Reviews of The Tea Room at The Midland

4.3
(based on 1033 reviews)
The Midland Hotel Peter Street, Manchester, North West England, M60 2DS
1033 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Jennifer H from Manchester
    26 September 2020

    Amazing afternoon tea. Second visit as we think it’s the best available in Manchester City centre

  • By Linda L from Manchester
    25 September 2020

    Lovely staff so welcoming and friendly couldn’t do enough for us food was excellent plenty of it friendly atmosphere my self and friend had lovely time really enjoyed it must say midland employ great staff thank you ?? I??

  • By Pauline F F from Manchester
    25 September 2020

    Lovely afternoon tea.

  • By Liz O from Manchester
    19 September 2020

    Made to feel special. Well looked after. Food was amazing!

  • By Sarah C from Manchester
    18 September 2020

    Me and my sister had afternoon tea, the food was beautifully presented and tasty and it was very filling, the service of the staff was excellent

  • By Ian J from Stockport
    12 September 2020

    Not impressed at all. Sandwiches were very nice and also scones. Cakes were awful. Sandwiches were delivered first and then we had to wait for the other two trays having had to ask for them. Most people seemed to be given all three together. Tea was very good when we were able to get it out of the very heavy pot which also dropped on to table cloth. The biggest problem was trying to pay. We had been gifted two afternoon teas by a family member. We upgraded ourselves to some champagne. However, the presentation of the gift card seemed to cause a problem and other members of staff were involved in trying to solve the problem. We were eventually presented with a bill for the balance and our gift card was written on the receipt as room charge. If you provide gift cards for this service it should be easy to redeem them and we felt very awkward about having this card in the end and it spoilt the experience. There was also no mention of the 10% service charge until the bill eventually came. Would not be able to recommend this experience to anyone.

  • By Paul P from stockport
    11 September 2020

    The hotel was having some major building work being done which was disappointing but the staff were very welcoming, helpful and attentive. Well worth trying the teas. The Midland Jubilee was fantastic with strawberry and nougat flavour's. My overall experience with afternoon tea (at all venues) is that there is always far too many sweet cakes and not enough savory. 4 sandwiches, 2 scones and 4 cakes is far too much sweet stuff. Why not include a nice savory option say sausage rolls, mini Cornish pasties, a small pie etc.2 cakes would be enough. However the food was excellent and service great. Overall a little expensive when you include the service charge particularly if you don't eat all the cakes!

  • By Ronald W from Manchester
    10 September 2020

    enjoy everything was perfect staff very good afternoon tea was excellent will be stopping here definitely December over night all ready booked 5.th

  • By Gaynor T from Manchester
    8 September 2020

    Lovely afternoon celebrating our daughters birthday. Only one slight disappointment, we hadn’t realised the hotel was having a refurb which took away some of the experience.

  • By Luke H from Manchester
    8 September 2020

    Building site in main reception is very noisy, afternoon tea is NOT served in their iconic tea room and sandwich menu is different to what is described on the website. Plain ham instead of roast beef and horseradish, plain cucumber and plain egg mayo. A joke for £28 + service charge.