map placeholder

Afternoon Tea at Great John Street Hotel

Great John Street, Manchester, M3 4FD 0161 937 0056

(((() Afternoon Tea
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 12:00 - 19:00

We had a lovely time here yesterday. We were seated in the library which was very "oldey worldy". The staff were pleasant & friendly & couldn't do enough for you. I would definitely return. The afternoon tea was delicious.

Natalie Solomon 10 September 2017
from Manchester

View all 262 reviews

Inside an eclectic town house in Manchester is Afternoon Tea at Great John Street Hotel. Winner of ‘Most Intimate Hotel Bar’ status by In-Out Magazine, the hotel’s Oyster Bar serves a classic and timeless interpretation of afternoon tea.

The relaxed, intimate nature of the Oyster Bar makes it a perfect setting to enjoy the Great John Street Hotel afternoon tea menu. Old and new décor styles are used, with crushed velvet couches and subtle lighting from both candles and contemporary exposed light bulbs. A stunning roof garden is also available.

Afternoon tea at Great John Street Hotel in Manchester is prepared with the same mixture of old and new ideology, combining traditional dedication with modern passion and vibrancy. The striking bar area is perfect for those wanting an aperitif with their meal.

With eclectic combinations of old and new, Great John Street Hotel Manchester is a chic destination for afternoon tea. Afternoon tea packages start from £21.50 per person.

Afternoon Tea at Great John Street Hotel

Great John Street, Manchester, M3 4FD

Contact +44 1618313211
Reservations 0161 937 0056
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Greater Manchester

See all restaurants in Manchester

Customer reviews for Afternoon Tea at Great John Street Hotel

4.4 (((() (based on 262 reviews)
91% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (233)
  • luxury (77)
  • romantic (67)
  • trendy (62)
  • private dining (45)
  • lunch (44)
  • value (41)
  • dinner (30)
  • business (27)
  • al fresco (26)
  • large parties (23)
  • breakfast (20)
  • views (20)
  • child friendly (14)
  • entertainment (7)
  • ((((* 12 June 2017 by Natalie Chow from Liverpool

    Good food, good service, very enjoyable

  • ((*** 9 June 2017 by David Astley from Warrington

    It was a real let down. We were plonked in the bar area on very old & uncomfortable chair & settee, that would not have looked out of place in a boot sale. We had two small round wonky tables for our food & drink. The sandwiches were too thick & not very edible, although the Gentleman's afternoon tea was quite good.

    The service was rather slow & we just felt as though we had been put wherever was deemed easiest for the staff and we did not enjoy the experience at all. It bore no comparison to the same experience at The Grovesnor Hotel, Chester or the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Manchester.

    Considering the Afternoon Tea was a birthday gift from our children, the thought was really nice, but the location & ambience of the hotel was not at all to our tastes.

  • ((((( 8 June 2017 by Linda Jackson from Manchester

    Amazing food fantastic staff George Maxwell and the beautiful Martina they all made our stay brilliant thankyou

  • ((*** 31 May 2017 by Bev from Manchester

    After being treated to afternoon tea at Great John Street Hotel, I was underwhelmed by the service and food served. The scone was small, sandwiches uninspired and the cakes were dull. The waitress appeared uninterested, and had to be asked about the cakes being served. We also had to ask for extra coffee and tea. I didn't express my disappointment on the day as I was someone else's guest. I have had many afternoon teas and wouldn't recommend Great John Street to others, which is a shame as I had high expectations....

  • (((** 28 May 2017 by Beverly Richardson from Manchester

    Afternoon tea was very high standard. Staff were unaware I had requested bubbles with afternoon tea. Not sure why asked if special occasion as there was nothing different. I was with friends from uni we met 24 yrs ago & it was 12 yrs since all been together. One from Norwich & another from NZ. Sat near the bar which was bit noisy as next to kitchen & bar area where staff were chatting. Cupboard next to our table was entered 3xs for extra bottles of alcohol. Would have preferred better seating area. Staff ok though not v attentive as had 2 wedding parties. So overall just disappointed with everything except the food.

  • (((** 28 May 2017 by Luke Robinson from Manchester

    Didn't clear plates away and when desert/scones game plates with left over food were still around.

    Also didn't have a menu for the afternoon tea and we had brought guests as a surprise

  • ((((( 22 May 2017 by Alexa Sneath from Manchester

    Fantastic exoerience

  • ((((( 13 May 2017 by JR from Manchester

    Delicious afternoon tea, staff were really friendly, it was perfect.

  • ((*** 2 May 2017 by Christopher Burton from Manchester

    Quite disappointed overall, the afternoon tea itself was average, the cakes looked impressive but lacked flavour, sandwiches were adequate, the bread was slightly stale suggesting that they weren't freshly made. The service was very poor, Despite being fairly quiet when we visited and having lots of staff walking around it took 20 minutes for our drink order to be taken, there was quite a long delay for the food to be delivered. When we had finished we asked twice for the bill and after another lengthy wait ended up having pay at the bar.

  • ((((* 30 April 2017 by Alex Atkinson from Manchester

    Afternoon tea was lovely. Great sandwiches (except the smoked salmon which were odd) and lovely cakes. Good wine selection. Pleasant staff although could have been a little quicker with service. Will definitely visit again

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant