Acanteen

(28 Reviews)
35 New London Road, Chelmsford, Essex, CM2 0ND
International

Top offer

A BOTTOMLESS Brunch

YOUR BOOKING IS NOT CONFIRMED UNTIL WE HAVE RECEIVED FULL PAYMENT Bottomless Brunch must be booked & paid for at least 72 hours in advance. Guests will enjoy 2 hrs of unlimited Prosecco & brunch. Management will not serve intoxicated guests.

Average

Main course: £12
Food spend: £22

Opening hours

Monday & Tuesday: 08:00 - 15:30
Wednesday to Saturday: 08:00 - 21:00
Sunday: 09:00 - 19:00.

Restaurant description

A proudly family-run restaurant and bar, Acanteen is a relaxed spot for all-day dining that also hosts regular art and live music events. Ethically produced dishes include great gluten-free and vegan selection, while the in-house bakery juice bar is perfect for grabbing a quick bite to go.

The Acanteen menu starts off with wholesome breakfasts and brunches, ranging from freshly baked pastries, through to meat and veggie variations of full English breakfasts. For lunch there are thick bloomer sandwiches, and generous sharing plates with gourmet treats like Lambton and Jackson smoked salmon. Stone-baked pizzas come with a selection of local and international toppings, while hearty mains include the lentil, mushroom and olive burger, and beer battered haddock and chips.

A selection of handmade cakes and pastries are served for afternoon tea at Acanteen in Chelmsford, along with a range of loose leaf teas. From the bar there are British beers and ales, classic and signature cocktails, as well as colourful raw juices and smoothies.

An inviting restaurant that showcases local art and culture, Acanteen is an 8-minute walk from Chelmsford Rail Station.

Customer reviews for Acanteen
4.3
(based on 28 reviews)

93%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (8)
  • al fresco (1)
  • breakfast (17)
  • business (4)
  • child friendly (10)
  • dinner (17)
  • entertainment (3)
  • large parties (9)
  • lunch (20)
  • private dining (2)
  • romantic (2)
  • trendy (13)
  • value (6)
  • By Joanne W from Chelmsford
    16 November 2019

    This was my first visit to Acanteen and it didn't disappoint. The Jazz band were great, atmosphere relaxed and the food was good and reasonably priced. I will definately go back.

  • By John D from Chelmsford
    16 November 2019

    Had a fantastic night, perfectly chilled

  • By Julia H from Chelmsford
    1 November 2019

    The serving staff were really helpful and very courteous. The food was delicious. The noise was a little too much. We hadn't expected the restaurant to be quite full of families with babies and very small children. Of course they have just as much right as us to be there, and everyone was lovely, but the noise was just a little too much for us.

  • By Aideen W from Dublin
    27 October 2019

    Comfortable, efficient service and good choice on menu

  • By Debbie S from Chelmsford
    19 October 2019

    Came here for dinner as a couple and especially the Jazz evening. Food was good, if overpriced for what you got. The restaurant got busy and unfortunately we were sat near a large table and the group was noisy, so we struggled to hear the jazz group let alone talk to each other. The group played for an hour then stopped, so we took the opportunity to leave. I dont think this is the right setting for this sort of group, There seemed to be very few jazz enthusiasts there. Overall a disappointing expensive evening and a waste of £73.

  • By Melissa L from Essex
    13 October 2019

    Lovely service and food was insane

  • By Alison R from Chelmsford
    12 October 2019

    Lovely food Staff were really great Acoustics were poor - always find it hard to hear people at the table - we seemed to be shouting to make each other heard Kids chicken (in burger) could have been sliced Service was quick & efficient

  • By G W from Chelmsford
    12 October 2019

    Lovely atmosphere on Saturday night for family dinner food was great but we were disappointed by the reduction in vegan options available. Would have been a five star rating if we had more options

  • By Jan L from Chelmsford
    1 September 2019

    Everyone in our party enjoyed their meals and the service was good.

  • By Shelley M from Chelmsford
    25 August 2019

    The food was great, service was great and I love the atmosphere.

Restaurant Location Map
Acanteen
35 New London Road, Chelmsford, Essex, CM2 0ND

Available offers

  • A BOTTOMLESS Brunch
  • A Christmas Menu
  • A Festive Afternoon Tea
  • A Festive Bottomless Afternoon Tea

Similar Restaurants

  1. Café Rouge - Chelmsford

    Café Rouge - Chelmsford

    French
    (53 Reviews)
    609m
    Café Rouge - Chelmsford
  2. Byron - Chelmsford

    Byron - Chelmsford

    Burger
    (20 Reviews)
    272m
    Byron - Chelmsford
  3. Loch Fyne Restaurant Chelmsford

    Loch Fyne Restaurant Chelmsford

    Fish & Seafood
    (5 Reviews)
    343m
    Loch Fyne Restaurant Chelmsford
  4. Frankie & Benny's - Basildon

    Frankie & Benny's - Basildon

    American
    (18 Reviews)
    16.4km
    Frankie & Benny's - Basildon
  5. Zizzi - Braintree

    Zizzi - Braintree

    Italian
    (1 Reviews)
    16.6km
    Zizzi - Braintree