map placeholder

Harry's Bar Newcastle

77 Grey Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 6EF

((((* International
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £28

Lovely food and atmosphere. Great service and value for money

Debbie Walker 10 July 2016
from Newcastle upon Tyne

View all 42 reviews

A lively venue with a cosy but quirky interior, Harry’s Bar Newcastle serves an exciting menu that pairs British classics with dishes from around the world. From the wooden bar spanning the length of the restaurant, sample an array of glamorous cocktails and draught ales.

From the Harry’s Bar menu, try a mouth-watering steak, cooked in the charcoal Josper oven and served with smoked garlic butter, onion rings and chunky chips. Other timeless favourites include Harry’s fish and chips, rustic pizzas, and pork belly and crackling served with bubble and squeak and candied apple purée. For more international flavours, opt for the lobster risotto, duck breast cooked with Chinese spices, or roasted blackened cod marinated in miso.

The classic cocktail menu is befitting of the chic surrounds. Blending rustic brick walls and wooden pillars with plush leather seating and an extravagant bar, Harry’s is full of both colour and character.

Next to the Theatre Royal, Harry’s Newcastle sits in the heart of the city. Monument Metro Station is a 2-minute walk away whilst Newcastle Rail Station is just 10 minutes from the restaurant.

Harry's Bar Newcastle

77 Grey Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 6EF

Contact +44 1912612621
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Tyne & Wear

See all restaurants in Newcastle

Customer reviews for Harry's Bar Newcastle

4.0 ((((* (based on 42 reviews)
78% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • trendy (22)
  • dinner (21)
  • lunch (20)
  • large parties (14)
  • romantic (11)
  • private dining (7)
  • business (6)
  • value (6)
  • luxury (5)
  • afternoon tea (3)
  • child friendly (3)
  • breakfast (2)
  • entertainment (2)
  • al fresco (1)
  • ((((* 7 March 2016 by Carly Sims from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Lovely food and drinks. Really good atmosphere and could hear yourself and friends speaking. We did wait a little while for our main course after starter but was probably better there was a good gap between so we didn't feel too stuffed.

  • ((((( 7 March 2016 by Jane Moore from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Fantastic food and buzzing atmosphere

  • ((((( 7 March 2016 by David Huddart from Gateshead

    We visit Harrys on a fairly regular basis
    And generally we are happy with the experience, however I am amazed that
    nobody has thought of putting a sign at the side door entrance area to tell would be Diners that they need to go to the opposite side of the restaurant to get a Table, this results in groups of people standing around looking puzzled until some staff happen to be passing by to tell them they are in the wrong place!!This has been going on since we first started visiting Harrys .It also means that more people than necessary use that Door making the Restaurant area quite cold ..
    Our food yesterday was ok apart from My fish and Chips being very greasy compared to what I've had in the past and bearing in mind the cost I feel it should be much better than it was yesterday ..My Wife had the same meal and hers was fine so maybe it was a one off.It hasn't put me off going back but did spoil it a bit yesterday ..
    I do like Harrys and had my 60th
    birthday celebrations there last year and I'm sure will be going back many more times in the future ..

  • ((((( 7 March 2016 by Lesley Conlin from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Beautiful restaurant fantastic service and superb food. A little gem.x

  • ((((* 25 February 2016 by Ian Gallon from wallsend

    I had a nice dinner & experience at Harry`s bar & it was the first time I've been to the restaurant as I've only been there drinking before. Dinner service was very slow for some reason where the main took ages to arrive but the bill was reduced to compensate the fact, so I've got no complaints.

  • ((*** 19 February 2016 by Kay Stewart from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Couldn't fault the waiting staff which waited on us, they were amazing.
    Food wasnt worth the price albeit it was valentines day and busy.
    From the cramped table we were allocated, to the over salted cold,dry steak and the lamb with the peculiar taste (more sheepish.)
    The restaurant which was highly recommended didn't leave us wanting to return.
    Staff 5* except the blonde lady who walked around with the photographer and ignored quite a few of us wanting photos for the students. She had a bad attitude.

  • ((((( 15 February 2016 by Daniel Ward from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Yes the food was fantastic my mam had booked it and told us about the lamb dish it was great she eats there all the time

  • ((((( 8 February 2016 by Joanne Drysdale from Newcastle

    As usual the meals were delicious..I absolutely adore the haggis scotch eggs. The staff are always so friendly. :)

  • ((((( 31 January 2016 by Val Moderate from Killingworth

    Good atmosphere, efficient staff. Lovely lunch. Well presented and tasty.

  • ((((( 30 January 2016 by Janette Milburn from Northumberland

    Very friendly staff; excellent service; very tasty food

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant