map placeholder

Jimmy's Farm

Pannington Hall Lane, Wherstead, Ipswich, IP9 2AR

((((* British

Extremley GOOD !

Maureen Wise 30 March 2016
from Essex

View all 97 reviews

Set within a lovingly-restored 19th-century barn, Jimmy’s Farm in Ipswich offers prime, seasonal field-to-fork cuisine. The restaurant, run by renowned farmer Jimmy Doherty, specialises in classic British meals, and much of the produce is sourced on site.

Making the most of the bountiful ingredients to be found on the farm and in the surrounding countryside, the Jimmy’s Farm menu features a gourmet selection of pork and beef cuts, with plenty of fresh vegetables also available. Some of the highlights include Jimmy’s signature free range, rare breed sausages and mash with summer greens and gravy, or the restaurant’s famous Sunday roast, which features a huge Yorkshire pudding.

The timber-framed restaurant of Jimmy’s Farm in Ipswich makes for a warm, rustic dining setting, but the on-site butchers, cellar and farm shop also allow visitors to purchase the farm’s famous goods to enjoy at home.

An authentic British eatery located in the glorious Suffolk countryside, Jimmy’s Farm is a convenient 10-minute drive from the centre of Ipswich.

Jimmy's Farm

Pannington Hall Lane, Wherstead, Ipswich, IP9 2AR

Contact +44 1473604206
Website

See all restaurants in Suffolk

See all restaurants in Ipswich

Customer reviews for Jimmy's Farm

4.1 ((((* (based on 97 reviews)
89% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • lunch (76)
  • child friendly (62)
  • dinner (35)
  • afternoon tea (28)
  • breakfast (28)
  • large parties (28)
  • value (28)
  • trendy (25)
  • views (14)
  • romantic (9)
  • entertainment (8)
  • al fresco (7)
  • private dining (7)
  • luxury (6)
  • business (4)
  • (((** 8 March 2016 by Lorns from Ipswich

    Love the restaurant, however we were sat near the door which made the visit uncomfortable as every time the door opened we got really cold. Am aware there is nothing you can do about the weather but a way to keep the heat in would be beneficial. We had the breakfast, which was nice but not amazing compared to other meals we have had ... probably wouldn't be returning for breakfast - sorry.

  • ((((* 8 March 2016 by Susan Storkey from Clacton on Sea

    Fantastic lunch, amazing Yorkshire pudding. Attentive staff.

  • (**** 1 March 2016 by Victoria Alexander from woodbridge

    Bad service, despite lots of people being around, we were sat at a table and then abandoned until we called someone over. A simple tweak on a dish (salad instead of chips) was forgotten. There were buggies parked in the lobby where you wait, so the 2 comfy sofas were a bit pointless. I strongly recommend the building of a buggy park as it seems a shame to ruin the lobby area. Food ok. Tables too wide so you couldn't talk across them (acoustics in room fairly bad) and chairs desperately uncomfortable. Good for families with young kids but no-one else. It was also expensive.

  • ((((( 1 March 2016 by Lorna Hicks from Ipswich

    A very delicious Sunday roast enjoyed by all.

  • ((((* 28 February 2016 by Penny Hayes from WOODBRIDGE

    Lovely food. we especially liked the Cherry Bakewell tart. The staff were very friendly and always busy, but service was exceptionally slow. Luckily we were not in a hurry as it took over two hours to have our lunch. Maybe they were short staffed that day?

  • ((*** 23 February 2016 by Brooke Wells from Suffolk Coastal District

    Lovely setting but even though there were several empty tables, we were rushed out and asked over 8 times if we wanted anything else and brought the bill without asking. Food was very greasy and overcooked.

  • ((((* 22 February 2016 by Joanne Horrocks from SUFFOLK

    Rustic theme with reclaimed wood for tables and stools to sit on. I took my mother who commented on the whether the tables were hygienic considering the big cracks in the wood, she also couldn't sit on the stool but they were quick in bringing her a chair without even asking. Very busy, very noisy, very popular even on a very cold wet windy Sunday in February, so I would definitely recommend booking. Food delicious, and reasonably priced (£10/12 for main). Service impeccable.

  • ((((( 22 February 2016 by Hannah Wood-Handy from Norfolk

    Lovely staff, value for money, good variety, lovely atmosphere and setting.

  • ((((( 21 February 2016 by Katherine Ryan from Cambridge

    Brilliant lunch out.

  • ((((( 20 February 2016 by Jodie Smith from Essex

    We loved the restaurant. Decorated very well, staff fantastic and food out of this world. Topped off with a little visits from Casper the cat. Perfect X

Unfortunately, you can't book Jimmy's Farm online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant