Guide MICHELIN 2020

Reviews of Adam Reid at The French

4.6
(based on 881 reviews)
The Midland Peter Street, Manchester, Greater Manchester, M60 2DS
881 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Jonathan C from Hull
    15 February 2020

    Duck with the faggots and prunee

  • By Phil J from Manchester
    1 February 2020

    Fantastic. Top quality dining experience without the pretension. Couldn’t recommend more.

  • By John M from Warrington
    31 January 2020

    All round quality experience. Been to the French many times over the last 10 years and the quality of the dishes, the staff team and the atmosphere of the dining room are exceptional. I usually go to the French with my wife but this time we took my sister who lives in Liverpool for her 70th birthday. She has fine dined all over the country and she said the French is one of the best restaurants she has ever dined in. I think overall we probably enjoyed the duck dish from the initial menu the best, but every course was sensational in their own right. THe matching wine selection was also spot on, as always.

  • By David H from Newcastle Upon Tyne
    28 January 2020

    Very attentive and friendly staff. Lovely evening from start to finish excellent food and wine throughout. Left feeling thoroughly satisfied without feeling overfed. The sommelier gave a background to every wine we drank and the chefs presented everything at table with an explanation of each dish.

  • By Foxyfoxtrotter O from Altrincham
    25 January 2020

    Amazing as always, delicious food, the wines complimented the food exactly. Impeccable service.

  • By Craig P from Manchester
    18 January 2020

    It was superb. Service was fantastic. Food was exceptional and included one or two challenging dishes which I actually loved.

  • By Dev R from Manchester
    18 January 2020

    Amazing experience, really nice setting and decor at the Midland Favourite dishes on the signature menu were the pickled mussels, tater ash and forced Yorkshire rhubarb with baked English custard! Yummy! Thoroughly recommend this great restaurant!

  • By Jessica W from Manchester
    16 January 2020

    Excellent food, ambiance and stunning service. Unpretentious yet brilliant! A perfect meal for a Christmas present!

  • By Dominic B from Warrington
    14 January 2020

    Excellent meal at The French as always. A wonderful hard-working team that always greet you like a returning friend. A number of new dishes since my last visit - the Mussels and Pollock were 2 highlights, yet the welcoming hot broth, sourdough and beef butter is always heaven Many thanks to Kamila for her work as Sommelier - a number of superb wine choices. Great to dine at the Chef’s Counter once again and watch Charles and Luis prep their dishes. Until next time - thank you Adam and team.

  • By Hilary E from Manchester
    10 January 2020

    We love eating here and will be back again soon