Afternoon Tea at The Capital

(333 Reviews)
22 Basil Street Knightsbridge, London, SW3 1AT
Afternoon Tea
View main menu

Top offer

Afternoon Tea at £35 per person

This offer is available from September 2, 2019 until December 31, 2019, subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Not available in conjunction with other offers. Offer excludes service.

Opening hours

Monday to Sunday: 14:00 - 17:30

Restaurant description

Awarded the Tea Guild's Award of Excellence for Top London Afternoon Tea in 2012 & 2013, Afternoon Tea at The Capital serves a lovingly crafted selection. A range of signature cocktails are shaken in artistic fashion, whilst dainty sweet treats are served in magnificent towers.

The Capital in Knightsbridge is known for honouring the tradition of English afternoon tea. Enjoy a delicious range of sandwiches and savouries made with bread from their own bakery, and fresh scones served with traditional clotted cream and homemade jams. Sweet treats are created specially by critically acclaimed Pastry Chef, Claire Clark.

From the impressive tea menu, discover a selection from around the world including their own Signature Blend. Complement your tea with a glass of champagne or one of The Capital Bar's tempting tea-infused cocktails.

Within a landmark hotel setting boasting 5 stars, The Capital Hotel is renowned as one of the chicest restaurants in London. A perfect retreat from Knightsbridge's exclusive department stores and boutiques, Knightsbridge Tube Station is just 2 minutes’ walk away.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Afternoon Tea at The Capital
4.3
(based on 333 reviews)

90%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (285)
  • breakfast (8)
  • business (14)
  • child friendly (10)
  • dinner (19)
  • entertainment (1)
  • large parties (7)
  • lunch (31)
  • luxury (67)
  • private dining (35)
  • romantic (51)
  • trendy (11)
  • value (52)
  • views (7)
  • By Bee O from london
    2 December 2019

    Amazing - exemplary staff and service

  • By Louis B from London
    30 November 2019

    The restaurant itself is a beautiful setting, located right next to Harrods. Me and my partner booked in for afternoon tea for her birthday, the food was a lovely mix and a perfect amount of food! This was coupled with a great selection of teas. All staff were attentive and went the extra mile by adding Happy Birthday to the cake selections and offering us two glasses of champagne on the house. This was greatly appreciated, especially as my girlfriend is pregnant and meant I could drink double! Really appreciated the friendly manner of the new manager who made time to come and have a chat with us on two occasions! Would highly recommend!

  • By Marion B from London
    14 June 2019

    Very nice little afternoon tea room

  • By Carel B from London
    27 May 2019

    The staff were very attentive and friendly. The selection of teas good (although should have come with hot water on the side) and the sandwiches and scones were delicious. The cakes were overly sweet and not to my liking at all (I usually love cake!). I was also disappointed that although the website stated that Afternoon Tea, at £35.00 per person "Includes complimentary glass of Prosecco until May 31st" when I enquired about this I was told that this price did NOT include the prosecco. We visited on the 27th May. Very disappointing.

  • By Theodore W from London
    8 March 2019

    Afternoon Tea at The Capital was unbelievable. We ordered the free-flowing Prosecco option and I definitely recommend this one. The tea and all the food options were superb. The service was top notch as the executive manager visited our table for a while to tell us more about the hotel. Overall, 10/10 recommend visiting this hotel for tea and staying overnight!

  • By Peter N from Orchard hills NSW Australia
    20 February 2019

    It was excellent, but my only suggestion would be that the food and tea be presented at the same time. There was quite a delay between the receipt of the refreshment and food items. Having said this, there was more than enough food and tea, cocktails. Perhaps some warming device for the tea pot could also be arranged ie teapot cosy or small burner under the pot. Many thanks. A most enjoyable experience. Peter Nicholson

  • By Louise R from Berkhamsted
    19 February 2019

    Afternoon tea is served in a pretty sunny room overlooking Basil Street. The service was excellent and the sandwiches and cakes delicious, with just the right amount although we were encouraged to order more of anything we wanted.

  • By Jasmin M from Ljubljana
    17 February 2019

    It was a wonderful experience in a festive, historic and intimate setting. Excellent food and service. Definitely an event to remember. The 4 for 3 deal was a nice bonus for a family of four on a budget.

  • By Jackie A from London
    16 February 2019

    Lovely ambience, lovely food. Very slow service in the bar and at the afternoon tea. Started off very good but we had to find staff to top up our free flowing bubbles and waited approx. 60 minutes between sandwiches and scones/cakes.

  • By Annie T from London
    9 February 2019

    Afternoon Tea at The Capital is just behind Harrods in a cozy tea room. The sandwiches were fresh and inventive and the cakes and scones were light and delicious. Not so much food we couldn’t finish. Quality over quantity. Prosecco was easy to drink and the bottomless option is recommended. The only feedback would be the speed of service there were very long waits for the tea and food. Thankfully they weren’t so slow on the Prosecco so that kept us going!

Restaurant Location Map
Afternoon Tea at The Capital
22 Basil Street Knightsbridge, London, SW3 1AT

Available offers

  • Afternoon Tea at £35 per person

Similar Restaurants

  1. Chinoiserie

    Chinoiserie

    British
    (0 Reviews)
    242m
    Chinoiserie
  2. Fifth Floor Café, Harvey Nichols Knightsbridge
    202m
    Fifth Floor Café, Harvey Nichols Knightsbridge
  3. Le Chinois Restaurant and Bar

    Le Chinois Restaurant and Bar

    Chinese
    (35 Reviews)
    117m
    Le Chinois Restaurant and Bar
  4. Afternoon Tea at Knightsbridge Hotel

    Afternoon Tea at Knightsbridge Hotel

    Afternoon Tea
    (72 Reviews)
    304m
    Afternoon Tea at Knightsbridge Hotel
  5. Afternoon Tea at The Lanesborough

    Afternoon Tea at The Lanesborough

    Afternoon Tea
    (102 Reviews)
    608m
    Afternoon Tea at The Lanesborough