Reviews of Afternoon Tea at The Capital

4.3
(based on 337 reviews)
22 Basil Street Knightsbridge, London, SW3 1AT
337 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Y from Singapore
    15 February 2020

    We wanted to experience an English Afternoon Tea, and were pleasantly treated to a wonderful interlude to the London rain. The staff were impeccable in their service, especially Martin, who was attentive, polite, and most accomodating. The food was excellent, and the highlight, the cakes were marvellous. I must say the scones were delicious and I felt that I could continue eating a few more! The tea was fragrant, rich and flavourful. I drank two pots to the dregs. Highly recommended!

  • By Xavier B from Zürich
    1 February 2020

    Went upon recommendation for the high tea in the Capital Hotel. What a disappointing experience. We had to wait for 45min to get some sandwiches, our tea being rather cold by then. As I shared that we were underwhelmed and didn’t need to get the sweets, the waitress argued that the problem was due to new staff in the kitchen, that I didn’t book in advance (which was wrong) and that there were a lot of guests. They quickly brought the sweets and a tea-refill (which differed from the tea we ordered, and tasted bitterly). I still had to pay the full bill, and only after I repeated my disappointment, I got a 20% rebate. A remarkable combination of a lack of organisation, mediocre product quality and insensitive staff.

  • By Saverio D from London
    31 December 2019

    Good cake

  • By Lucy O from London
    14 December 2019

    Lovely Welcome from the moment we arrived, treated like VIPs throughout and the setting and ambience in the dining area was warm, cosy and relaxed. The food did not disappoint with delightful scones (the best I've EVER had) as well as freshly made, delicate cakes and delicious sandwiches.

  • By Bee O from london
    2 December 2019

    Amazing - exemplary staff and service

  • By Louis B from London
    30 November 2019

    The restaurant itself is a beautiful setting, located right next to Harrods. Me and my partner booked in for afternoon tea for her birthday, the food was a lovely mix and a perfect amount of food! This was coupled with a great selection of teas. All staff were attentive and went the extra mile by adding Happy Birthday to the cake selections and offering us two glasses of champagne on the house. This was greatly appreciated, especially as my girlfriend is pregnant and meant I could drink double! Really appreciated the friendly manner of the new manager who made time to come and have a chat with us on two occasions! Would highly recommend!

  • By Marion B from London
    14 June 2019

    Very nice little afternoon tea room

  • By Carel B from London
    27 May 2019

    The staff were very attentive and friendly. The selection of teas good (although should have come with hot water on the side) and the sandwiches and scones were delicious. The cakes were overly sweet and not to my liking at all (I usually love cake!). I was also disappointed that although the website stated that Afternoon Tea, at £35.00 per person "Includes complimentary glass of Prosecco until May 31st" when I enquired about this I was told that this price did NOT include the prosecco. We visited on the 27th May. Very disappointing.

  • By Theodore W from London
    8 March 2019

    Afternoon Tea at The Capital was unbelievable. We ordered the free-flowing Prosecco option and I definitely recommend this one. The tea and all the food options were superb. The service was top notch as the executive manager visited our table for a while to tell us more about the hotel. Overall, 10/10 recommend visiting this hotel for tea and staying overnight!

  • By Peter N from Orchard hills NSW Australia
    20 February 2019

    It was excellent, but my only suggestion would be that the food and tea be presented at the same time. There was quite a delay between the receipt of the refreshment and food items. Having said this, there was more than enough food and tea, cocktails. Perhaps some warming device for the tea pot could also be arranged ie teapot cosy or small burner under the pot. Many thanks. A most enjoyable experience. Peter Nicholson