Reviews of Adam Reid at The French

4.6
(based on 825 reviews)
The Midland Peter Street, Manchester, Lancs., M60 2DS
825 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Tim W from Boston
    17 August 2019

    First and foremost, the food is fantastic. Reminded us of one of our favorite restaurants in New York (Gramercy Tavern). Service was apot on and ambiance very nice too. All-in we had a great meal! Highly recommended.

  • By Jack S from Manchester
    17 August 2019

    The team are a credit. My wife was feeling very unwell and they handled it very well. The food was obviously out of this world and the wine pairing’s were very well matched. My favourite dish was the chicken. Simply the best chicken dish I’ve ever eaten! We plan to come back and have the GBM in the week when my wife can experience it. Thanks again for a lovely evening.

  • By Jill T from Preston
    17 August 2019

    I always review my experiences on Trip advisor - this is my report! AMAZING! We have tried several times, since Simon Rogan had The French, to get a table to celebrate our wedding anniversary, 17th August - the restaurant has its annual holiday last two weeks in August so we always missed out - this year we managed it, just!! As avid fans of the GBM, we were very much looking forward to our lunch. We arrived a little early but were shown to our table. The front of house, as has been said many times, were superb. The tater 'ash - first taste I wasn't so sure but it just got better and better and the malt bread with the beef and onion butter, just fab....we sneakily wiped our finger on the plate to get the last of the butter! The almond poached cod, we weren't sure about the almond bit but this was the most outstanding dish for us - just melt in the mouth taste sensation - could have eaten much more of this one! The chicken although very tasty, wasn't the star of the show for us - the sweet, however, was to die for. I was a bit unsure when the dish was described as having cinnamon, as I hate cinnamon but there was only a hint and didn't spoil the dish at all for me thankfully - the ice cream, well, I have never tasted such a rich and fabulous ice cream - loved it! When I mentioned it was our anniversary, I was asked if we would like Adam to personally sign our menu with a message, which he did and we were asked if we would like to meet him in the kitchen after our meal - well what a lovely, lovely chap he is - we had a good chat with him. We mentioned we had been to L'enclume a couple of times and also the Gilpin for the GBM. Adam asked if his menu was better than Rish's and yes, we think it was - he was well pleased with that! Unfortunately the battery died on my phone so we couldn't get a pic with Adam but what a truly fantastic experience we had and will definitely visit again.

  • By James G from Manchester
    17 August 2019

    Outstanding all round experience. Food was adventurous, staff were knowledgeable on the food and wines

  • By Christopher H from Manchester
    17 August 2019

    Absolutely fabulous. We had the great British menu and loved it. Some of the dishes were out of this world. My wife’s favourite was the tart whilst I really enjoyed the roast chicken dish. Really understood why they were so well received on the tv programme.

  • By Jason G from Manchester
    17 August 2019

    Lovely setting which was different from what we expected. The waiters, waitresses and especially the young chefs that came to our table were very welcoming and pleasant. The entries were lovely albeit a slightly muddled course that paired fish, ham and cheese, whilst all were lovely individually, didn’t quite work as a dish. The meal itself was excellent with the lobster and chicken courses particularly good. We’ve eaten at several Michelin star restaurants in the Lakes recently and I think the wine pairing at the French is as good as if not better. The only gripe we had was personal preference on the deserts. My wife is not the biggest fan of cheese so a desert which had cheese at centre stage was not going to be her favourite. I however love cheese and thought it was very good. The second desert had cherries with a marzipan like taste. Unfortunately for me marzipan is a no go but again the desert was fantastic minus those elements. The golden empire is fantastic and every bit as special as we thought it would be and would definitely recommend paying extra for it. Overall I’d say it’s the best meal we’ve eaten in Manchester by far and is leaps ahead of Restaurant MCR. I would certainly recommend and will definitely be making another visit in the future.

  • By Neal S from Manchester
    15 August 2019

    The French is a restaurant I have been hoping to visit for a long time. It did not disappoint. The service was superb from start to finish, we were not rushed, and were there for just over 3 hours. Food was excellent. Flavours were amazing, and the standout dish for me was the cod, with a hollandaise sauce and battered green beans. Could not fault anything, only thing I didn't enjoy, which was limited to some cheese, was down to my palate and not the execution of the dish.

  • By Alan T from Macclesfield
    10 August 2019

    Excellent food. Great service.

  • By Daniel W from Preston
    10 August 2019

    Excellent meal and service, would definitely recommend.

  • By Judith C from Leeds
    8 August 2019

    Excellent food and lovely staff.