Reviews of Afternoon Tea at The Lanesborough

4.6
(based on 102 reviews)
Lanesborough Hotel Hyde Park Corner, London, SW1X 7TA
102 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Peggy N from London
    28 November 2019

    Afternoon tea was delicious and service very good.

  • By Leonora S from Munich
    19 November 2019

    The pastries can be described as average if not poor. For sure not what you would expect from a place sold as one of the best afternoon tea experiences in London. The ambience seems traditional but a bit outdated. The gratuity of 20% is automatically added to the bill, which is very uncomfortable, since it leaves little room for you to give what you think is fair for the service.

  • By Daren H from London
    26 August 2019

    Great food, beautiful setting and the service was spot on, 10 out of 10 for the staff

  • By Eva Thronæs T from Trondheim
    27 April 2019

    Easy booking. Exelent service.

  • By Toby C from London
    26 April 2019

    Lovely, thank you

  • By Jacqueline R from London
    6 April 2019

    We were a group of 6 and we had a most wonderful time. The ambience, food and service were outstanding. Raffella, our hostess was absolutely excellent and could not have been more accommodating. I had not considered the Lanesborough before for afternoon tea, but I am absolutely delighted that I did. I will definitely be returning!

  • By Anna S from London
    2 March 2019

    Excellent experience. 5* service. Very kind and professional staff at The Lanesborough hotel.

  • By Natalie B from London
    5 January 2019

    We had a fabulous afternoon tea at the Lanesborough hotel who managed to accommodate our complex dietary needs at a very short notice. The staff took care to make sure the food served was gluten free, vegetarian, dairy free and nut free. If I had known how courteous the hotel's kitchen was I would have mentioned a non-chocolate preference. It is wonderful to find a kitchen that genuinely can handle dietary requirements rather than playing lip service and then providing poor substitutes. Admittedly we ended up at the Lanesborough after a very bad experience with Fortnum and Mason (whom we had originally booked our afternoon tea with). Fortnum and Mason told us the day before the booking that they would substitute all cakes for fruit platters and that's all they could do to accommodate the nut allergies which was not great given that we had made the booking a week early and were told with only 24hours before our trip. Thankfully we discovered the Lanesborough could accommodate us and we had one of the best afternoon tea experiences I have had in London - excellent service, elegant back drop, wonderful ambience, lovely piano playing in the background and also delicious scones, tea and sweets. We will definitely be back!

  • By Anja R from Königsbronn
    26 October 2018

    Es war ganz großartig! Eine Oase der Ruhe in London. Wunderbare Patisserie, hier stimmt einfach alles.

  • By Annemarie M from Nuernberg
    24 October 2018

    Wir waren zum Afternoon Tea da ,wunder schönes Hotel sehr freundliches personal eine sehr sehr schönen Nachmittag. Würde es jeder Zeit wieder machen