map placeholder

Harry's Bar Newcastle

77 Grey Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 6EF

((((* International
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £28

Lovely food and atmosphere. Great service and value for money

Debbie Walker 10 July 2016
from Newcastle upon Tyne

View all 42 reviews

A lively venue with a cosy but quirky interior, Harry’s Bar Newcastle serves an exciting menu that pairs British classics with dishes from around the world. From the wooden bar spanning the length of the restaurant, sample an array of glamorous cocktails and draught ales.

From the Harry’s Bar menu, try a mouth-watering steak, cooked in the charcoal Josper oven and served with smoked garlic butter, onion rings and chunky chips. Other timeless favourites include Harry’s fish and chips, rustic pizzas, and pork belly and crackling served with bubble and squeak and candied apple purée. For more international flavours, opt for the lobster risotto, duck breast cooked with Chinese spices, or roasted blackened cod marinated in miso.

The classic cocktail menu is befitting of the chic surrounds. Blending rustic brick walls and wooden pillars with plush leather seating and an extravagant bar, Harry’s is full of both colour and character.

Next to the Theatre Royal, Harry’s Newcastle sits in the heart of the city. Monument Metro Station is a 2-minute walk away whilst Newcastle Rail Station is just 10 minutes from the restaurant.

Harry's Bar Newcastle

77 Grey Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 6EF

Contact +44 1912612621
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Tyne & Wear

See all restaurants in Newcastle

Customer reviews for Harry's Bar Newcastle

4.0 ((((* (based on 42 reviews)
78% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • trendy (22)
  • dinner (21)
  • lunch (20)
  • large parties (14)
  • romantic (11)
  • private dining (7)
  • business (6)
  • value (6)
  • luxury (5)
  • afternoon tea (3)
  • child friendly (3)
  • breakfast (2)
  • entertainment (2)
  • al fresco (1)
  • ((((( 25 January 2016 by Mary Colwill from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Food atmosphere service were excellent, can't wait to visit again.

  • ((((( 24 January 2016 by Katie Rutherford from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Resturant week deal Friday lunch. The food was excellent /waiters attentive and smiley. Happy to let us sit over drinks in resturant after meal lovely atmosphere

  • ((((* 22 January 2016 by Sarah Eltringham from Newcastle upon Tyne

    The decor is great as is the atmosphere , the waiter we had was a bit of a let down to the place there's just no conversation, especially as it was a birthday celebration. It was busy though so maybe it's different when quieter . Choice of dishes great we all tried something different and the cocktails were divine. The pasta dishes looked delicious.

  • ((((( 18 January 2016 by Mel makepeace Makepeace from Hebburn

    Great service. Great food. Great atmosphere. Great value. Just great.

  • ((((( 18 January 2016 by Rebecca Mcintosh from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Food was excellent!

  • ((((( 17 January 2016 by Yvonne Naylor from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Eaten here before during the day. This time a busy Friday night. The noise from the 2 bars was very loud. It was Friday! The food was delicious service excellent. Expensive 10.50 for pizza but it was a birthday night out for my daughter. I would go again. Nice to be seated across the room to Alan Shearer and Rob Lee in Harrys.

  • (((** 12 January 2016 by Ilene Brewis from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Ordered curry and prawns. Neither left. Had to change order. Waited an hour for main course.

  • ((((( 6 January 2016 by Faye Bell from Newcastle upon Tyne

    My experience here as fabulous, the staff were so friendly and the food was gorgeous! It was my friends 21st birthday and the waiters brought out a chocolate brownie with a sparkler attached to it and all sang happy birthday. We would definitely dine here again!

  • ((((( 5 January 2016 by David Rozanski from Newcastle

    For me one of the best features is the bar area where u can relax with a drink before u dine.customer serivce at bar area has always been to my satisfsction also.food can be abit pricey but u do know where your money has gone when u eat.

  • ((*** 31 December 2015 by Pamela Hepple from Blyth

    I think we hit an off day, plenty of people being turned away yet plenty of free tables, I think they had a staffing problem in the kitchen/waiting staff. We had booked for 1.30 but was told when we arrived at 1.20 we would have to wait 20 minutes. I was looking forward to the lovely king prawns to start and fish and chips but sadly we were told they were no longer available. The table next to me waited over half an hour between starter and main. We were asked if we would like to see the dessert menu and then waited fifteen minutes for it not to appear so paid the bill and left. I think the management hadn't staffed for what is actually a bank holiday for a lot of workers who don't work a Saturday and had this day off instead. What a shame as we normally enjoy dining here and had recommended it to friends. My ratings are on today's experience.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant