map placeholder

Jimmy's Farm

Pannington Hall Lane, Wherstead, Ipswich, IP9 2AR

((((* British
  •  - Suffolk
  •  - Suffolk

Extremley GOOD !

Maureen Wise 30 March 2016
from Essex

View all 97 reviews

Set within a lovingly-restored 19th-century barn, Jimmy’s Farm in Ipswich offers prime, seasonal field-to-fork cuisine. The restaurant, run by renowned farmer Jimmy Doherty, specialises in classic British meals, and much of the produce is sourced on site.

Making the most of the bountiful ingredients to be found on the farm and in the surrounding countryside, the Jimmy’s Farm menu features a gourmet selection of pork and beef cuts, with plenty of fresh vegetables also available. Some of the highlights include Jimmy’s signature free range, rare breed sausages and mash with summer greens and gravy, or the restaurant’s famous Sunday roast, which features a huge Yorkshire pudding.

The timber-framed restaurant of Jimmy’s Farm in Ipswich makes for a warm, rustic dining setting, but the on-site butchers, cellar and farm shop also allow visitors to purchase the farm’s famous goods to enjoy at home.

An authentic British eatery located in the glorious Suffolk countryside, Jimmy’s Farm is a convenient 10-minute drive from the centre of Ipswich.

Jimmy's Farm

Pannington Hall Lane, Wherstead, Ipswich, IP9 2AR

Contact +44 1473604206
Website

See all restaurants in Suffolk

See all restaurants in Ipswich

Customer reviews for Jimmy's Farm

4.1 ((((* (based on 97 reviews)
89% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • lunch (76)
  • child friendly (62)
  • dinner (35)
  • afternoon tea (28)
  • breakfast (28)
  • large parties (28)
  • value (28)
  • trendy (25)
  • views (14)
  • romantic (9)
  • entertainment (8)
  • al fresco (7)
  • private dining (7)
  • luxury (6)
  • business (4)
  • (((** 24 March 2016 by Roger Morris from Colchester

    Food was good. Drinks were expensive.
    Serious let-down was the coffee. Not only was the cup badly chipped but the coffee was not up to the standards of the rest of the food.
    The problem was that the water being used did not appear to have been filtered. Unfiltered water has too high an ionic potential for the coffee flavours (which are predominantly non-polar organic chemicals) to dissolve. Instead you end up with a scum or film on the top which just becomes a residue on the side of the cup. A proper plumbed in system should be used. If there is one in situ then its filter needs changing.

    More vegetarian and vegetarian/gluten free choices would be good.

  • ((((( 22 March 2016 by Sarah Hiorns from Ipswich

    We all had a Sunday roast and it was lovely. It was busy but the service was good, friendly and not rushed. Our food didn't take long to come either. It was a great dining experience.

  • (**** 19 March 2016 by Bev Harrison from Suffolk

    The nibbles were minute portions, the cheese twists with marmite were too dry and the potted stilton was not potted, it was a dessert spoon of mush with a few nuts sprinkled...very poor! 2 mains of sausage and mash, ok but nothing special...the total bill of £36 and a few pence really not worth it...Overall a very disappointing visit...

  • ((((( 15 March 2016 by James Hepburn from Barking

    It was great. Fast service, clean and friendly. I would recommend this to anyone. It is especially good for family's. My only thing on a negative I thought that the deserts were a touch over priced.

  • ((((* 14 March 2016 by Lorraine Childerley from essex

    All was very good loved the pie needed more veg but not potatoes

  • ((((* 14 March 2016 by Stephen from Ipswich

    Really enjoy the experience of jazz and breakfast and have never had any complaints before. Unfortunately this time my wife's bread in her bacon sandwich was quite oily and this spoilt the whole breakfast.

  • (((** 9 March 2016 by Carolyn Chaney from Chelmsford

    We have eaten here before but this time felt like the quality of ingredients had deteriorated. The sausage had an overwhelming taste of white pepper, the eggs were tasteless and the toast was inedible as it was so crispy.
    Very disappointing really as this was my Mother's Day present and certainly didn't live up to my expectations. The service was very good though

  • ((*** 8 March 2016 by Pree from Ipswich

    The initial service was fine we got taken to a table and left, it wasn't to busy at first however it took about 10 minutes or do before we even ordered or drinks. There was four children under 7 so we ordered their food as soon as the drinks were taken. This meant their food came out before we even ordered our food of got our drinks?! My son loved the food admitly however I wasn't to keen on my nor was my friend (I had the smoke haddock tart which was bland and my friend had the burger and chips, the buger was burnt in places and chips were cold!). When we went to pay for the bill some how they tried to charge us for three extra deserts (non of the grown ups had deserts) and coffees! Luckily we saw the error and get it amended but it took a lot of effort and with screaming bored children some of us had to wait out side with them whilst others sorted out the mess! So overall it wasn't the best experience we had there we had better so was rather disappointed.

  • ((((( 8 March 2016 by Kristian Wookey from Chelmsford

    Lovely food. Staff very polite and courteous and took the time to interact with our 15 month old son even though they were fully booked. Didn't feel like we were being rushed. Would go again.

  • (((** 8 March 2016 by Siobhan King from Stowmarket

    Lovely restaurant setting & helpful staff
    Breakfast not the same standard as lunch- bread far too thick for eggy bread and wasn't tasty even with the small amount of chocolate spread. Bacon sandwich was very sweet with caramelised onions. A bit disappointing overall compared with lunch

Unfortunately, you can't book Jimmy's Farm online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant