map placeholder

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB +44 2035512096

((((* British
Average
Main course: £22
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 06:30 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30. Saturday & Sunday: 07:00 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30.

Fantastic meal , waiting staff were amazing and so friendly. Would definitely go back.

Hazel Mustoe 16 May 2017
from London

View all 549 reviews

Winner of 2 AA Rosettes, Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar at the London Marriott Hotel County Hall showcases classic English dishes and mouth-watering 35-day aged steaks from O’Sheas Butchers. Cutting-edge cocktails (featuring a stock of over 120 different gins) offer the latest in mixology trends, while bespoke furniture turns the South Bank restaurant into a contemporary haven. Dedicated to James Gillray, with caricatures and his artwork on display, Gillray's in London boasts stunning views of Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament and the London Eye.

The speciality at Gillray’s restaurant is undoubtedly steak. A huge selection of cuts is offered both on and off the bone, with an assortment of sauces to include red wine and bone marrow, or tarragon butter. For fish lovers, south coast lemon sole is served with creamy parsley butter. Home-cured pastrami sandwich is another favourite, served in a brioche bun. Sides and extras include truffle and Old Winchester chips, Heritage carrots in Fennel honey, creamed spinach, or the delicious Gillray’s house summer salad.

On the desserts side, Gillray’s award-winning cheese table features the finest artisan cheeses sourced from across England. Finish with the flourless chocolate cake, seasonal meringue pie, or the signature traditional sherry trifle.

Waterloo Train Station is a 7-minute walk from Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar on the South Bank. Gillray's can be accessed via the main entrance to the London Marriott Hotel on Westminster Bridge Road. Alternatively, enter via the South Bank (Queen's Walk), above Shrek's Adventure. Valet parking is also available on site.

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB

Contact +44 2079028000
Reservations +44 2035512096
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South Bank

Customer reviews for Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

4.2 ((((* (based on 549 reviews)
89% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (376)
  • views (347)
  • lunch (255)
  • romantic (180)
  • luxury (165)
  • business (134)
  • value (127)
  • private dining (105)
  • afternoon tea (91)
  • large parties (75)
  • trendy (63)
  • child friendly (36)
  • breakfast (32)
  • entertainment (27)
  • al fresco (8)
  • ((((( 30 April 2017 by Hannah from London

    Lovely restaurant, great location, tasty food, very reasonable price for three courses and a drink and attentive/friendly staff what more can you ask for!!

  • ((((( 30 April 2017 by Iveta Zalia from London

    Amazing food that fills you up completely. Also with the fantastic service provided it brightens your evening.

  • ((((( 30 April 2017 by Bonnie Byford from Essex

    Very good experience very warm welcome lovely table view the food was first class and a very special touch by bringing out a birthday cake to finish off the day. I would recommend to my friends plus in the future I would return.

  • ((((( 29 April 2017 by Sally Pryor from Dagenham

    Had lovely evening at this restaurant, loved the decor, the staff and the food was delicious, especially loved the detail in how the food was served, the duck pate came in blue eggbox with pate inside an egg, totally original and the food was very tasty, fantastic place to dine.

  • (((** 26 April 2017 by Gaynor Turner from Uxbridge

    Lovely please, location perfect on the river front. Staff were friendly. Just one complaint. Food came very fast, to quick between courses.

  • ((((( 26 April 2017 by Javier Alberto from London

    Had a very enjoyable meal with a friend. Service was just perfect and the food delicious.

  • ((*** 25 April 2017 by Rebecca Cristaldi from London

    Our experience was not overly pleasant. Firstly the restaurant was very difficult to find as map directions given lead us to the wrong end of the building and as we had a disabled person with us it made it very difficult with the extra walk. Secondly, the food was average for the price and service was extremely slow. Our booking was for 7pm, didn't get our main until 9pm and 2 guests missed out on dessert as that wasn't served until almost 11pm! The restaurant was very short staffed with one poor waitress serving all large tables on her own. When we asked for the service fee to be removed from our bill, the manager was quite rude and unhelpful. As this was a special occassion that was booked and organised well in advance we were disappointed by the disorganisation of the whole evening. We would like to give compliments however to our poor waitress who tried her best despite the lack of support from her colleagues!

  • (**** 25 April 2017 by Helen Gibbons from London

    Very poor experience this time round. We've been to Gillray's many times before with family/colleagues but disappointingly I seriously doubt I would visit again. Issues were: slow service (it took 2 hrs for our party of 2 without desserts/coffee, the adjacent party of 2 who sat down after us were mid-way through mains before we had received starters); one of the orders for starters was forgotten altogether; one starter was the paté which was served in a small hollowed out egg shell - a portion less than a third the size of the previous times I have had it but for the same price - very poor; the first steak had to be sent back as it smelt and tasted of chemicals (perhaps something that hadn't been washed off the plate?) - very poor for a so-called "Steakhouse"; we requested off-menu creamed spinach which we were told was ok but then received plain spinach (which was thankfully taken off the bill); and after all this the waiter kindly gave us 20% off of our bill, but I only later realised that the 12.5% service charge had been calculated on the total before that 20% was taken off so it wasn't much of a gesture and I find extremely under-hand when you are supposedly trying to make up for poor service. Very disappointed overall and would hesitate to go back given other Steakhouses around London. A great shame as the location is lovely and is usually ideal to take business clients to for a working dinner, but I cannot risk a repeat of this experience.

  • ((*** 24 April 2017 by Neil Tatman from Derbyshire Dales District

    This was a very average experience. Service was polite but terribly understaffed which resulted in over two and a half Hors for a three course set meal. The steaks were fatty and average tasting, disappointing given this is the restaurant's claimed specialism. Prices of drinks were above average but of good quality. I really couldn't recommend this restaurant based on my experiences of the evening from a dining perspective, the restaurant's location is a plus though.

  • (**** 24 April 2017 by Sally Godley maynard from London

    Poor table next to cutlery collection point. No window table as requested. Service good otherwise.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant