map placeholder

Old Passage Inn

Passage Rd, Arlingham, GL2 7JR +44 1452679825

(((() Fish & Seafood
Opening hours
Tuesday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:00 & 19:00 - 21:00

Very friendly and welcoming. Thexwaitress brought us extra bread and speciality butter which we clearly loved. Menu excellent and the food was so delicious. Great experience.

Betty Haynes 19 January 2017
from Framilode

View all 35 reviews

Holding 2 AA Rosettes, The Old Passage Inn is a seafood restaurant on the banks of the River Severn with stunning views of the Forest of Dean. A 19th-century inn that was once an old ford, the fresh menu is predominantly British-influenced.

Focusing on sustainably sourced fish and local meat, The Old Passage Inn menu begins with enticing starters including seared breast of pigeon with celeriac gratin, pickled girolles and blackberry purée, and treacle-cured salmon with pickled beetroot and stem ginger syrup. The star main dish is fresh lobster, live from their own seawater tank and served with hand-cut chips and a choice of sauce. Other tempting options are roast monkfish with curried mussel fricassee, traditional beer-battered fish and chips, and roast breast of pheasant.

A striking green building, The Old Passage Inn Arlingham is decorated in bright, modern colours. From inside the restaurant or on the terrace, the views of the river and the Gloucestershire countryside are unrivalled.

The Old Passage Inn near the Severn Bore is a 20-minute drive from both Cam and Dursley and Stonehouse Train Stations.

Old Passage Inn

Passage Rd, Arlingham, GL2 7JR

Contact +44 1452740547
Reservations +44 1452679825
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Gloucestershire

See all restaurants in Gloucester

Customer reviews for Old Passage Inn

4.7 (((() (based on 35 reviews)
97% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (28)
  • views (24)
  • lunch (22)
  • romantic (14)
  • private dining (11)
  • al fresco (8)
  • luxury (7)
  • breakfast (6)
  • business (3)
  • trendy (3)
  • value (3)
  • afternoon tea (1)
  • large parties (1)
  • ((((( 29 August 2016 by Gordon Shearer from Gloucester

    Really great place. Location by the river is beautiful. Food excellent and good unobtrusive staff.

  • ((((( 29 August 2016 by Megan Copley from London

    Stunning restaurant. We have the seafood platter and dessert, it was delicious. The setting is stunning and staff very helpful. Highly recommend this to anyone.

  • ((((( 28 August 2016 by Jan Vriend from Tetbury

    Very pleasant. Living up to expectations. Not cheap...
    You have to be a fish-aficionado to appreciate its main attraction. Not for vegetarians. No bar.
    Al fresco if the (English) weather is nice.

  • ((((( 27 August 2016 by Dorothy Wilson from Tewkesbury District

    It was an amazing experience. The food was awesome, so much so I feel it is one of the best restaurants I have eaten in for a very long time. The ambience was lovely, very relaxing and felt as though we were somewhere in the Mediterranean. The Staff were very helpful and well mannered and kind. We definitely will be returning!

  • ((((* 13 August 2016 by Becky Poulton from Bristol

    Delicious lunch, fab service as always, can't wait to go back ??

  • ((*** 6 August 2016 by Stephen Golby from Birmingham

    What a disappointment. This was our second visit to the restaurant and unfortunately, probably our last. The food was very disappointing. My lamb was so tough and heavily smoked that it was inedible – albeit I was later informed by the waitress who cleared our dishes that only the aubergine beneath it was smoked (no mention on the menu of anything being smoked) !

    My wife and friends had scallops for their starter – at £14 we would have expected three whole scallops each and not three half scallops (particularly as they were not very large).

    The lobster thermidor was basically lobster in cheddar cheese sauce – not a true representation of the dish.

    The service was fine and the location is beautiful, but the owner / chef need to up their game – particularly at these prices.

  • ((((( 18 July 2016 by Sarah Day from Cheltenham

    Lovely place, every table full. Waiter very helpful. We ate scallops and stone bass, ice creams and coffee. Not cheap but all beautifully presented and tasted superb.

  • ((((( 19 June 2016 by Nigel Miller from Uley

    Best meal we have had in the UK. Had Skate and my wife crab. Every mouthful was a triumph. Desert was a revelation. Service was brilliant. Enjoyed our visit from the moment we got out of the car. Will certainly be back soon.

  • ((((( 31 May 2016 by Kate Denham from Cotswold District

    Lovely sunny day so sat outside for drinks and meal.
    Had set menu good flavoured watercress soup followed by Thai fish curry and chocolate brownie. All tasty and well presented

  • ((((( 7 May 2016 by Carol Trim from Stonehouse

    Booking was straightforward, location fab, all 4 of us had different starters and mains and all were fab, staff lovely, we were there for 3 hours and the time just flew. Nothing to complain about whatsoever

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant