map placeholder

Alvaro's Restaurant

32-34 Saint Helens, Westcliff-on-Sea, SS0 7LB

((((( Portuguese
  • Alvaro's Restaurant - Essex
  • Alvaro's Restaurant - Essex
  • Alvaro's Restaurant - Essex
  • Alvaro's Restaurant - Essex
  • Alvaro's Restaurant - Essex
  • Alvaro's Restaurant - Essex
  • Alvaro's Restaurant - Essex
  • Alvaro's Restaurant - Essex
  • Alvaro's Restaurant - Essex
  • Alvaro's Restaurant - Essex
Average
Main course: £25
Food spend: £41
Opening hours
Tuesday to Thursday: 17:30 - 21:30
Friday & Saturday: 17:30 - 22:00
Sunday: 13:00 - 20:30.

Excellent. Service is very good and the food was delicious

Mary 11 May 2019
from Southend on sea

View all 63 reviews

Established back in 1977, Alvaro's Restaurant is a long-running favourite in Southend-on-Sea. Offering diners a warm welcome and a comfortable setting, a signature menu of Portuguese specialities is served along with other international additions.

The Alvaro's Restaurant menu features a wonderfully authentic collection of traditional Portuguese delicacies, all made to closely guarded family recipes. Start off with traditional soups made with lobster and brandy, or fresh grilled Portuguese sardines, before moving on to hearty mains like the medallions of wild boar marinated in white wine, port, garlic and herbs.

Some dishes at Alvaro's Restaurant in Southend-on-Sea are also prepared right at the table for that added bit of theatre, including Steak Madeirense, while the vast wine list includes bottles from across Europe, including premium sparking options.

A true taste of traditional Portuguese dining, Alvaro's Restaurant is just 10 minutes' walk from Westcliff-on-Sea Rail Station.

Alvaro's Restaurant

32-34 Saint Helens, Westcliff-on-Sea, SS0 7LB

Contact +44 1702335840
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Essex

See all restaurants in Southend-on-Sea

Customer reviews for Alvaro's Restaurant

4.8 ((((( (based on 63 reviews)
96% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((((
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (55)
  • romantic (31)
  • luxury (15)
  • private dining (15)
  • lunch (14)
  • business (10)
  • large parties (10)
  • value (9)
  • entertainment (3)
  • child friendly (2)
  • trendy (1)
  • ((((( 20 January 2019 by Warren from Benfleet

    Easy online booking, friendy staff made you feel welcome. Food was excellent, highly recommended!

  • ((((( 17 January 2019 by Ruth from Chelmsford

    We had a very good experience at Alvaro's. Everyone enjoyed their food.........we all had something different. I chose off the vegetarian menu and the vegetable sizzler was very tasty. There is actually quite a good vegetarian menu. My family enjoyed both chicken and seafood dishes. The service was friendly and professional. I would recommend.....

  • ((((( 15 January 2019 by Angie from White Notley

    Dined with 6 friends after a matinee. Lovely friendly restaurant. Liked being able to sit in a private area with drinks to look at menu. So much choice! We all said we would like to go a there were so many other things to try. I had traditional Portuguese soup followed by oriented noodles, which were both delicious & plentiful.

  • ((((( 3 January 2019 by Hannah from Westcliff-on-Sea

    Amazing food and lovely friendly staff. Would 100% recommend. Best steak I’ve had in a long time

  • ((((( 26 December 2018 by Belinda from Southend-on-Sea

    Superb selection of dishes , lovely friendly atmosphere and outstanding service

  • ((((( 21 December 2018 by David from Upholland

    Excellent as always

  • ((((( 19 November 2018 by Rod from Westcliff

    This is my 3rd visit over 3 Years Approx.
    Every time I go the Staff are brilliant very atentive and nothing is an Issue
    As for the food its to Die for !!

  • ((((( 13 November 2018 by Raymond from Canvey Island

    We had a lovely time the food and service was excellent. Good atmosphere.

  • ((((( 30 October 2018 by Sally from Southend-on-Sea

    Wonderful food, cooked to perfection. Only downside is a little expensive, but is worth it

  • ((((( 28 October 2018 by Christine from Maldon

    Very impressed
    Decor and bar and staff welcoming when we arrived early
    Menu choice very interesting and varied
    Loved the traditional Portuguese options
    Service excellent and very friendly
    Definitely want to go again ASAP

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant