map placeholder

Afternoon Tea at Great John Street Hotel

Great John Street, Manchester, M3 4FD 0161 937 0056

(((() Afternoon Tea
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 12:00 - 19:00

We had a lovely time here yesterday. We were seated in the library which was very "oldey worldy". The staff were pleasant & friendly & couldn't do enough for you. I would definitely return. The afternoon tea was delicious.

Natalie Solomon 10 September 2017
from Manchester

View all 262 reviews

Inside an eclectic town house in Manchester is Afternoon Tea at Great John Street Hotel. Winner of ‘Most Intimate Hotel Bar’ status by In-Out Magazine, the hotel’s Oyster Bar serves a classic and timeless interpretation of afternoon tea.

The relaxed, intimate nature of the Oyster Bar makes it a perfect setting to enjoy the Great John Street Hotel afternoon tea menu. Old and new décor styles are used, with crushed velvet couches and subtle lighting from both candles and contemporary exposed light bulbs. A stunning roof garden is also available.

Afternoon tea at Great John Street Hotel in Manchester is prepared with the same mixture of old and new ideology, combining traditional dedication with modern passion and vibrancy. The striking bar area is perfect for those wanting an aperitif with their meal.

With eclectic combinations of old and new, Great John Street Hotel Manchester is a chic destination for afternoon tea. Afternoon tea packages start from £21.50 per person.

Afternoon Tea at Great John Street Hotel

Great John Street, Manchester, M3 4FD

Contact +44 1618313211
Reservations 0161 937 0056
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Greater Manchester

See all restaurants in Manchester

Customer reviews for Afternoon Tea at Great John Street Hotel

4.4 (((() (based on 262 reviews)
91% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (233)
  • luxury (77)
  • romantic (67)
  • trendy (62)
  • private dining (45)
  • lunch (44)
  • value (41)
  • dinner (30)
  • business (27)
  • al fresco (26)
  • large parties (23)
  • breakfast (20)
  • views (20)
  • child friendly (14)
  • entertainment (7)
  • ((((* 29 July 2017 by Jodie Scales from Manchester

    Booked the Gentleman's Afternoon Tea for my fiance's birthday as a treat. The hotel itself is lovely and the staff were more than attentive, but I was slightly disappointed with the food as some parts of it felt like it had just been warmed up. The dessert board at the end was a nice surprise as I wasn't aware this was included and was just the right amount after the main part of the afternoon tea. We chose the cocktail to have with the food and this was very refreshing and tasted lovely.

  • ((((( 28 July 2017 by Lorna from Bury

    Excellent location, food, service and overall experience. Children's afternoon tea was perfect and excellent value. Would definitely visit again.

  • ((((( 17 July 2017 by Lynne Goslin from Manchester

    One of our favourite things to do as a family is catch up over afternoon tea,our requests for veggie, gents and ladies afternoon tea options were accommodated , we left feeling like we d been looked after and are already looking forward to the next one .:)

  • ((((( 14 July 2017 by Martyn Williamson from Bolton

    Excellent time the food was beautiful , very chilled relaxed atmosphere and really friendly helpful staff especially Hannah

  • ((((( 14 July 2017 by Christine Handley from Manchester

    Amazing afternoon tea, lovely sandwiches, scones and fabulous cakes. Huge tea pot of tea and glass of champagne. Very Attentive waitress we had a super afternoon.

  • ((*** 10 July 2017 by Wes Gregory from Manchester

    Sat us upstairs on the mezzanine, chairs were uncomfortable. As soon as we arrived the waitress dropped a full tray of champagne on the table next to us which spilt on me too. The area they say is in was pretty dark and the windows backed on to an alley way. Food was ok, but the service was terrible. Waited 15 minutes for desert then another 15 minutes for the bill.

  • (**** 7 July 2017 by Chelsey Weinbeer from Manchester

    We had the chance to experience other local establishments during our short stay. I booked this afternoon tea as a special experience for my moms birthday, unfortunately we were amazingly dissapointed. Over priced (I can buy mighty leaf tea bags) and horrendous service.

  • ((((* 3 July 2017 by Beverley Cowcill from Manchester

    Delicious afternoon tea lovely sandwiches and interesting desserts Scones got the highest vote

  • ((((* 26 June 2017 by Denise Whittaker from Manchester

    I had booked this experience for my husband as a Fathers Day present just for the two of us and had specifically also ordered a bottle of champagne. The arrival & greeting was excellent and had no issues, our table was ready early as well and we were escorted straight up to the mezzanine area - which is lovely, cosy and with only 5 tables was perfect for us as a couple. Once seated we were shown the tea menu and we were asked when we wanted the champagne to be served, we said with the food and the waitress took note and went away. Our food arrived and we were expecting the champagne to arrive. It didnt. We had to ask for this twice and 20 minutes later it arrived while our afternoon tea sat there in front of us while we waited. It did mar our experience here a little because we were asked quite specifically about this and then having to ask again twice and wait 20 minutes wasnt a good middle section. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed it - even though it was let down by the service - which was then automatically added on as 10% at the end...it didnt warrant a 10% service charge and there is no option to remove this

  • ((((( 13 June 2017 by Steve Bloomer from Manchester

    Lovely relaxed atmosphere with great service.
    We arrived 30 minutes early but it was no problem for the staff.
    The food was excellent, particularly the cakes.
    Will definitely visit again.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant