    Excellent food and service....old fashion place. Not trendy. ...I loved the place

  • By Georgina H from Westcliff on sea
    8 November 2019

    Amazing food Friendly staff Lovely atmosphere

  • By Terry K from Romford
    3 November 2019

    Wow! A trip back in time in so many ways , as we walked in the Flambe trolly sits proudly by the door. The food is clearly freshly cooked as the service is great but there is no rushing here. We started with scallops and chorizo , then shared a huge Dover sole that was perfectly grilled , then expertly taken off the bone at the table. The dessert trolley had a great choice , we shared a fantastic Black currant and coconut cheesecake which was a more than generous size, and just to watch the show we also shared Crepe suzette again expertly cooked at the table. This is a great family restaurant and we will be back for more. The bill didn't hurt too badly either.

  • By Val Y from Kirton Lindsey
    22 October 2019

    We had a wonderful night, a birthday celebration for our son. We were welcomed warmly, not rushed through our meal, yet attention by the waiters was just right. The menu is extensive, plus quite a list of special dishes The food was delicious, authentic Portuguese, generous portions.

  • By Peter Y from Leigh on sea
    19 October 2019

    The food was excellent and service very good - we will come again !

  • By Emma I from Westcliff
    4 October 2019

    Had a wonderful evening celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. The food was exquisite and the service faultless. I love this restaurant and will be back!

  • By Glyn J from Southend on Sea
    26 September 2019

    We love our visits to the "BEST RESTAURANT IN SOUTHEND". Our latest was no different. Excellent service and food. My sole Waleska was fantastic! My wife had the seabass special. We have shared a chateaubriande as well in the past, but went our separate ways this time. The staff, Sammy and his team are always attentive. Must find another excuse soon to re-visit!

  • By Paul S from Benfleet
    21 September 2019

    Excellent food and staff

Restaurant Location Map
Alvaro's Restaurant
32-34 Saint Helens, Westcliff-on-Sea, Essex, SS0 7LB

Available offers

  • 2 courses for £17.50 per person or 3 courses 23.50 per person

Similar Restaurants

  1. Bella Italia - Southend on Sea
    886m
    Bella Italia - Southend on Sea
  2. ASK Italian - Southend-on-Sea

    ASK Italian - Southend-on-Sea

    Italian
    (52 Reviews)
    816m
    ASK Italian - Southend-on-Sea
  3. Fahrenheit Grill - Genting Casino Westcliff
    734m
    Fahrenheit Grill - Genting Casino Westcliff
  4. IL Pescatore Restaurant

    IL Pescatore Restaurant

    Italian
    (1 Reviews)
    1.1km
    IL Pescatore Restaurant
  5. Toby Carvery - Southend

    Toby Carvery - Southend

    British
    (35 Reviews)
    2km
    Toby Carvery - Southend