Reviews of Afternoon Tea at The Waldorf Hilton

4.0
(based on 831 reviews)
The Waldorf Hilton 22 Aldwych, London, London, WC2B 4DD
831 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Andrew C from London
    12 September 2020

    The room was very grand, the service attentive and the food was high quality with vegetarian options provided.

  • By Brian N from Leigh on Sea
    6 September 2020

    I have known the Waldorf from the 1960s so that is why I chose it. The beautiful decor is just the same, and the same goes for the ambience. The sandwiches and cakes combined with the afternoon tea were first class. I found the service second to none. I am gluten free and have Diverticular disease. Particular attention was afforded to me pertaining to my requirements. I was very impressed. I found the background music in tune ( no pun intended), with the atmosphere. A delightful afternoon. My only complaint was the scruffiness of some of the other customers. I would have expected a higher dress code.

  • By Susan P from London
    5 September 2020

    The service was exceptional and the waiters certainly made it a day to remember.

  • By Pat A from London
    1 September 2020

    Disappointing even making allowances for COVID precautions. The Waldorf website showed a TakeHome afternoon tea so we weren't sure what we were getting. Huge restaurant with only a few tables around the edge and no atmosphere or music. Only one other table occupied through out our stay, two serving staff at first, reduced to one after 10 minutes. Five minutes after being seated, the waiter asked if we would like tea which then took 10 minutes to arrive in little teapots, lukewarm but no milk. After 20 minutes he brought a stand with 4 tiny scones (jam and cream) and 8 little cakes. No sandwiches so we thought that was all we were getting. We asked for water twice before we got two glasses. As we finished the cakes, he apologised that he had forgotten to give us the sandwiches which were then served. Bread was quite dry perhaps because they had been sitting in the kitchen for 45 minutes. We asked for more tea and got one small teapot full instead of one each.and had to ask for more teaspoons as the waiter had cleared the others away. We asked for and got a takeaway box for leftover sandwiches. We then waited another 10 minutes to catch someone's eye to get the bill and another 10 to receive it. Waiter was polite but not very efficient. All in all, quite a let down and certainly not worth the cost..

  • By Marino S from London
    30 August 2020

    Delicious food in a amazing setting with exceptional service!

  • By Lesley B from London
    28 August 2020

    The building is old and wonderful. The afternoon tea was less than I expected for such an old and supposedly high reputation hotel I was a bit disappointed the tea was cold and the scones were hard. But a lovely experience on a special day.

  • By Evie S from London
    26 August 2020

    Went for my birthday for afternoon tea, lovely food and accommodated our needs with no issue, one sandwich wasn’t to my taste, but I’m quite fussy. Great staff.

  • By Samzie L from London
    22 August 2020

    Brilliant customer service

  • By Denis B from Kent
    4 August 2020

    Service was very good, however, I did state at booking a fish and egg allergy. On arrival no preparation had been made. Table was far too small, couldn’t fit all that was needed on it. Also, English tea must have a Tablecloth not here though. Sandwiches were ok, not outstanding in presentation or taste. Cakes and scones were nicely done. Also, they did bake two fresh scones with no egg wash which was very appreciated.

  • By Rosa maria P from London
    24 February 2020

    Treated muy mum for her birthday. It was an amazing experience, lovely staff and very elegant room. The tea and food was exquisite. We had a fantastic time and would highly recommend it.