map placeholder

Afternoon Tea at Great John Street Hotel

Great John Street, Manchester, M3 4FD 0161 937 0056

(((() Afternoon Tea
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
  •  - Greater Manchester
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 12:00 - 19:00

We had a lovely time here yesterday. We were seated in the library which was very "oldey worldy". The staff were pleasant & friendly & couldn't do enough for you. I would definitely return. The afternoon tea was delicious.

Natalie Solomon 10 September 2017
from Manchester

View all 261 reviews

Inside an eclectic town house in Manchester is Afternoon Tea at Great John Street Hotel. Winner of ‘Most Intimate Hotel Bar’ status by In-Out Magazine, the hotel’s Oyster Bar serves a classic and timeless interpretation of afternoon tea.

The relaxed, intimate nature of the Oyster Bar makes it a perfect setting to enjoy the Great John Street Hotel afternoon tea menu. Old and new décor styles are used, with crushed velvet couches and subtle lighting from both candles and contemporary exposed light bulbs. A stunning roof garden is also available.

Afternoon tea at Great John Street Hotel in Manchester is prepared with the same mixture of old and new ideology, combining traditional dedication with modern passion and vibrancy. The striking bar area is perfect for those wanting an aperitif with their meal.

With eclectic combinations of old and new, Great John Street Hotel Manchester is a chic destination for afternoon tea. Afternoon tea packages start from £21.50 per person.

Afternoon Tea at Great John Street Hotel

Great John Street, Manchester, M3 4FD

Contact +44 1618313211
Reservations 0161 937 0056
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Greater Manchester

See all restaurants in Manchester

Customer reviews for Afternoon Tea at Great John Street Hotel

4.4 (((() (based on 261 reviews)
91% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (232)
  • luxury (76)
  • romantic (66)
  • trendy (62)
  • lunch (44)
  • private dining (44)
  • value (40)
  • dinner (30)
  • business (27)
  • al fresco (26)
  • large parties (23)
  • breakfast (20)
  • views (20)
  • child friendly (14)
  • entertainment (7)
  • ((((* 18 August 2017 by Bernadette Denneny from Manchester

    Lovely setting with friendly staff

  • ((((( 17 August 2017 by Liz Shuttleworth from Manchester

    Excellent in every area

  • ((*** 16 August 2017 by adele from Manchester

    I have been to Great John street before for lunch and indeed afternoon tea but the service this time was very poor in fact my friend and I didnt want to pay the service charge so didnt. Disappointingly even then we werent asked for reason. Quality of food was good as ever but let down by poor service. I had intended to buy for another 2 tickets for my daughter in law as a treat but with the service being poor i decided not to bother. Shame as always found this hotel lovely. Can honestly say having been a fan I am now put off going again.

  • ((((( 16 August 2017 by Steven Robinson from Stockport

    Have been to the Hotel before a chose it for a Birthday Celebration for my self and my wife

  • ((((( 11 August 2017 by Barbara Rose from Bury

    St John's Hotel best afternoon tea we've had in Manchester and we've had a few !!!

  • (((** 7 August 2017 by Helen from Manchester

    Venue lovely, staff friendly but sandwiches poor - no salmon, no cheese as advertised - I don't think branston and cucumber constitutes a filling.

  • ((((( 7 August 2017 by Sharron Jacques from manchester

    Afternoon Tes St John St Hotel was Beautiful. The staff couldnt have been anymore attentive. Food was amazing perfect amount and great flavours.

  • (((** 6 August 2017 by Miss S from Manchester

    As always the food was great. However the service and specialness about this was lacking from previous visits.
    It was a special occasion which they were aware of, and we were greeted warmly and sat down quickly even though we were a little early. However we were largely ignored and had to really try grab people's attention to get more tea or other drinks. It felt at points they weee actively avoiding eye contact with us. Even then it felt like they couldn't be bothered and we were being a massive inconvenience. I appreciate they were busy with a wedding, but I have been when a wedding is taking place and the service has been excellent.
    Food was great as always but feel a little let down as I had taken my mum, mother in law to be and bridesmaids there as a a treat and based this on previous great experiences so hence the slight disappointment.
    Decor and ambience lovely as always and the macarons were a winner.

  • ((((( 4 August 2017 by Jayne Harrison from Manchester

    I booked afternoon tea for my sister in law and myself to celebrate her 50th birthday. I chose the Great John Street hotel as I've been there both as a resident and for afternoon tea.
    This was the 5th time there for Afternoon tea and once again it didn't disappoint.
    We sat in the rooftop lounge which was very plush. The staff were very attentive and friendly.
    We we're served a glass of champagne each. Our sandwiches and cakes were brought to us and we were told what everything was. The food was delicious. We had 2 pots of tea. We weren't rushed in any way at all. Can't wait to go back again soon

  • ((((* 29 July 2017 by Jodie Scales from Manchester

    Booked the Gentleman's Afternoon Tea for my fiance's birthday as a treat. The hotel itself is lovely and the staff were more than attentive, but I was slightly disappointed with the food as some parts of it felt like it had just been warmed up. The dessert board at the end was a nice surprise as I wasn't aware this was included and was just the right amount after the main part of the afternoon tea. We chose the cocktail to have with the food and this was very refreshing and tasted lovely.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant