map placeholder

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB +44 2035512096

((((* British
Average
Main course: £22
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 06:30 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30. Saturday & Sunday: 07:00 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30.

Fantastic meal , waiting staff were amazing and so friendly. Would definitely go back.

Hazel Mustoe 16 May 2017
from London

View all 549 reviews

Winner of 2 AA Rosettes, Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar at the London Marriott Hotel County Hall showcases classic English dishes and mouth-watering 35-day aged steaks from O’Sheas Butchers. Cutting-edge cocktails (featuring a stock of over 120 different gins) offer the latest in mixology trends, while bespoke furniture turns the South Bank restaurant into a contemporary haven. Dedicated to James Gillray, with caricatures and his artwork on display, Gillray's in London boasts stunning views of Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament and the London Eye.

The speciality at Gillray’s restaurant is undoubtedly steak. A huge selection of cuts is offered both on and off the bone, with an assortment of sauces to include red wine and bone marrow, or tarragon butter. For fish lovers, south coast lemon sole is served with creamy parsley butter. Home-cured pastrami sandwich is another favourite, served in a brioche bun. Sides and extras include truffle and Old Winchester chips, Heritage carrots in Fennel honey, creamed spinach, or the delicious Gillray’s house summer salad.

On the desserts side, Gillray’s award-winning cheese table features the finest artisan cheeses sourced from across England. Finish with the flourless chocolate cake, seasonal meringue pie, or the signature traditional sherry trifle.

Waterloo Train Station is a 7-minute walk from Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar on the South Bank. Gillray's can be accessed via the main entrance to the London Marriott Hotel on Westminster Bridge Road. Alternatively, enter via the South Bank (Queen's Walk), above Shrek's Adventure. Valet parking is also available on site.

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB

Contact +44 2079028000
Reservations +44 2035512096
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South Bank

Customer reviews for Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

4.2 ((((* (based on 549 reviews)
89% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (376)
  • views (347)
  • lunch (255)
  • romantic (180)
  • luxury (165)
  • business (134)
  • value (127)
  • private dining (105)
  • afternoon tea (91)
  • large parties (75)
  • trendy (63)
  • child friendly (36)
  • breakfast (32)
  • entertainment (27)
  • al fresco (8)
  • ((((( 6 May 2017 by Thomas Mann from London

    All 3 courses were delicious and perfectly portioned. Highly recommend the duck lover pâté to start, presentation is something special as was the soup.

    Service was brilliant, whenever you thought you needed a waiter they were there without being over the top intrusive as I've had else where.

    Setting was lovely, loved the chandelier in the bar.

    Overall a lovely evening and would definitely recommend to anyone. Will be going back for sure.

  • ((((( 6 May 2017 by Lucy Burton-lloyd from Heathfield

    An amazing restaurant would recommend to anyone wanting the best steak. We had the Bulls Head between the two of us, with mushrooms, spinach and chips. Eventually we worked our way through it - perfectly cooked, great atmosphere and attentive staff. Will certainly be going back.

  • ((((* 5 May 2017 by Toby from London

    Beautiful bar and restaurant area overlooking the Thames and Houses of Parliament. We were there for early dinner which was very good indeed, service was great and the gin menu the best I've seen. Reccomebded

  • ((((( 5 May 2017 by Evgenia from London

    Everything was soooooooooo perfect!! The staff was very friendly and took very good of us! They also organise a surprise bday cake for our friend! The food was delicious! We will definitely go there again soon!

  • ((((* 4 May 2017 by Bethan from London

    Interesting experience as we entered the restaurant as no one seemed to know why we were there or that we had booked the set menu. Waiters were absolutely lovely but forgot quite a lot- drinks/bill etc. It's also slightly frustrating when a restaurant offers you water and automatically brings out bottled water.
    Food was delicious! Beautifully presented and portions were just right. Overall a lovely experience and the food itself was certainly the highlight- the bottle of wine also helped.

  • (((** 4 May 2017 by Martin Larrett from London

    Good food well served

  • ((((( 3 May 2017 by Pete from London

    Wonderful food, charming staff, and a nice view of the Thames.

  • ((((( 2 May 2017 by Shannett Thompson from London

    Great service. I love the fact that the chef puts twists on traditional dishes that make them that extra bit special and almost unexpected. We went for my mum's birthday, and the staff helpfully surprised her with a cake which was wonderful.

  • ((((( 1 May 2017 by Rick Brunwin from London

    Such a unique place - unusual but stunning environment and amazing views. The 3 course deal is a bargain and the food quality is delicious, the steaks in particular, though don't expect big portions. The Staff were pleasant and obliging and well informed about the menu. The service was a little on the slow side but as we were a big party enjoying the occasion this did not matter to us. Otherwise, everyone was so helpful. Will go again just to try their Steaks from the 'a la carte' menu.

  • ((((* 1 May 2017 by Laura Starkey from Camberley

    the whole experience was fabulous - they made a real fuss of my daughter who was 21 that day. Our table had a fantastic view of the London Eye. The rhubarb gin and tonic was gorgeous. I had trout pate to start, pearl barley risotto and chocolate pot with a prosecco cocktail. The whole experience was lovely. The service was great. I would return.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant