Reviews of Acanteen

4.2
(based on 72 reviews)
35 New London Road, Chelmsford, East of England, CM2 0ND
72 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Sophie D from Chelmsford
    19 September 2020

    The restaurant is gorgeous. Modern decor, quirky artistic features, spacious, plenty of room for diners to be more than 2 meters apart in places. Three of us came in, two of us had the brisket burger which was just YUM. Chips were fab. One of us had the brunch with eggs and avocado and she practically licked the plate clean. Also sides of Aslaw which was delicious and the Mac and cheese was SO GOOEY it was the best we’ve had in a long time. Will definitely return. Only downside was they didn’t have the smoothie in we wanted initially but we swapped it out for chocolate shakes which were basically dessert in a cup. Very rich and delicious!

  • By Hayley S from Chelmsford
    12 September 2020

    Great restaurant and bar.

  • By Joanne S from Chelmsford
    2 September 2020

    I booked a table which was confirmed, then when I went there for a meal it was closed. Not impressed, and I was very embarrassed. Ended up in Wetherspoon, which couldn't be more different.

  • By Russell B from Chelmsford
    21 August 2020

    Great venue and atmosphere, lovely people and amazing service. I’ll definitely be back soon.

  • By April F from Chelmsford
    15 August 2020

    Great service, spacious and well thought out. Lovely food and coffee, also a great kids menu.

  • By Katie W from Chelmsford
    15 August 2020

    Food was amazing and really good value but felt like the cocktails could have been improved. Great service from the manager.

  • By Adrienne H from Chelmsford
    9 August 2020

    Breakfast with daughter and friend, I had Eggs Benedict, perfectly cooked eggs and delicious hollandaise. Service excellent as always, comfortable and safe surroundings. Good work Acanteen!

  • By James D from Chelmsford
    9 August 2020

    When we first entered I asked one of the hosts (white dress, maybe a white top) if we could have a bit of a quieter table as my father-in-law is hard of hearing and the host was extremely accommodating to help us sit at a better table. We had hoped to go for a lovely breakfast but despite the table move it was still very loud. It took nearly 40 minutes to receive our breakfasts which we as a group felt was far too long for a breakfast, despite the busy environment. When the food arrived, I had ordered sourdough bread (all via the app as you have to), mine came on white, I was told there was no sourdough available. Two others in the party had granary and were given white. We were all disappointed to not be told it was out of stock. I had paid an additional fee for the most miserly bit of feta cheese also. I would have raised all of this at the time but unfortunately the waitress who served us (different to the lovely host who assisted with the table situation) but we were never asked how our food was. Furthermore her attitude was absolutely dreadful, when we asked for ketchup, the sachets were almost thrown at the table and everything seemed like a chore.

  • By Paul B from Chelmsford
    9 August 2020

    Excellent breakfast with the family. Slick ordering via an easy to use app. Tables are nicely spaced out. Service was very friendly.

  • By Robert P from Chelmsford
    8 August 2020

    Amazing Food, service, everything was fab. The best place to eat at in Chelmsford city centre. With the magic of a family run business