map placeholder

Afternoon Tea at Great John Street Hotel

Great John Street, Manchester, M3 4FD 0161 937 0056

(((() Afternoon Tea
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 12:00 - 19:00

We had a lovely time here yesterday. We were seated in the library which was very "oldey worldy". The staff were pleasant & friendly & couldn't do enough for you. I would definitely return. The afternoon tea was delicious.

Natalie Solomon 10 September 2017
from Manchester

View all 262 reviews

Inside an eclectic town house in Manchester is Afternoon Tea at Great John Street Hotel. Winner of ‘Most Intimate Hotel Bar’ status by In-Out Magazine, the hotel’s Oyster Bar serves a classic and timeless interpretation of afternoon tea.

The relaxed, intimate nature of the Oyster Bar makes it a perfect setting to enjoy the Great John Street Hotel afternoon tea menu. Old and new décor styles are used, with crushed velvet couches and subtle lighting from both candles and contemporary exposed light bulbs. A stunning roof garden is also available.

Afternoon tea at Great John Street Hotel in Manchester is prepared with the same mixture of old and new ideology, combining traditional dedication with modern passion and vibrancy. The striking bar area is perfect for those wanting an aperitif with their meal.

With eclectic combinations of old and new, Great John Street Hotel Manchester is a chic destination for afternoon tea. Afternoon tea packages start from £21.50 per person.

Afternoon Tea at Great John Street Hotel

Great John Street, Manchester, M3 4FD

Contact +44 1618313211
Reservations 0161 937 0056
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Greater Manchester

See all restaurants in Manchester

Customer reviews for Afternoon Tea at Great John Street Hotel

4.4 (((() (based on 262 reviews)
91% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (233)
  • luxury (77)
  • romantic (67)
  • trendy (62)
  • private dining (45)
  • lunch (44)
  • value (41)
  • dinner (30)
  • business (27)
  • al fresco (26)
  • large parties (23)
  • breakfast (20)
  • views (20)
  • child friendly (14)
  • entertainment (7)
  • ((((( 27 April 2017 by Sharon Taylor from Newton-le-Willows

    A perfect place for afternoon tea. Comfortable sofas and chairs, attentive staff, a varied choice of teas, yummy sandwiches and absolutely amazing cakes and scones.

  • ((((( 23 April 2017 by Vicky Gregg from Manchester

    We ordered the afternoon tea and were fortunate enough to be seated on the roof terrace, which was beautiful as the sun was shining. The food was lovely and the hospitality second to none.

  • ((((( 19 April 2017 by Lauren Melia from Stockport

    Hello. I really enjoyed my visit to Great john street. The staff where very polite, friendly, professional, but also created a relaxed welcoming atmosphere. I am vegetarian and the waitress was very accommodating and thoroughly explained all the sandwiches and cake options. Service was not rushed. I would most definitely come again and recommend to family and friends

  • ((((* 18 April 2017 by Richard Selvarajoo from Manchester

    It was good overall but the selection was not as good as it was 5 years. Not the best afternoon tea I had in Manchester.

  • ((((( 13 April 2017 by Susan Evans from Manchester

    Superb service, food and ambiance

  • ((((* 12 April 2017 by Emma Mills from Manchester

    Lovely terrace upstairs for a drink - great view of Manchester.
    Unfortunate sewer smell on the terrace at times.
    The cakes were lovely and a good variety.
    Not many sandwiches- they were cut into fingers and there were 3/4 each. The equivalent of just over half of a full sandwich. Not much for the cost. Some of the bread was a bit hard too.
    Plenty of tea and a very good variety to choose from.

  • (((** 3 April 2017 by Mike Daniels from Manchester

    Overall satisfactory. Jam excellent. Scones very good. Mouse in glass over sweet and tasteless. Coffee far too strong.... had to return. Sandwiches fresh and tasty...however can be more imaginative with fillings. Of particular concern were the small chocolate cakes that had the shape of macaroons.....which left a GREEN colour on tongue, lips and fingers....need to investigate? Seating very comfortable. Service polite and courteous throughout.

  • ((((( 29 March 2017 by Kathryn from Manchester

    Lovely afternoon tea with my mum and baby. The staff are friendly and accommodating, the place is beautiful and the food is delicious. What more could you want?!

  • (((** 27 March 2017 by Amy Collier from Manchester

    The afternoon tea itself was beautiful and when we eventually got the champagne that went down a treat! Mum was gifted a small plant for mothers day which was a lovely touch! Its not often you can find not only edible gluten free scones but delicious and still warm too! Aside from the first waitress whose attitude left a lot to be desired and the mute bartender who simply thrust a card reader in our fave the orhwr staff we came in to contact with were smart and well mannered.

  • ((((( 21 March 2017 by Ruby Rugas from Manchester

    Nice and cozy place to get together. Food was great. We were well attended by the staffs. Surely we will comeback.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant