Reviews of Acanteen

4.2
(based on 38 reviews)
35 New London Road, Chelmsford, Essex, CM2 0ND
38 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Hannah G from Chelmsford
    18 January 2020

    Poor. Food wasn’t good (burnt burger) and the service was very slow. We waited over 45 minutes for our meal with empty drinks and didn’t get asked if we wanted another.

  • By Laurie V from Chelmsford
    12 January 2020

    The big protein breakfast was really good.

  • By Rhys T from Chelmsford
    4 January 2020

    Lovely food. The beyond burger is amazing!!!

  • By Nathan W from Great totham
    18 December 2019

    Lovely food for brunch, friendly staff and great value

  • By Jolie B from Chelmsford
    14 December 2019

    I've been to A Canteen a number of times, but never experienced such awful service as we did on Saturday before. We only had the table for 2 hours as they had a private party in at 7pm. It took ages to order drinks, and 35 minutes for them to arrive. Then a further 10 minutes to order our food. Our starters didn't arrive. They must have realised that we wouldn't be able to manage a 3 course meal in just over an hour. So made the decision for us to not have them. Our mains came and the food was excellent as always. Ordering drinks was hard work. Considering there were only 2 tables being served by this time, my only logical explanation would be that they were focussing on the event that was happening when we left. We were offered dessert menu's and only one of us had them. A lady came up to us to say that there would be no rush in us leaving and to take as long as we wanted, then the next person came along to say they needed the table back. When the bill came, they wanted us to pay for the starters we didn't have, but them someone noticed their mistake. We all paid individually, so I'm not sure we even left a tip. Due to the awful service and mistakes, a tip wasn't even worthy anyway. I wouldn't go back to A Canteen as a large party again, as it put a bit of a dampener on our Christmas get together. The only thing that saved the night was the lovely food. it's just a same we didn't get to experience all of the courses we ordered.

  • By Donna C from Chelmsford
    11 December 2019

    Very enjoyable

  • By Graham W from Chelmsford
    1 December 2019

    Excellent food, really good breakfast menu. Hot drinks were very slow to arrive at the table after ordering.

  • By Kristina J from Chelmsford
    1 December 2019

    Went for bottomless brunch, they didn’t have us down for this when I arrived and had pre ordered food and paid but other than that the food was great, and bubbles were flowing!

  • By Samantha N from Chelmsford
    24 November 2019

    Beautiful food and quick service

  • By Jackie C from Chelmsford
    22 November 2019

    Had a lovley evening in A Canteen.x Nice relaxed atmosphere,friendly staff and good food.I had the Fish n Chips. Will definitely go again on one of the Tribute nights .x