map placeholder

Afternoon Tea at The Capital

22 Basil Street, Knightsbridge, London, SW3 1AT

(((() Afternoon Tea
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
  •  - London
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 14:00 - 17:30

Afternoon tea is served in a pretty sunny room overlooking Basil Street. The service was excellent and the sandwiches and cakes delicious, with just the right amount although we were encouraged to order more of anything we wanted.

Louise 22 February 2019
from Berkhamsted

View all 331 reviews

Awarded the Tea Guild's Award of Excellence for Top London Afternoon Tea in 2012 & 2013, Afternoon Tea at The Capital serves a lovingly crafted selection. A range of signature cocktails are shaken in artistic fashion, whilst dainty sweet treats are served in magnificent towers.

The Capital in Knightsbridge is known for honouring the tradition of English afternoon tea. Enjoy a delicious range of sandwiches and savouries made with bread from their own bakery, and fresh scones served with traditional clotted cream and homemade jams. Sweet treats are created specially by critically acclaimed Pastry Chef, Claire Clark.

From the impressive tea menu, discover a selection from around the world including their own Signature Blend. Complement your tea with a glass of champagne or one of The Capital Bar's tempting tea-infused cocktails.

Within a landmark hotel setting boasting 5 stars, The Capital Hotel is renowned as one of the chicest restaurants in London. A perfect retreat from Knightsbridge's exclusive department stores and boutiques, Knightsbridge Tube Station is just 2 minutes’ walk away.

Afternoon Tea at The Capital

22 Basil Street, Knightsbridge, London, SW3 1AT

Contact +44 2075911202
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South West London

Customer reviews for Afternoon Tea at The Capital

4.3 (((() (based on 331 reviews)
89% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (282)
  • luxury (67)
  • value (52)
  • romantic (50)
  • private dining (35)
  • lunch (31)
  • dinner (19)
  • business (14)
  • trendy (11)
  • child friendly (10)
  • breakfast (8)
  • large parties (7)
  • views (6)
  • entertainment (1)
  • ((((( 28 February 2018 by Nina from Helsinki

    Afternoon tea with free flowing bellinis & cosmos was a very pleasant experience, highly recommended!

  • ((((( 25 February 2018 by Mary from Cirencester

    It was perfect. The best tea ever.

  • ((((( 9 February 2018 by Suzy from Epsom

    A special mother/daughter day out in town topped off to perfection with Afternoon Tea at The Capital! We arrived a bit early but they were very happy to accommodate us. The overall service couldn't have been better, our waitress was very attentive and friendly. We had 2 rounds of sandwiches to start with (not so keen on the matcha tea bread but the beetroot bread with smoked salmon &cream cheese was lovely!), the little cheese scones had a gentle chilli heat. The Assam tea was lovely but the cocktails were better! We started with the bellini and followed with (more than one...!) cosmopolitan! Truly free-flowing! The sweets were fab too - little scones, just the right size (fruit and plain), amazing macaroons, coffee cake and a fruit jelly....we're looking forward to visiting again!

  • ((((( 8 January 2018 by Priscilla from London

    The afternoon tea was very pleasant and wonderful. I took my sister for her 18th with my mum and sister and the service and cleanliness was excellent. Food was lovely, had a splendid afternoon!

  • (**** 7 January 2018 by Janine from London

    I wound never go there again. I have had tea at Sketch, Claridges and other hotels- the food was dull and tasteless and not enough of it, the free flowing Bellini had no champagne in it and the service extremely slow

  • ((((* 1 January 2018 by Giuliano from Izano

    Salmon sandwich

  • ((((( 28 December 2017 by John from Rohnert Park

    The Capital was a lovely place to avoid the Boxing Day shoppers. Elegant, modern tea room. Service was very good. We especially liked the cheese biscuits and the scones. They let us try two different teas each.

  • (((** 27 December 2017 by Stephen from Twickenham

    A family group of six had Afternoon tea on Christmas Eve. We are experienced Afternoon tea people as annually we have tea on my daughters Birthday as a special treat and have done for many years. We did enjoy the afternoon tea but it was spoilt at the end. We asked the male head waiter if he could box the remaining scones and he was puzzled and even to the extent of saying that this is not a take away. We found this particularly offence. We have enjoyed afternoon teas at the Ritz, Browns, The Goring, The Dorchester and with these establishments the waiter asks if we would would like any to take home. This is normal.

  • ((((( 25 December 2017 by Wendy from London

    Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. The tea was generous and beautifully served in a pleasant environment.

  • ((((( 24 December 2017 by Sara from London

    Excellent food and service. Lovely experience-will be returning.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant