Guide MICHELIN 2020

Reviews of Adam Reid at The French

4.6
(based on 863 reviews)
The Midland Peter Street, Manchester, Lancs., M60 2DS
863 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By JH H from Manchester
    26 November 2019

    .

  • By Terese S from Drobak
    23 November 2019

    Lovely room, somewhat comfortable chairs (we were at the chefs table). However: The light under the bench was very bright and white, especially when you have a white napkin in your knee, and the rest of the lighting was somewhat dimmed. To be a chefs table, it was not easy getting extra info about the food as the servers were always running around. The food was great, but there was little variation in the presentation, and for our scandinavian palate the general taste was a bit too vinegar'y. I think the favourite was actually the breads and the tracklements (new favourite english word! :-) ) and the fisk. The pickled mussel in my non-diary soup was the least favourite....

  • By Alan T from London
    21 November 2019

    Sat at Chef's counter and had a truly wonderful meal Every course was a delight with incredible flavours throughout. Although some flavours were quite innovative, everything worked beautifully. The mussels in an onion soup was one of the stars of the show - as was the broth, prior to the menu proper. Food very nicely complemented by a smooth bottle of american red wine. Staff were incredibly friendly and were genuinely interested in what I thought of the food. Keen to know what was my favourite which was an impossible question to answer such was amazing array to chose from.

  • By Richard C from Liverpool
    20 November 2019

    Loved the venison

  • By Richard P from Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
    19 November 2019

    Super dooper. What made it for me was that I was allowed to work while eating. Thank you very much to everyone. Food delicious and much stronger than the wine pairings.

  • By Ed R from Manchester
    16 November 2019

    Incredible, the signature menu with the matching wines was sublime. The staff were extremely knowledgeable and attentive. The dining room was intimate and personal whilst giving plenty of privacy.

  • By Lynn H from Harrogate
    15 November 2019

    We were staying at The Midland for the weekend and decided to treat ourselves to a special dining experience. Having never experienced a taster dining menu (with the wine selected for each course) I was really looking forward to this and from the beginning of the evening to the end, Adam Reid at The French was superb. We were warmly greeted on arrival and our hostess for the evening (the Sommelier) recommended drinks to go with our nibbles. I had an English cloudy prosecco, which was as light and fresh as she promised. Each course was presented to us at the table by the chef that had prepared it. It was lovely to be able to understand how each dish had been created, what ingredients were used and where they were sourced from. There were dishes that I would never had ordinarily tried, but each one was exquisite in taste and presentation. I particularly enjoyed the raw scallops served with a lime and chilli jus with finely chopped peppers. The Sommelier brought each wine to our table before each dish arrived, giving a detailed explanation of where the wine had been sourced from and why she had chosen it to compliment each dish. Again, wines that I wouldn’t ordinarily have entertained perfectly matched the taste of each dish and brought out the complex flavours without overpowering them at all. We finished with a liqueur before retiring to the main lounge bar, having had the most amazing dining experience. I would recommend a night at The French without hesitation and we will definitely be returning in the future.

  • By Trevor G from Poynton, Stockport
    14 November 2019

    Great experience, fabulous food and the staff were exceptional. Favourite dish from the Signature menu was the cod.

  • By Catherine H from Wellingborough
    14 November 2019

    Lovely meal from the appetisers to the final course. Enjoyed it all

  • By Martin M from Manchester
    8 November 2019

    We had the Great British menu option which is four courses by the chef he first devised for TV. Each was delicious and totally original. From a beautiful starter of beef butter with bread and an exquisite bowl of mini chopped delights. The fish and meat courses- a quite simply melting piece of cod with sauce and the aroma of the chip shop and chicken on another level. Desert too was excellent. We choose the wine flight to accompany these and each wine was perfectly served and matched to the course. Service by chefs and the house staff was impeccable and typically professional but friendly in the familiar Mancunian style we love. Very glad we celebrated my wife’s birthday here. Loved too the music and the setting. All should be proud of this venue.